We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

La Riserva di Castel d'Appio

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Riserva di Castel d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Hotel located in the hills above Ventimiglia. Best let someone else drive you up the narrow steep and winding road to the hotel. The local taxi drivers are used to it. Non-locals much less so! We stayed in late April 2016. (the hotel appears to close over winter). Great views from the bedrooms towards Monaco in the west. Restaurant meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerHigh
Cervia Milano Marittima, Italy
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Is the first time for me and my husband to visit this hotel!! I had heard from friends that's a good one, but we were very disappointed! The only good thing was the view, but the rest was a disaster! Once upon a time maybe it was a good one, now is just a ghost of the good times! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv b
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

I used Ventimiglia as a base to explore Monaco which is just a 30 minute train ride away. The hotel is a little out the way, you need a car or a taxi to get to and from the train station. They do offer a shuttle on certain days. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and clean with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smef88
Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were a family of 5 that had a plesant stay at the hotel. The staff is very helpful and the hotel has a magnifisent view over the sea/border of France. The hotel has a superb swimmingpool and it is located close to the French border. We did have daytrips to Monaco, Nice, Cannes. You should use a navigation-computer to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egil Johannes U
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2016

It's far above the town of Ventimiglia, but worth the hairpin drive. The views from the terrace and balconied rooms are fantastic. Restaurant serves great food, which is good because it's a long way back to town. Staff all pleasant. Rooms basic by modern standards, but typical of family style run hotels, and nothing was missing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slartybart77
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Let me start from saying that the online pictures is what sold me on this property so congrats to the photographer for a great job done. In reality the hotel wasn't as impressive. Very basic room with pretty hard mattresses, thou I must admit the rooms were clean so no complains there. The property itself wasn't very manicured and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We have found this hotel by coincidence as we wanted to return to the area where my husband spent all his childhood holidays. Unfortunately as soon as we arrived we got bad news on his dad's health and have to go home next day. However owner has been very understanding and did not ask us to pay the other nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Although the staff, who seemed to be the family who owned the hotel, were friendly and hospitable, too many things went wrong, and ultimately too few were redressed. The trip from the coast road to the hotel is circuitous and testing but the hotel has such a spectacular position that it was worth the effort. We were given a splendid...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ted49
lariserva, Direttore at La Riserva di Castel d'Appio, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are very sorry that there have been problems with the hot water, the comfort of our guests comes first. we informed you that the problem was not of immediate resolution even though we tried to solve but needed a specialist, we have offered from the first minute an upgrade to a panoramic suite with two balconies and...

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

This was a unique find. We stayed in order to take the train into the Monaco Grand Prix. We could see Monaco from our balcony. But this peaceful hotel was an absolute gem amazing views. Outstanding service catering for my gluten free diet. The staff could not do enough for us. Yes the decor is a bit dated but that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Becky C
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

The road up to the hotel is daunting but quite impressive when you get there. We got upgraded to a sea-fronting room when checking in and the view was breathtaking! Staff and waiters were also very friendly. However, that is where it stops. Outdated decor. Terrible food for dinner that was completely overpriced. The following morning's breakfast was almost as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DannyBones
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventimiglia hotels
2.3 mi away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 12 in Ventimiglia
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Eva Restaurant and Beach
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#5 of 12 in Ventimiglia
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 12 in Ventimiglia
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#4 of 12 in Ventimiglia
132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Giuseppe
Hotel Giuseppe
#9 of 12 in Ventimiglia
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The antique building located on a peak about 300m above the sea and underneath the ruin of the "Castle d'Appio" is a 13th century garrison and enjoys a marvellous view of the Italian "Flower Riviera" and the French "Côte d'AzurUnder the old castle built by Roman Consul Appio Claudio in 185 B.C., in 1967 the hotel and restaurant "La Riserva di Castel d'Appio" was erected on the ruins of the old building which belonged to the same family who today is still the owner and manager of the hotel facility.A refined lounge for the winter restaurant, a flowered terrace along the swimming-pool for dinners in the candlelight, highly recommended is our fish specialities from the best traditional and international dishes. The Genoese, in the Xlll century, rediscovered the position of the castle, rising steeply 300m out of the sea, and almost totally rebuilt it. From the restaurant and the rooms you can enjoy the same magnificent view.The hotel is located between the "Riviera dei Fiori" and the "Côte d'Azur", 18 Km away from both Sanremo and Monte Carlo. To reach it you have to leave the A10 highway at Ventimiglia exit and run 1/2 mile toward the town. Then, after you cross a bridge on the Roya river, you have to turn right toward France. After 400 mt, at the traffic light, turn right and go on for 4 Km. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Riserva di Castel d'Appio

Address: Localita Peidaigo 71, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Price Range: $82 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riserva di Castel d'Appio 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Riserva di Castel d'Appio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ventimiglia
#2 Family Hotel in Ventimiglia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Riserva di Castel d'Appio staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Riserva di Castel d'Appio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The hotel is situated in a remote area with no noice”
 of 5 bubbles egiljohannesu, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Balcony with sea view, always.”
  • View from the restaurant/pool terrace.
 of 5 bubbles slartybart77, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Choose one with good hot water”
 of 5 bubbles Ted49, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back has views over the coast towards France and hills.”
 of 5 bubbles Vierdank, Nov 29, 2015 | Read review
“Go for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles matts386, Oct 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay