We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Ancient Romance B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ancient Romance B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When our shuttle bus dropped us off around the corner and told us "it's just around there" we thought the there would be a sign telling us exactly where. When we turned around the corner there was no signs only a shop with a massive door with no signage. I then had to google images of the front the the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parksey7
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Dear guest, our b&b is located in a late 19th century building and it is an Historical building. That is why there is no possibility to put any sign outside the door, just buzzers or the reason why you find a historical elevator or a floor AC unit (perfectly working): because you are in the historical center of a 2.500... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant location, just by Vatican City. Easy access to public transport or walk into Rome itself. Bus to Palatine, Colesseum stops right outside on the square, tickets from green shop on square. Beautiful old residential building, Google will take you to square side by footlocker, it's actually just down the street. Square to your back past tiny kebab pizza place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sais
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We spent two nights here over last weekend and, although the location was great (just outside the Vatican City and near the Metro), the rest of it was a disappointment. Although clean enough, the standard of the fixtures was poor (the shower door twice came adrift from its frame, the toilet seat shifted when you sat on it, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Purple_thistle2013
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

It's hard to know where to start - first let me say the rooms and facilities were spotlessly clean! Access to the kitchen, and telephone in the hallway were much appreciated. The location we ended up at was a short walk to both the Vatican and the Castel Sant' Angelo and right next to Mc Donalds and the Metro. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank DrPJShield
Elliniko, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

I liked very much. The area is perfect, 5 minutes from Vatican and its museums, 10 minutes from Saint Angelo castle and 30 minutes from piazza Navona with foot. The metro station is 2 minutes near, so nothing to worry about. Also there is supermarket near and a mini market which stays open late at night. 24h food you can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Κωνσταντίνος Π
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

The only good thing about the hotel was the destination. Otherwise it was awful!!!!!! It was full of mould , dirty and without view! Its not a hotel , just a few apartments in a very old building without any comforts! The receptionist was never there and the breakfast was compriced by some chip prepacked jam ( the cheapest and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank elina p
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Some travelers always think they paid averything with the pre-paid offer they usually book online with some companies, or at least they try to avoid to pay the city taxes, which are always excluded and it is perfectly written in their booking confirmation. When we ask for what they still hace to pay, often starts a big complain and refuse... More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Simple, clean and great value pensione in a 6 floor apartment. About 3 minute walk to St Peters Sq and 200m from Octaviano metro stop. No main sign on road so look for multi address numbers on the door. Just next to Gelato shop! Help yourself breakfast with food in the fridge. Some nice bars and restaurants in vicinity too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JammyJimmy007
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for three unforgettable nights. We could not fault it. The B&B has a beautiful quantness to it. It was clean, comfortable with a great view and very central. The staff were extremely helpful with all our queries. We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B. 😀

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

The bedroom shown is beautiful. The bathroom is large, with a microscopic shower, literally 2 ft. by 2 ft.! There is a table against the wall in the small foyer, only 3 will fit to sit there. Packaged breakfast pastries, Juice in trig., coffee bar outside the room was nice. SO close to the Vatican, for a destination stay its... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn M
Verona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

As the airconditioning simply doesn't work, don't go as you won't be able to sleep. Open the window, the noise from the street is LOUD. Complain about it the next morning and get no solution. Check out one day early and they are still trying to charge my credit card for the night we didn' stay. Summarised: to be avoided.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Geert M
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Dear guest, our air conditioning perfectly works and if you complained about it I cannot understand how you could say we did not find any solution. You stayed one night, then complained the next morning, when you left. How could we find a solution, even if what you are stating is true...? I cannot understand it. As I cannot understand... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#639 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Prati
B&B Have a Nice Holiday
B&B Have a Nice Holiday
#667 of 3,608 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Roma Vaticano
#2,832 of 3,608 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Martini Bed
#234 of 3,608 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Prati
Ottaviano Augusto
Ottaviano Augusto
#1,226 of 3,608 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Prati
La Casa di Piero al Vaticano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prati

Neighborhood Profile
Prati
Just steps away from the chaos of the center, Prati is the closest Rome gets to calm. Meticulously planned in a neat grid, quite unlike neighboring Borgo, Prati is a local favorite for its aesthetic organization and wide streets lined with a range of boutiques for every shopping fantasy. Nonnis pushing baby carriages and gossiping teens own every inch of the sidewalk, but that’s only during business hours. Once the sun sets, quirky sidestreet bars celebrate aperitivo hour, those evening cocktails that help wash away the tensions of Roman life.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“Ancient Romance” is a bed and breakfast located in the wonderful, historical and artistic area of the Vatican City, in the hearth of ancient Rome. It is just 50 metres far from San Pietro square and the Vatican Museums. Our B&B has just been renovated and it is situated in a splendid late-19th-century building, in via Ottaviano, on a quiet pedestrian precinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ancient Romance B&B

Address: Via Ottaviano 9, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Price Range: $58 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient Romance B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ancient Romance B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Romance Bed And Breakfast
Ancient Romance Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay