We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Connecticut
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Gabriella, our host for our two night stay in Ravenna, was a perfect host. The B & B is very clean. Both rooms met our needs. The location is on a quiet street steps away from all the sights, restaurants, gelato shops and places of interest in this easy to get around town. The walk to and from the train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retireandtravelnow
bandbgallaplacidia, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear retireandtravelnow, thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the quiet of the house, our breakfasts and the B & B location, very close to all the monuments and mosaics of the historical center of Ravenna. I will be happy to host you again in your next trip to Italy. With my best regards.

Harpswell, Maine
Reviewed September 18, 2016

AC(although had to ask for remote to use it). Bathroom was adjacent to the room, which turned out to be a nice feature, and for our use only. Both room and bath were spacious and well appointed. Convenient to attractions in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth B
bandbgallaplacidia, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth B, Thank you so much for your kind review. I regret the inconvenience of the air conditioning remote control that you had to request it because it was not in the room. Usually the remote control is in every room available to guests but the cleaning lady had changed the batteries forgetting to put it in the room....

Southern England
Reviewed October 7, 2014

A lovely place to stay, raised above its natural level by the friendly, helpful hostess. We could walk to everything (except the seaside, and there was a bus for that) and then easily pop "home" when our feet needed a rest. Breakfast was delicious, and different every day. And the recommendations for dinner were spot on. Good thing we did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gingergranny
bandbgallaplacidia, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Gingergra, thank you so much for your wonderful review about Galla Placidia b&b! I'm glad you enjoyed the tranquility of my home and of the city even if in those days there were still many tourists on the streets of Ravenna! I only regret not having been able to give you the room with en-suite bathroom, because, when you...

Prague
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very nice b&b in a beautiful city. Recommend Green Room with a nice terrace. Well situated within the old town but in a very quite street. Gabriella is very friendly and - first of all - breakfasts were excellent, much exceeding our expectations ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maciej_12
bandbgallaplacidia, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Maciej, thank you very much for your kind review! Best regards. Gabriella

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My daughter and I only had 2 nights in the Green Room and wish it could have been more! Gabriella was a great hostess and served an outstanding breakfast, even fixing us one to go when we had to catch an early train. It was an easy 20 minute walk to the train station and just down the street from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Virginia R
mytravel50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Virginia, thank you very much for the nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed staying at the Galla Placidia b & b. I hope you can come back another time to see the sights that you are not able to visit, maybe in the spring when the weather is warmer and the city offers more shows and events. A...

Hampton Beach, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We left Venice by car with no firm destination and called ahead to Galla Placidia hoping for a last minute booking. We were not disappointed, Gabriella rushed home from a day out to make up a room for us and we had a wonderful day and dinner in Ravenna, arriving at the B&B around 8pm. You will be very happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ted B
gallaplacidia50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Tina and Ted, thank you so much for your lovely review! I am very glad that you enjoyed the room which was the only one available since you have made ​​a booking at the last minute. And I am also very happy that you have enjoyed the advice I gave you about the restaurants that are affiliated with us....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Galla Placida and can't recommend it highly enough. The Green Room and the terrace is beautifully decorated and so quiet, cosy and comfortable it felt a shame to leave and explore Ravenna! Gabriella is a lovely, generous and warm host who not only made some wonderful breakfasts, but also gave us some essential tips...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Salt-Cafe
gallaplacidia50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Alan and Holly, thank you so much for your wonderful review! for me also it was a real pleasure to meet you and talk to you every day during breakfast ! Thanks also to Alan for your corrections to my not perfect English! I hope to see you again in your next trip to Ravenna. Just yesterday I made...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Planning to visit the UNESCO World Inheritage Mosaics and cycling in the environment we stayed for one week in the very pleasant and charming B&B Galla Placidia run by Gabriela. We were warmly welcomed by Gabriela with a drink and she provided us with all types of information on mosaics, bike renting and other practicalities. We stayed in a large,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yvon P
gallaplacidia50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Yvon, thanks so much for your wonderful review! You're too kind! I don't seem to deserve all these beautiful words! I only do my duty even if it is with great pleasure that I make my job because it allows me to meet some nice people like you! I wish you all the best and I hope to see...

Nerac, France
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We too found this an absolute gem and Gabriella a jewel! It seems that the green room with its own terrace weaves its spell over everyone who stays there - we too fell under its spell though heavy rain on our second day limited use of the terrace! The breakfasts are everything you read about in the reviews and more!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrNoah
gallaplacidia50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Noah, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at B & B Galla Placidia, and that you were able to enjoy the tranquility of the green room with a terrace and our breakfasts. I also thank you for the beautiful pictures that you have attached. There is nothing that makes me happier than to...

Australia
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Like the mosaics of Ravenna the Galla Placidia B&B shines brightly. Past reviewers have described the Galla Placidia accurately - friendly, clean, quiet etc. So if you want to stay in a good little town, see sites of world importance, and a have great place to stay then go to Ravenna.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dolphin3
gallaplacidia50, Proprietario at Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Dolphin3, Thank you very much for staying at the b & b Galla Placidia, and that everything was to your liking. I do my best every day, as far as possible, to satisfy my guests and make their stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. If you return to Ravenna I will be happy to welcome you to Galla...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenna hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B La Basilica
B&B La Basilica
#37 of 130 in Ravenna
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Masoli
Casa Masoli
#2 of 130 in Ravenna
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
a casa di paola suite
a casa di paola suite
#11 of 130 in Ravenna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dimora delle Emme
Dimora delle Emme
#8 of 130 in Ravenna
104 reviews
11.1 mi away
B&B Papaveri e Papere
B&B Papaveri e Papere
#1 of 1 in Massa Castello
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ai Giardini di San Vitale
Ai Giardini di San Vitale
#10 of 130 in Ravenna
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Galla Placidia B&B is situated right in the heart of Ravenna, just a few steps away from the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia and the Basilica of San Vitale. Located on a quiet walkway near a verdant public park area, it's an ideal place to stay if you want to combine art and culture with a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Galla Placidia is situated on two floors of a very large semi-detached house, with ample space and comfortable surroundings. Three rooms are available, all fitted with air-conditioning and private bathroom. All the rooms have a different character, they are spacious, tastefully furnished and welcoming.One of the rooms, which can be classified almost as a suite, has a 20 sq. M. Terrace offering a splendid view of the old city roofs and the bell tower of San Vitale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Mura di San Vitale 12, 48121, Ravenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Ravenna
Price Range: $75 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Galla Placidia b&b
Galla Placidia Hotel Ravenna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Galla Placidia Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The two rooms we had were fine. The one with a terrace had a small bathroom, the other room had a large bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles retireandtravelnow, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“I didn't see the other rooms, but I think they had a shared terrace. The Green Room was huge with a private terrace. Extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 662virginiar, Jan 9, 2014 | Read review
“For a longer stay is the large Green Room with the big terrace an excellent choice. There are only few B&B's and hotels that offer a nice terrace on such a good spot in the city of Ravenna.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonp917, Oct 18, 2012 | Read review
“Ask for the green room!”
 of 5 bubbles MrNoah, May 20, 2012 | Read review
“they are all good - we had the one with the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Dolphin3, May 19, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question