G-Rough

G-Rough

Unconventional Luxury suite
Traveler (174)
Panorama of the Ico Parisi Standard Suite at the G-Rough
360
Panoramas (10)
Pasquino Suite
Room & Suite (208)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$591
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 64 special hotels in Rome
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Piazza di Pasquino, 69 / 70, 00186 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
Fiumicino Airport
12.9 mi
See all flights
Spagna
17 minRome Metro
172Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 21
  • 9
  • 6
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate D wrote a review Jul 2020
Banbury3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend and we all left Rome wishing we could stay for longer and vowing that we would definitely return to the G Rough when we could.
All the staff at this excellent small hotel (or bar with fabulous rooms) were lovely, but Stefano and Marco were particularly helpful and welcoming, helping us with restaurant recommendations and car hire and possible areas to explore.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better, just off the Piazza Navona, and the rooms are highly individual and spacious, with facilities for making tea/coffee and snacks. Breakfast was being ordered to the room due to Covid measures, and was not only excellent but delivered almost precisely on time, and the bar/reception downstairs was cosy and welcoming and clearly popular with the locals. (The cocktails weren't bad either!).
Altogether a fabulous experience and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maple1156 wrote a review Aug 2023
Ontario, Canada23 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On our return from a Mediterranean Cruise, we decided to splurge with a 3-night stay at the G-Rough. What an outstanding experience!

The hotel is a narrow five story restored building with 10 suites that looks like it is torn out of the fashion section of a “Restoration Hardware” catalogue. The thought put into this hotel’s design and rooms connects it to its history while still giving it a funky contemporary feel.

We had 4 family members stay in the top floor suite, which was just stunning.
Here are a few highlights –
 The feel of the place is more guest house than it is hotel. While it doesn’t have all the services you might find at a big hotel, it more than makes up for it in service and experience.
 Their staff were all very helpful with anything we asked - from room service to helping with restaurant recommendations and reservations.
 The location is exceptional, with the hotel opening up on a small square and steps away from great restaurants and historical points of interest.
 Our top floor suite was simply amazing. A very large suite on 2 levels, with windows that open on the square below and a roof top deck.
 We enjoyed a continental breakfast in the room (@ 25 E$ to serve it in our room vs the breakfast room downstairs) as a great way to start every morning.

Not sure we’ve stayed anywhere more unique. It really made our last few days in Rome a highlight of our family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Getaway404057 wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
G-Rough is a gorgeous, rustic and very cool small hotel very close to the Piazza Navone, the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. We were greeted at reception by Gulia who couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. We began our stay with free drinks in the bar which opens onto a small piazza with outdoor dining and music. We stayed in an executive suite with a separate living area and phenomenal bathroom. The entire hotel has been decorated down to the smallest detail in a style I can only describe as "really cool" with rustic beams, antiquey walls and modern furnishings. A delightful stay and refuge from the crowds of Roma. A lovely free breakfast was included. I would return in a minute!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aidan1988 wrote a review Sep 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom64 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Looks a lovely place and to be fair it is. Asked for a menu as we were served.

Told there was no menu. Then an Italian couple sat down and were presented with a menu. I asked for that menu in order to check prices. Then asked for the bill.

Surprisingly the price on the menu for a glass of wine was 8 euros, cocktails 12 euros. Given our bill with the same items 10 euros for the wine and 15 for the cocktail.

Questioned it to be met with a massively rude response.
The lady explained to us that the menu was for Italians, we were then presented another menu with inflated prices.

Paid the bill with the bill at the higher rate. Never seen such rudeness.

Really disappointing, great for Italians. Avoid if British
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael M wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands6 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed we were not offered a refund for our accomodation at a time Italy's borders were shut due to Covid and only offered a refund. All 5 of the other hotels on our trip gave a refund.... but unfortunately G-Rough said Italy was business as usual at the height of the pandemic and foreigners banned from entering Italy. Shame on you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica A wrote a review Oct 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania11 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would describe this place as budget hostel meets college dormitory, with all the comforts of a prison cell.

At over €700 per night, we were basically robbed.

When we told them it was our honeymoon, they basically just charged us more for the same room, taking advantage of the fact that we wanted to make it a special trip and get a nice room. Jokes on us!

The bathrooms are dirty, tiny and old. Not charming old, just grimy looking, with visible dirt and dust.

Starting at 3 am you will hear all sorts of loud noises coming from within the building. Every footstep from the room above, the guy in the room next to you running the sink. This place has all the structural integrity of a meth lab.

As if this didn’t make sleeping difficult enough, the 2 sheets on your bed are the scratchy linen version of single ply toilet paper.

The elevator looks like it’s from 1970, the towels and robes are thin and worn out, the coffee machine is dirty, the phone doesn’t work. Oh but they give you 2 bottles of water each day. Although one of ours today was half empty.

The location is excellent, but I don’t think you could find a worse value for your money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jeanne17 wrote a review Mar 2022
LA2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to check out this morning and my Nike shoes are missing. I was sitting across the room putting my boots on and I noticed them yesterday morning placed all the way under the closet and I noted to my husband that was strange. He made a comment that maybe someone was hoping we would forget them. We left early morning for a tour and I didn't think about the shoes until this morning upon check out. They are gone. The hotel said all they are able to do is replace the cost of the shoes and after they called the manager they can refund my city tax. What a joke. They have a much larger problem on their hands. Either they do not have security and someone randomly broke in and got on their hands and knees and only stole my shoes...or someone from their housekeeping staff took them.

I gave them the opportunity to make this right and said just return the shoes there will be no questions asked. But that was not the case as they said they have 100% faith in their staff. I wish I was wrong but my shoes did not walk away on their own after basically being hidden under the closet.

I filed a formal complaint with Marriott as well. Not safe.

Also, the water pressure is basically non existent in the shower which is something we were willing to put up with until we were robbed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maira Rizzo, Direttore generale at G-Rough
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear guests Jeanne Vetter and Joseph Everett, We are very sorry to read negative reviews, especially those that offend our work and our staff. It has never happened something like that since our opening. You stayed in G-rough from March 22nd to March 27th, 5 nights in total. You never complained during your entire stay, contacting our staff several times to ask information about the city, reservations at the restaurants we recommend, to use the bicycles at disposal to our guests, or to enjoy breakfast services. On the day of your check-out Mrs Vetter, you came to our front office desk talking about a pair of "surgical slippers” missing needed for your therapy. None of our housekeeping have never seen that pair of shoes in your room for the entire stay. Our staff promptly went to your room and didn't find them . Manuel, Natalia and Kaline (our housekeeping staff, that work at G-rough since 2015) have never seen them. Our team has been working for us for years and certainly doesn’t risk their job for a pair of shoes /slippers Our GM gently proposed you a reimbursement, asking the model of the slippers, but you did not accept, you asked for the reimbursement of part of the stay. Then you sent us a receipt of a pair of Nike bought in LA for 480$. Our staff and management will be always at diposal for any further information and detail at our email adress reservations@g-rough.com. The management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael C wrote a review Sep 2023
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions104 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this property a number of times…there is a new management team in place making the place feel very unsafe and like its their own personal party pad.

Like many other recent reviews, the management can’t be trusted - they lie, have their friends running all over the hotel throughout the day and night…its just not a place to stay and feel safe.

We were given a room on the first floor…directly above the bar. The is no acoustic separation so the sounds of the bar are directly in your bedroom.

When I asked the hotel management to turn down the noise…they literally turned the volume up, smiled and walked back to the party with his friends - crazy!!

It’s a shame because this used to be a great hotel…now it simply not a safe place to stay in Rome.

I would stay at the St. Regis instead.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you stay….make sure you are not on level one as the noise from the bar will prevent you from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriele Irrera, Direttore generale at G-Rough
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Dear Mr. Combs, Thanks for the review you have made, we always appreciate Guests' comments because they're useful to improve our service quality. First of all, we would like to inform you our Management Team has not changed since the first year. Secondly, we strongly disagree with your comment since you are describing a situation that does not reflect what has actually happened. The day of your check in you came to our Front Desk complaining about the music coming from the bar, our bartender immediately lowered it down. However, the morning after, you showed up at The Front Desk with your bags packed, ready to leave claiming you could not sleep at night because of the noise outside. We are really sorry for that, but what is happening outside unfortunately is not always under our control, but surely if you pointed out the issue, we could have tried to intervene promptly. Given the inconvenience you had, we tried to meet your needs by refunding the first night, but not the remaining two, since you have been offered a solution moving you to the upper floor but you refused. Our Staff is well trained and mannered, no one at G-Rough would ever dare to disrespect a Guest, we work hard to guarantee high quality standards to our high valued Guests from all over the world, that is why many of them are repeaters, feeling at home. We are part of one of the most important international circuits (Marriott International) and we follow their very high standard policies, that is the reason why we completely disagree with your comment, saying that we made fun of you. We truly hope you will understand our point of view, we remain at your full disposal for any further communication, Best Regards, Gabriele Irrera
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yog-Sothoth wrote a review Feb 2020
Trenton, Maine1,244 contribution449 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In Rome we are always searching for a place for a good cocktail (obviously good wine flows everywhere). Stopped in early for a pre-dinner drink. Friendly folks. Would love to find a place where you can sit up at the bar and have your Negroni or whatever, but it doesn't see to be the thing here. Not a budget experience -- drinks are 15 Euro a pop. They make a good martini.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HALLO wrote a review Nov 2023
Foligno, Italy1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stumbled upon this place during our trip to Rome which was not mentioned in our guide. From the moment we stepped our foot through the door, we were captivated by this place. The atmopshere, the music, the drinks, the seats,...but most of all we were impressed by Melita. She is the bartender at this place. She may look fierce at first sight, but honestly she is a breath of fresh air. She combines Italian flair, with skillfull bartending and a warm personality. We came here 4 consecutive nights in a row, and the experience even became better each time. When you are in Rome, don't hesitate, put this on your must visit list!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Brian Y
Piedmont, Alabama14 contributions12 helpful votes
Sorry so late, but we didnt have any children. Do not believe there would be any issues and the staff was very welcoming.
srgoldstein asked a question Feb 2017
Newton, Massachusetts35 contributions7 helpful votes
Can all rooms accommodate a roll away bed, if necessary?
Answer from G_Stef
Rome, Italy
HI, Not all rooms can accommodate a roll away bed. Please contact the reservation department for more information. Frank M.
Candace P asked a question Feb 2017
Cleveland, OH177 contributions74 helpful votes
Do the regular suite rooms have windows?
8 contributions13 helpful votes
The G Rough is a marvelous hotel! Yes, the suites have generous windows. The suites are large, comfortable and styled well and quite chic. This is not your classic business hotel and geared toward a savvy creative customer given its style and decor. See the website for photos that well represent. We stayed last summer and will definitely return when next in Rome. Great hotel all around. Loved it!
Fittiger asked a question Sep 2016
Baton Rouge, Louisiana16 contributions
Do they rooms have air-conditioning?
Answer from G_Stef
Rome, Italy
Hi, we offer independent air-conditioning in all of our rooms.
ShashaChicago asked a question Sep 2016
Chicago1 contribution
Do they have airport transportation?
Answer from CML548
Chicago53 contributions62 helpful votes
Yes. They pre-arranged a pick-up for us.
Michael C wrote a tip Sep 2023
Melbourne, Australia46 contributions104 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you stay….make sure you are not on level one as the noise from the bar will prevent you from sleeping."
Read full review
Ali L wrote a tip Aug 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Area is super cute! Just don’t go here! Although I am speaking about the bar, and not the hotel, but I assume all staff is trained the same "
Read full review
Gabriella wrote a tip May 2022
Rome, Italy122 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance because there is only 10 rooms."
Read full review
ConfuciusTse wrote a tip May 2019
San Francisco, California35 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere"
Read full review
SarahN48824 wrote a tip May 2019
Llanelli, United Kingdom244 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Back suites have no view but are very quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$427 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeNavona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori / Centro / Parione
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

G-ROUGH - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about G-Rough
Which popular attractions are close to G-Rough?
Nearby attractions include Pantheon (0.3 miles), Piazza Navona (0.1 miles), and Del Giudice Roma (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at G-Rough?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at G-Rough?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at G-Rough?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to G-Rough?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adesso Vineria-bistrot, Sweet Life Gelateria Pasticceria Artigianale, and Osteria Da Fortunata - Baullari.
Does G-Rough have airport transportation?
Yes, G-Rough offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at G-Rough?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at G-Rough?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at G-Rough?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to G-Rough?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Peter's Basilica (1.0 miles), Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.4 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near G-Rough
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars