We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piazza di Spagna 9

Save
Share
3rd Fl. Piazza di Spagna 9, 00187 Rome Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
$228
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/20
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (24)

About

#556 of 4,292 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conceived by interior designer and owner Stefania Grippo, PiazzadiSpagna9 doesn't just have the look and feel of a contemporary art gallery, it actually is one. All the cutting-edge furniture and the art on the walls is for sale. Each of the rooms is individually decorated, which feature queensize steel four-poster or upholstered platform beds topped with crisp white cotton sheets from Tuscany. Every room has high ceiling, an artfully designed console table or desk, lounge chairs and copious closet space. Most of the big, modern bathrooms come with glassed-in showers, and all rooms have large windows (some with French doors that open onto small step-out balconies). There's also a flat-screen TV, laptop safe and a Nespresso coffee machine in each room. In the exclusive lounge overlooking Spanish Steps is featured the complimentary continental breakfast offering a mix of fresh fruit, flaky pastries, cereal, yogurt, salami, cheese, plus coffee, tea and a selection of juices. At night the special selected Aperitivi is served along with Italian stuzzichini finger food. There's also a small by-appointment-only Turkish-style spa, with a stone massage table, like one you'd find in a hammam, plus a steam room and a whirlpool soaking tub.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Wifi
Car hire
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Laptop safe
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
220Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
135Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
108Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 86
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melanie K wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Small and very friendly boutique hotel in a fantastic location next to the Spanish Steps. Looking out to the Piazza it is full of shoppers, tourists and horse drawn carriages but inside the hotel is so peaceful. A haven of relaxation and luxury. Our junior suite was stylish and well equipped. Free Nespresso machine. Hot water for tea always available in the small reception area. L'occitane luxury toiletries in the bathroom. Fresh fruit, cheeses and hams with rolls and omelettes available for a buffet breakfast. Very friendly informative staff willing to assist with any queries. Would definitely like to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would think that all rooms are of a similar high standard.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from StefaniaG1929, Direttore generale at Piazza di Spagna 9
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Dear Guest, We are so thankful for your kind review! And thank you also for choosing Piazzadispagna9 for your recent stay! It was a pleasure to host you. Looking forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards, Piazzadispagna9 Team
Read more
Dani Mac wrote a review Oct 2019
4 contributions
My partner and I stayed at the PiazzadiSpagna9 in September. We were so excited about our stay and as we were celebrating a very special occasion had high hopes for it. The hotel room was small but clean, the housekeeping was good and they have nice shower gels etc. but this is the minimum an expensive hotel should provide. It wasn’t really the room itself that we were upset with, it was the customer service and the management’s response to our very valid concerns. Our booking confirmation stated we had breakfast included but upon arrival we were told that this wasn’t the case…with no explanation or apology, just that they had “made a mistake”. We think it would have been nice to say sorry / offer some kind of compensation for the inconvenience of not providing breakfast promised in writing for 4 mornings as that is what an actually exclusive boutique hotel would do. The worst of all was being woken up in the middle of the night by guests checking in / drunkenly trying to find their rooms after a night out and being allowed to shout / play music / wander the halls with no regard for any other guests. The hotel is so tiny that it would be impossible to sleep through this. On one night people actually tried to get into our room while we were sleeping which I personally found really frightening. I tried to call reception and their “emergency number” when this was happening – but there was no response. I also WhatsApp messaged them as they had an active account but received no reply, even in the morning when I could see it had been read. It left us feeling very vulnerable and upset. On check out, I explained some of my concerns to the actual owner and she offered no apology, told us that PiazzadiSpagna9 is not a hotel (?!) and implied that we didn’t understand their “concept”. She was very defensive and accusatory in her way of speaking to us. We were really shocked to be honest as have never been spoken to in this way as paying guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from StefaniaG1929, Guest Relations Manager at Piazza di Spagna 9
Responded Oct 5, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Piazzadispagna9, and for appreciating our housekeeping service as well as our comfortable bed. Everything in our property has been specifically selected by our owner and interior designer, in order to give our guests the best and most hospitable experience possible. We are sorry to hear about your complaints. We are sorry that you were disturbed in the middle of the night. Of course what happened was not done on purpose: the rooms’ doors were mistakenly exchanged during a night check in. This is something that may happen in every hotel, unfortunately. The clients being checked in were genuinely happy and overexcited at their arrival, and consequently were probably a bit too loud. Nothing scary was happening! Concerning the emergency number, this is not on use when a member of the staff is present in the property. We understand you could have been awoken abruptly, but nothing bad was happening, and the staff was just outside of your room had you needed assistance. We would like to specify also, once again, that the breakfast was not included in the rate you selected. When a reservation is made through our booking system, an automatic confirmation is sent. In that confirmation there was no reference to breakfast. We usually send a second email with further details, just as a courtesy, before arrival, and in this case a member of our staff mistyped the confirmation details, adding the breakfast. We apologize again for this misunderstanding, but we are afraid we cannot provide a service which was not paid for. Being an unconventional property in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, providing unique art & design experiences is one of our strength and our company mission. It is sad for us when we don’t manage to transfer our concept to one of our guests. Thank you once again for your stay, and we hope to have the chance to host you again, in order to have the chance for you to reconsider your opinion about Piazzadispagna9. Kind regards, Piazzadispagna9 Staff
Read more
jhmcfarlane wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
My wife and I stayed in Piazza Di Spagna 9 for our honeymoon.  We heard about this hotel through a high-end travel agent so our expectations for this hotel were understandably high.  Given the occasion, we were happy to pay top prices in the hope of having a luxurious experience.  Unfortunately, our experience was ultimately extremely disappointing.   Firstly, I will say that there were some aspects of our stay that were positive and this is why I have not given a one-star rating.  The housekeeping was very good andthe bed was nice and comfy.   The biggest problem with the hotel is that it is not really a hotel at all.  It is essentially just an apartment with a semi-staffed reception desk.  There is no restaurant or barand it is located on the 3rd floor of a multi - use building. The owner told us herself that the Piazza di Spagna 9 "isn't a hotel" when it quite clearly states that it is "an Exclusive Boutique Hotel" one on their website (attached pic). A problem arose as soon as we arrived. I had emailed the hotel in advance with enquiries about the breakfast, as my wife has important dietary requirements.  I received no response from the hotel but assumed that this was not going to be a problem.  On arrival, we were told that there had been a mistake and that breakfast was NOT included in the price we had paid (despite the fact that my confirmation email from the hotel indicated that breakfast WAS included). Because of my wife's condition, we like to research in advance where we can go to safely eat so she was understandably worried. We were subsequently told that the hotel couldn't provide any options for my wife to eatin any case. They asked us to go to a local café that they recommended instead (and pay for it ourselves).  The receptionist said that he had telephoned the café and that they were expecting us.  We did as instructed (already feeling let down) and found that the café had no idea we were coming and weren't very comfortable catering for my wife as they only had one suitable option on the menu.By this time we were concerned about being late for a pre-booked tour, sowe decided to stay for breakfast and paid the bill. It was 46 Euros which we found to be very expensive. Needless to say, we decided not to go back there on the remaining days.  On our final night, we were awoken at 2am by a disturbance in the hotel. We hoped that this would only be temporary and tried to go back to sleep.  A few minutes later, we were shocked when someone tried to come into our room! I shouted and they retreated but we were understandably very shaken by the experience.  Wetried contacting reception and telephoned the emergency out-of-hours number provided by the hotel but there was no answer.  We also sent several messages and never received a reply. The sound of guestsshouting and clattering around loudly in receptioncontinued.  The next morning, weraised this when checking out and the response we received was very unsatisfactory.  Firstly, the member of staff we spoke to (who we understand is the owner - Stefania Grippo) told us that the reason for the disturbance is that the guests who arrived late were from South America.  Unsure how to react to thisirrelevant information, my wife mentioned how frightened she had been in the night with all the commotion and people trying to get into our roomand that we had contacted the emergency number for help and received no reply.  We were told that there was a member of staff present at the hotel to check these guests in and therefore the number was not staffed,but when we called reception there had been no response either.  One would hope that if there was indeed a member of staff in the hotel, they would have asked the guests to keep the noise down.  Moreover, the attempt to access our room while we were in bed is unforgivable.  We received no apology - only a series of baffling and unsatisfactory excuses. In summary, I would recommend to other travelers that you do not stay Piazza Di Spagna 9.  You would be well advised to either stay at a hotel that is fully equipped with the facilities you expect when paying such high prices or a rent a self-catering apartment.  At least then you will hopefully not have intruders trying to come in at 2am!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from StefaniaG1929, General Manager at Piazza di Spagna 9
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Piazzadispagna9, and for appreciating our housekeeping service as well as our comfortable bed. Everything in our property has been specifically selected by our owner and interior designer, in order to give our guests the best and most hospitable experience possible. We are sorry to hear about your complaints. We are sorry that you were disturbed in the middle of the night. Of course what happened was not done on purpose: the rooms’ doors were mistakenly exchanged during a night check in. The clients being checked in were genuinely happy and overexcited at their arrival, and consequently were probably a bit too loud. Nothing scary was happening! Concerning the emergency number, this is not on use when a member of the staff is present in the property. We understand you could have been awoken abruptly, but nothing bad was happening, and the staff was just outside of your room had you needed assistance. We would like to specify also, once again, that the breakfast was not included in the rate you selected. Considering your wife's specific needs, we suggest you to organise next time in advance in order to allow the hotel to arrange a special menu accordingly. Having no breakfast included in your reservation the best we could do, as a last minute solution, was to send you to our affiliated coffee bar (which is one of the best of the area and for which no client has ever complained), providing a wide choice of dishes that could suit your wife's needs. Being an unconventional property in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, providing unique art & design experiences is one of our strength and our company mission. It is sad for us when we don’t manage to transfer our concept to one of our guests. Thank you once again for your stay, and we hope to host you again, in order to have the chance for you to reconsider your opinion about Piazzadispagna9. Kind regards, Piazzadispagna9 Staff
Read more
DKandSA wrote a review Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
We had one night to stay over in Rome. Piazzadispagna9 was a great choice. Right by the Spanish Steps but absolutely quite clean and well-designed suites. Our receptionists were American students and they gave us good local advice. I enjoyed my espresso sitting on my little balcony overlooking Roman roof gardens and reading my book. I’d stay here again. I booked early and got a good price - the rate card can be high otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from StefaniaG1929, General Manager at Piazza di Spagna 9
Responded Sep 28, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and for appreciating our location and service. It was a pleasure to host you in Piazzadispagna9 and hope to host you again very soon! We always do our best in order to offer the best experience possible to our valued guests, therefore we are always pleased to hear your sincere and positive comments. Thank you once again! Best Regards, Piazzadispagna9 Team
Read more
Dino F wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
Hospitality ✅ Class✅ Staff✅ Location✅ Value✅ Spotlessly clean ✅ Uniqueness ✅ Comfort ✅ Bed & limens ✅ I can go on and on . If there is someplace better to stay in Rome I would like to see it . Viviana and staff are wonderful hosts , from the moment we stepped into the reception area I knew we found a special place .Art gallery meets modern hotel . When in Rome this will always be my first choice .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from StefaniaG1929, Manager at Piazza di Spagna 9
Responded Sep 28, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure for us to know that our clients value the double soul of our property. Thank you for appreciating our service and staff hospitality as well as our Art & Design Gallery. You will always be more than welcome in Piazzadispagna9! Hope to host you again very soon. Warm regards, Piazzadispagna9 Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$214 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCampo Marzio / Centro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Piazza di Spagna 9
Which popular attractions are close to Piazza di Spagna 9?
Nearby attractions include Serra (0.08 miles), Spanish Steps (0.08 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Piazza di Spagna 9?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Piazza di Spagna 9?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Piazza di Spagna 9?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Piazza di Spagna 9?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Strega Nocciola, Trecaffè, and Amì Bistrot.
Does Piazza di Spagna 9 have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Piazza di Spagna 9 offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Piazza di Spagna 9?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Piazza di Spagna 9?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.1 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (1.4 miles), and Roman Forum (1.0 miles).