We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Piazza di Pasquino 69-A, 00186 Rome Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$432
View deal
Expedia.com$498
Hotels.com$498
Traveluro
Travelocity$498
Priceline$499
Design Hotels$526
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (157)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (203)

About

#101 of 2,130 Specialty lodging in Rome
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
615Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
338Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
156Reviews5Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 113
  • 20
  • 9
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gabriella wrote a review May 2022
Barcelona, Spain16 contributions
G rough was such a unique hotel and beautiful. The location is great because it is in the heart of the city but it is sort-of hidden on a street that is (relatively) quiet. There is a winery/restaurant right next-door, as well as additional restaurants on that street as well. In the morning there's breakfast provided in a BnB- type style-- as if you were walking downstairs to your own personal chef. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book in advance because there is only 10 rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
jeanne17 wrote a review Mar 2022
LA2 contributions3 helpful votes
I went to check out this morning and my Nike shoes are missing. I was sitting across the room putting my boots on and I noticed them yesterday morning placed all the way under the closet and I noted to my husband that was strange. He made a comment that maybe someone was hoping we would forget them. We left early morning for a tour and I didn't think about the shoes until this morning upon check out. They are gone. The hotel said all they are able to do is replace the cost of the shoes and after they called the manager they can refund my city tax. What a joke. They have a much larger problem on their hands. Either they do not have security and someone randomly broke in and got on their hands and knees and only stole my shoes...or someone from their housekeeping staff took them. I gave them the opportunity to make this right and said just return the shoes there will be no questions asked. But that was not the case as they said they have 100% faith in their staff. I wish I was wrong but my shoes did not walk away on their own after basically being hidden under the closet. I filed a formal complaint with Marriott as well. Not safe. Also, the water pressure is basically non existent in the shower which is something we were willing to put up with until we were robbed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Maira Rizzo, Direttore generale at G-Rough
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear guests Jeanne Vetter and Joseph Everett, We are very sorry to read negative reviews, especially those that offend our work and our staff. It has never happened something like that since our opening. You stayed in G-rough from March 22nd to March 27th, 5 nights in total. You never complained during your entire stay, contacting our staff several times to ask information about the city, reservations at the restaurants we recommend, to use the bicycles at disposal to our guests, or to enjoy breakfast services. On the day of your check-out Mrs Vetter, you came to our front office desk talking about a pair of "surgical slippers” missing needed for your therapy. None of our housekeeping have never seen that pair of shoes in your room for the entire stay. Our staff promptly went to your room and didn't find them . Manuel, Natalia and Kaline (our housekeeping staff, that work at G-rough since 2015) have never seen them. Our team has been working for us for years and certainly doesn’t risk their job for a pair of shoes /slippers Our GM gently proposed you a reimbursement, asking the model of the slippers, but you did not accept, you asked for the reimbursement of part of the stay. Then you sent us a receipt of a pair of Nike bought in LA for 480$. Our staff and management will be always at diposal for any further information and detail at our email adress reservations@g-rough.com. The management
Read more
Joan Q wrote a review Nov 2021
Somerset, New Jersey4 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location. Staff was friendly. Hotel lobby is pretty. We stayed 6 nights - non-refundable. Three nights at the beginning of our trip and 3 nights at the end. They gave us the same room both times. The elevator wasn't working the first time we stayed - 4 flights of stairs - wasn't fun. The shower in our room didn't work the first visit either - and the hot water dribbles out while the cold blasts so it takes some fine tuning to get the right mix. The shower could use some wall repair - it's a luxury hotel so flaking walls is not a good look. The rooms are REALLY dark. I had to use my cell phone flashlight to find clothes in the closet. The refrigerator is filled with food and drink items, of course with a price list. There was also a small bag with with plastic toothbrushes, a small tube of toothpaste and two tiny packs of tissues. I assumed it was free since Marriott's do provide vanity items in the US and I didn't see a price for it on any of the literature. They charged me $115.00 for it! I would have been upset at $25.00 - but $115.00 was really out of line. I returned it - untouched but I didn't receive a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jessica A wrote a review Oct 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania9 contributions8 helpful votes
I would describe this place as budget hostel meets college dormitory, with all the comforts of a prison cell. At over €700 per night, we were basically robbed. When we told them it was our honeymoon, they basically just charged us more for the same room, taking advantage of the fact that we wanted to make it a special trip and get a nice room. Jokes on us! The bathrooms are dirty, tiny and old. Not charming old, just grimy looking, with visible dirt and dust. Starting at 3 am you will hear all sorts of loud noises coming from within the building. Every footstep from the room above, the guy in the room next to you running the sink. This place has all the structural integrity of a meth lab. As if this didn’t make sleeping difficult enough, the 2 sheets on your bed are the scratchy linen version of single ply toilet paper. The elevator looks like it’s from 1970, the towels and robes are thin and worn out, the coffee machine is dirty, the phone doesn’t work. Oh but they give you 2 bottles of water each day. Although one of ours today was half empty. The location is excellent, but I don’t think you could find a worse value for your money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Aidan1988 wrote a review Sep 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom57 contributions30 helpful votes
Looks a lovely place and to be fair it is. Asked for a menu as we were served. Told there was no menu. Then an Italian couple sat down and were presented with a menu. I asked for that menu in order to check prices. Then asked for the bill. Surprisingly the price on the menu for a glass of wine was 8 euros, cocktails 12 euros. Given our bill with the same items 10 euros for the wine and 15 for the cocktail. Questioned it to be met with a massively rude response. The lady explained to us that the menu was for Italians, we were then presented another menu with inflated prices. Paid the bill with the bill at the higher rate. Never seen such rudeness. Really disappointing, great for Italians. Avoid if British
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Michael M wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands5 contributions8 helpful votes
Disappointed we were not offered a refund for our accomodation at a time Italy's borders were shut due to Covid and only offered a refund. All 5 of the other hotels on our trip gave a refund.... but unfortunately G-Rough said Italy was business as usual at the height of the pandemic and foreigners banned from entering Italy. Shame on you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kate D wrote a review Jul 2020
Banbury4 contributions
I recently stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend and we all left Rome wishing we could stay for longer and vowing that we would definitely return to the G Rough when we could. All the staff at this excellent small hotel (or bar with fabulous rooms) were lovely, but Stefano and Marco were particularly helpful and welcoming, helping us with restaurant recommendations and car hire and possible areas to explore. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, just off the Piazza Navona, and the rooms are highly individual and spacious, with facilities for making tea/coffee and snacks. Breakfast was being ordered to the room due to Covid measures, and was not only excellent but delivered almost precisely on time, and the bar/reception downstairs was cosy and welcoming and clearly popular with the locals. (The cocktails weren't bad either!). Altogether a fabulous experience and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Yog-Sothoth wrote a review Feb 2020
Trenton, Maine1247 contributions381 helpful votes
In Rome we are always searching for a place for a good cocktail (obviously good wine flows everywhere). Stopped in early for a pre-dinner drink. Friendly folks. Would love to find a place where you can sit up at the bar and have your Negroni or whatever, but it doesn't see to be the thing here. Not a budget experience -- drinks are 15 Euro a pop. They make a good martini.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Roberto M wrote a review Dec 2019
3 contributions5 helpful votes
The lobby bar has no proper windows And cold air comes inside. It’s not pleasant at all and it’s not what you expect in a cozy bar you go to relax. dont go there in winter it’s freezing ❄️❄️❄️ I got a flu after having had a bloody mary there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Arnie R wrote a review Nov 2019
Saint Louis, Missouri202 contributions128 helpful votes
We loved everything about this hotel--its location (near Piazza Navona), its vibe (cool but charming, eclectic yet sweet, modern but warm), its staff (Stephano, Marco & Co. were just tremendous hosts), its bar (good wine and people watching). Oh, and our room was tremendous! The breakfasts, too! Just a terrific stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$362 - $904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeNavona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori / Centro / Parione
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about G-Rough
Which popular attractions are close to G-Rough?
Nearby attractions include Pantheon (0.2 miles), Piazza Navona (0.09 miles), and Del Giudice Roma (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at G-Rough?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at G-Rough?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at G-Rough?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to G-Rough?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosamunda's, Two Sizes -Tiramisù in Rome-, and Sweet Life Gelateria Pasticceria Artigianale.
Does G-Rough have airport transportation?
Yes, G-Rough offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at G-Rough?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at G-Rough?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at G-Rough?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to G-Rough?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Peter's Basilica (1.0 miles), Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.4 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).