We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Helvetia

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Helvetia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

This place was nice on the inside. Scary from the outside. I hated the flights of stairs I had to climb to get to the room and the parking garage all the way around the corner! Overall the room was in a nice location it was great for all the sights but very congested with the locals. We stayed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simply T H
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

I didn't choose this hotel, I went in a kind of business trip and they booked this hotel for all of us. And I am overall very satisfied with the service. I must say I was scared at the beginning after reading some reviews. But I arrived and the room was extremely clean. Mine was small, but some of my... More 

Helpful?
Thank gemgem3008
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear gemgem3008, we thank you very much for the accurate and pleasant review. The strategic location of the Hotel Helvetia is no doubt where the "promises" are retained (the WI FI is even FIBER to 50 Mbps in downlod and 10 Mbps in upoload). Its pleased to note the excellent quality / price ratio satisfies our peculiar work (hereinafter also... More 

wessl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my family in a two room apartment which was a very good size compared to some places I've stayed in Italy, the room was clean but unfortunately very loud as it was on the first floor and faced the street. The bathroom was however very small and cramped, a larger person would struggle to get past the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy N
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

If you like to find out after two nights in a hotel, when returning there for your night's rest in the evening, that they've given your room to someone else... If you like to hear that your underwear and other personal belongings are tossed in a garbage bag, because the receptionist couldn't open your suitcase although he'd tried... And if... More 

Helpful?
Thank szechenyi2015
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Szechenyi, I’m sorry for the words you wrote because there’s an easy explaination for what happened: you made a reservation for two nights and tried to ask for one night more even if we told you we were already fully booked, we told you maybe we could help you find another accomodation nearby, just to be kind to you,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel with my university students and I must say that I find it terribly convenient. The people at the reception desk are always very helpful and full of kind advice. The rooms are not modern but they are clean and well warmed up. Breakfast is nice and rich though they serve only cold food.

Helpful?
1 Thank aldopata
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Prof.Aldopata, thank you so much for your nice words, you and your students are always welcome because of your kindness and reliability, and we all hope to meet you again very soon! Thank you and best regards Nedo Ottonello General Manager More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

After searching the streets of Genoa we stumbled upon this great Hotel. We did not have a reservation but this wasn't a problem. We were four people and were immediately given a room. The price was extremely cheap (85e/room + breakfast). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us very good instructions on where to go in Genoa,... More 

Helpful?
Thank _Michelle_ML56
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

How to thank you for a so marvellous feed back ! We are really happy you appreciated so much your stay in Helvetia, we coudn't ask more as guests! Thank you again from the whole staff we hope to have you again in Hotel Helvetia Regards, Nedo Ottonello Manager More 

Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Less than ten minutes' walk from Principe railway station (where the airport bus drops you), and the same to the old town in the other direction - the location is ideal. There's a lift to all floors. Bedroom very spacious, and comfy bed. Bedding and towels changed every day. Loads of hot water. No noise from the street. Generous cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank PurpleHankyMan
Briisbane Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Hotel is very convenient to all the main attractions on the water front and public transport goes past the door. Staff very helpful and breakfast was typical Italian selection. The room was an adequate size but the bathroom was very small and uncomfortable but very new and clean. However the hand basin was to big for the space and its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denjudfi
Belgium
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Spent 4 nights in this hotel during a work trip. Negative: * Rooms are dated * Not enough space around the toilet * Cannot close the curtains * Mattresses are old and "preshaped" by previous guests * Shower is either very hot or ice cold, no in between Positive: * Very friendly and helpful people. On the first night it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwen_BE
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Gwen, first of all thank you for the nice words you wrote about the Staff, my collegues are helpful indeed as you underlined, so maybe if they had known that you were having those incidents they would have easily solved them (for example, there's a little rope that looses the curtains and they could have showed it to you...)... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the train station and there is public transport right outside. It is in the centre of the main attractions also. The hotel room was quite clean, but our bathroom was very narrow and small. We aren't big people, so I think others might struggle to comfortable move around in the bathroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bec-F-C
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bec-F-C, thank you very much for your nice review, I couldn't have explained better the centrality of our position! As you could see all buildings downtown are historical, tha one we are in is dated 1585, and protected by the Ministry of Cultural Heritage; it's not possible for us to modify all features of the rooms, that's why we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#23 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#40 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
Hotel Veronese
Hotel Veronese
#65 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#15 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Balbi Family Hotel
#24 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel, 3 star rating, is located in an ancient building dating back to 1585 in the heart of the city of Genoa, in the historic Piazza della Nunziata 1.Free wireless fast connection in all rooms and common areas. Free Internet Point ADSL at the Hotel's Hall. The 37 rooms on five floors accessible by elevator (completely renovated, with VIP and No Smoking floors), are completely soundproof, equipped with air-conditioning and heating individually adjustable by each room, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, recent replacement of all the doors of rooms and bathrooms according to the current regulations. The renowned area of Ancient Port (Aquarium, Museum of the Sea, Congress Centre Magazzini del Cotone and Shopping area) at just 200 meters, the Principe Railway station and the Cruises Terminal a few steps, the Carlo Felice Opera House and prestigious Palazzo Ducale at 5 minutes, FREE CCTV motorbikes parking and the garage service (€ 15.00 Per 24 hours) at just 100 meters, make the location of Hotel Helvetia unique in Genoa.Gluten-free breakfast available on request Dog and Cat Welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Piazza della Nunziata 1 | Historical Downtown, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay