We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo Italy
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Booking.com
$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Official Website
Only 5 left at
$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$152
Priceline$166
travelup.com$186
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1709)
Room & Suite (816)
Pool & Beach (267)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 05/23/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Excelsior Palace Hotel
Updated 05/23/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 27 hotels in Rapallo
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Rapallo does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Excelsior Palace Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Porta delle Saline (0.4 mi) and Incendio del Castello con la Processione Religiosa dei Crocifissi (0.4 mi), guests of Excelsior Palace Hotel can easily experience some of Rapallo's most well known attractions.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Excelsior Palace Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Excelsior Palace Hotel offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

While in Rapallo, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Excelsior Palace Hotel, including La Trattoria (0.4 mi), Rocco e i Suoi Fratelli (0.4 mi), and Ristorante Le Cupole (0.7 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Rapallo, check out a government building, such as Palazzo del Municipio.

Excelsior Palace Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Rapallo.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Wifi
Infinity pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Free wifi in the business center
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Italian
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1928Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,182
  • 518
  • 140
  • 58
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Thomas wrote a review Sep 23
Berlin, Germany3 contributions
+1
Beautiful hotel, located on a rock overlooking the entire city of Rapallo and the sea towards Portofino. Super friendly and nice service of a great hotel stuff. The garden and the beach club, connected by a bridge is very spacious alongside the Mediterranean Sea
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: They provide several charging stations for ecars
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AnnelieVerm wrote a review Aug 2022
Laren, The Netherlands31 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Last July we visited this hotel for the 5th time in the last couple of years and it was as always superb. The whole staff is very friendly and do the utmost to make your stay very comfortable. Breakfast is extensive and of high quality. The room we had this time was really nice with agreat view and spotless ( they have great chambermaids) with enough space for 2 adults and a child of 13. Especially my daughter was very happy with her own bathroom. The stylish, antique furniture and beautiful, old paintings on all walls in this hotel and in the rooms complete the picture. The beachclub is lovely with a great view of the Portofino coast, 2 infinitypools and of course the terrasses with sunbeds which lead you to the sea. Every visit we pay at this hotel feels like coming home. Many thanks to all the staff to make our stay again a memorable one and till next time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear Mrs AnnelieVerm, we are speachless and there is not much to say, besides THANK YOU! Thank you for such an amazing review. Thank you for being our Guests from such a long time! Thank you for your repeated stays! Thank you for honouring us of your presence! The Excelsior Staff greets you warmly and......a presto! Best regards Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mraz70 wrote a review Sep 15
Purchase, New York45 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel is a true grand hotel. Booked through Virtuoso. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite that was extremely ample with two full bathrooms. The hotel beach club was a terrific way to spend an afternoon after touring nearby cities. The staff was terrific. Would definitely return again. One caveat - do not try to drive to Portofino in your own car as the road to Portofino is difficult to navigate with oncoming buses.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Driving own car to Portofino
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr. mraz70, on behalf of all the Excelsior Staff, kindly accept our Thank You for having being our Guests and for such an amazing review! We are so happy that your stay has been so pleasant that you're thinking returning again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Italian Riviera. Staying always at your disposal, we send our best regards. Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant T wrote a review Sep 13
2 contributions
The hotel has some lovely artifacts in it but the smell of damp and the outdated and tired rooms do not command the nightly fee. Breakfast consisted of tinned fruit, cold eggs and if you went down at 10 am there was hardly anything left. There were several couples along with us who complained about the standard of food. It was three star at best. When we went to checkout I asked to see the manger to give my feedback. It appears he was too busy. Or was to tired of hearing the same negative feedback about the hotel. Really Really disappointed. If you were paying three star money I would accept the standard. But we weren't. We were paying five star money. Soooooo So disappointed. I would recommend you look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr. Grant T, we are really sorry to read your review. We are trying to understand what happened, but we had few Guests with a last name attributable to the nickname you used and who stayed at the Excelsior during the month on September therefore our reply has to necessarily be based on your comments. Let us start from the rooms..all our rooms have been renovated in these last years (original antique parquet, new soundproof panels, some with new balconies, some with new bow windows, new matrasses, new furniture, new boiseries, new led system, new canopies, new taps, etc). Being aware in which room you stayed, would have helped us to better comprehend your concern. As you may surely read in many other reviews, breakfast is usually appreciated for the quality and the variaty of products. Our service ends at 10.30am and we never anticipate clearing procedures. It might have happened that some products was about to be replaced. As General Manager, I'm always at Guests' disposal, unless busy in some outside meeting or event. In this case there is a duty manager who may act on my behalf or/and report any news. Our Guests are always invited to deal with us during the stay, in order to be able to solve any matter immediately! Kindly do not hesitate to write me any details you think might be useful, weanwhile, we wish you all the best, trusting we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best regards Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Søren Skovbølling wrote a review Sep 6
Copenhagen, Denmark4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice place but it is very oldfasioned and worn out. Many things doesn’t work, the service is not good and the prices are completely unfair - its way to expensive. We cannot recommend this hotel to anyone before they renovate the rooms and the surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr. Søren Skovbølling, we are deeply sorry (and once again we apologize) for the electricity problems occured to the room you were assigned and that were due to the several black-out which were effecting the surrounding area. We tried to solve the problem as quicker as possible and propose you a first room change, which was not of your satisfaction and finally move to one of our Deluxe Suite, with terrace and outdoor, obviously as free upgrade. We are also sorry that you did not appreciated all the renovations done in these last years and, above all the service which is usually emphasized by our Guests. We took good note of your comments that will certainly help us to improve our standards. Kindly consider all the Staff at your complete disposal for any future need. Best Regards. Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trickets wrote a review Aug 2022
lncs30 contributions22 helpful votes
In all honesty this hotel left me a little torn as there were some unexpected contradictions. The hotel itself was lovely, interesting and ornate, covered in period-style artwork and furniture. Valet parking made arrival straightforward and the Valets were all very attentive. Our room was really comfortable and even though we did not extend to booking a sea-view room our view was of the bay and some sea which I’m sure other hotels would have passed off as sea-view. The curtains were operated yelectrically so it was a treat to reveal the view in the morning. I was disappointed that there were no in-room tea and coffee making facilities. For such a hotel I would have expected it and although I’m sure you could order room service I much prefer the autonomy to make my own when I fancy it. The location is almost perfect, on the edge of Rapallo Bay with amazing views (admittedly interrupted by the road) and the ‘Beach Club’ has a gym, 2 beautiful infinity pools, 2 jacuzzis and access to sea swimming all overlooking the sea. The Beach Club is separated from the hotel by the coastal road and easily reached via an overhead walkway, just an inevitable consequence of the location but really not too inconvenient. The pools were lovely and the staff happy to help with finding a lounger with a view although no poolside service, which was a little surprising. The biggest disappointment for us came at dinner which we had keenly anticipated at the coastal ‘Eden Roc’ restaurant, located within the Beach Club. We were unable to book a reasonable time so accepted a 10pm booking as we were excited to try it. The food was frankly very disappointing. It was mediocre at best and ignoring the fact that it was undoubtedly overpriced, the quality was simply nothing to write home about. My Husband had the Ligurian style fish which was OK but certainly not fine-dining. I had the mixed battered seafood which was served with a slice of lemon and a small spoon of mayonnaise, large in portion size but low on taste and more pub grub than restaurant standard. It was an anticlimax exaggerated by the fact that the staff were clearly wanting to clear around us, due to the late hour. They hovered deliberately behind us as we finished and we felt so intimidated that we left half our wine. We subsequently cancelled our restaurant booking for the following evening and had a fantastic and authentic (and reasonably priced) meal in beautiful Rapallo Bay. Breakfast was OK but again not the best 5-star quality, so all in all the dining experience really let down our otherwise good impression of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Trickets, thank you so much for the time you dedicated to write such a detailed review. We are so glad that you highlighted many positive points, while telling your experience! About the cons, they are equally important to us and, therefore, they deserve a special attention; to proceed, we kindly ask you if you may contact us directly as, with a nickname, we may not verify any further details being unable to recall your reservation. Anyway, we shared your comments with the entire Food and Beverage department. Trusting we will have the pleasure of hearing from you, we stay at your disposal for any need and send our best regards. Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camper49213436499 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were a group of 5 couples and booked 5 rooms. My wife and I had booked a junior suite at great expense and found the room to just have a sofa which they said was the junior suite. Service was terrible with staff not returning calls therefore we had to call 4 times to get a response. This happened on 2 occasions. Would never recomend this hotel to anyone. The breakfast staff and reception staff were also very rude with the ladies who just asked for a bottle of water.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mitchell K wrote a review Jul 2022
Florida2 contributions2 helpful votes
Just spent two nights at the beautiful resort. Upon checking in the team and manager we’re extraordinarily helpful. Totally would recommend this to be the place stay. Best pool and ocean access, only a short taxi drive to everywhere. Sunset cruise was fabulous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear Mr. Mitchell K, thanks a lot for this amazing review and for the excellent score assigned us after your experience at the Excelsior Palace Portofino Coast! Your words encourage us to make always better and better. Trusting we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon, we stay at your disposal for any future need. Best regards Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikael J wrote a review Jul 2022
Djursholm, Sweden7 contributions3 helpful votes
Old interior, no pool or beach service! Feels like the havent renovated since the 60ths. Had high hopes, this is total crap and should not have more tha 3 stars! Dont even want to try eating here will taxi a taxi to some good restaurant! Stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Mr Mikael J, unfortunately we may not recall any reservation under the name you used for this review. Moreover, all your highlights seems not belonging to the Excelsior: *the interior of the Excelsior are not old (orignal antiques enrich the ambiances), *we have two outdoor panoramic pools and one amazing Beach Club, *the hotel has been closed for six months last winter to finish some renovations started few years ago ...is it possible that you reviewd the wrong Hotel? Thanking you for the attention, we send our best regards. Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anderson F wrote a review Jul 2022
Tarboro, North Carolina2 contributions
If you require English speaking news channels and tv that the most simple hotel chains provide,you will not get it at this hotel. Also the Wi-Fi is very unreliable. The staff really tried to help, but there is something fundamentally wrong with the cable and internet service. Otherwise, it is a lovely, elegant hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aldo Werdin, Marketing at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 17, 2022
Dear Mr. Anderson F, besides thanking you for the nice words dedicated to the Staff and the ambiences of the Excelsior Palace Portofino Coast, we are really sorry to read your disappointment for the TV channels and for the wi-fi. Trusting we correctly identified your stay (with Tripadvisor's nickname there is not certainty) , it seems that you stayed in Riviera in early June and after more than a month it's difficult to verify the issues you highlighted related to the room you probably occupied (which was a nice exclusive with sea view and balcony extended as a free upgrade) . All our rooms have english tv channels: CNN, BBC, Channel 4, More 4, Film 4 and Cbeebies and there are some programs which might be seen in the original language. As for the wi-fi, we would have tried to assist you to find a suitable solution Staying at your disposal for any future need, we send our best regards. Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel excelsior palace
LOCATION
ItalyLiguriaItalian RivieraRapallo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Excelsior Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Castello di Rapallo (0.4 miles), Centro Storico (0.4 miles), and San Michele di Pagana (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elisir - Bar Ristorante, Armida 1905, and Eldòlz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and an infinity pool during their stay.
Is Excelsior Palace Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Rapallo.
Are pets allowed at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Excelsior Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Excelsior Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Russian.