We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Yellow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Yellow
The Yellow
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,094 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed 4 nights. Rooms' cleanless is not enough. I've been stayed much better hostels. The room that I've stayed has no window. There is only one door that opens to small balcony. On the other hand location is very central, staff is helpfull, yellow bar is quite good and cheap.

Helpful?
Thank quadrifoglioverde22
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I had a great time staying at The Yellow. I was a solo female traveller and I stay in a 4 bed dorm. It was very nice and very tidy. Close to the main train station so easy to get anywhere in Rome. I have recommend this place to many of my friends who are also solo travelers and would... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelmcclea
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visited Italy in December . I was travelling with a group of friends . Location wise it is not too bad, since the train station is a 10 minute walk away. The staff is good and friendly. The toilets in the rooms are not very good though, which can be a source of inconvenience . On the whole a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DogsBabiesAliens
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hello Alien, Thank for you review ! We are happy that you enjoyed your staying with us ! Hope to see you next time ! cheers, Ernesta More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had booked to stay at The Yellow for 2 nights in August and were looking forward to it after reading reviews and seeing how nice it looked. For around €30 a night we assumed it would be good. However, once we checked in, we were shown to our room which was round the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin L
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This in a great location just down from Termini! The bar is open 24 hours and is definitely catering for the American college students doing their 'European tours' that are stopping in the hostel over the road, run by the same company. If you are looking to meet people, drink lots and eat some reasonably priced food then this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich W
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Rich ! Thanks for this nice review ! I'm glad you had a good time with us, at the hostel and the bar ! We hope to see you back among us soon. Cheers, Vasso More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel made my stay in Rome. There were so many people to meet there, either during the day or during the night. Travelling solo didn't seem like travelling alone. The rooms are nice, bathrooms are okay. You can bring your own stuff to the kitchen. They have a nice bar, organized parties and a lots of other activities to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alen K
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Alen, Thanks for this great review ! I'm glad you enjoyed the hostel and the bar that much ! We'll keep on doing our best to make your next stay even better and look forward to have you back among us ! Best regards, Vasso More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was a great place to stay after having a week on Sail Croatia. We had a private room for just the two of us and it was very spacious and even had our own bathroom. The bathroom ceiling was very low and my partner who is 6Ft was touching the roof with his head making it a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was very disappointing to see that the photographs were nothing like the hostel. The room we booked for 4 people was not available so they divided us 2 in one room and the other 2 in another room. The rooms smelled very bad. The staff was not very helpful, even though they tried. They have more people staying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank renewash
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

hey there, We are really sorry to hear that you had bad experience in our hostel. The only one reason probably why you been divided is that you booked 4 beds in dormitory for 4 people ( not QUAD) what does not guarantee staying all together. All the time we try our best to keep people in the same room... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay! Very clean (rooms, toilets and showers), welcoming, helpful staff, and a great location. I stayed in a mixed 4-bed dorm. Easy walk to termini station. Crazy bar, good social activities offered and the staff was friendly and fun. Special thanks to ciprian and eduardo!

Helpful?
Thank Emreabc
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi!! Thank you very much for your review!! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers!! Coni More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were very helpful and friendly, great atmosphere and perfect location. We stayed for 3 nights, rooftop BBQs during the day and a cool dance floor area down stairs at night. Would definitely recommend this party hostel to my mates.

Helpful?
Thank RichGy
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi RichGy ! Thanks for this awesome comment, it means a lot to our crew ! We're glad you enjoy your stay among us and hope to see you back at the Yellow (hostel and Bar) soon ! Take care, Vasso More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

353 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Six Mix Ensuite Room (30)
Viewed
Six Mix Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#122 of 1,284 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#57 of 995 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 995 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#50 of 995 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - FREE iPad hire (30 min/ day)- BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 6 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- Safe paid overnight luggage storage (long term)- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 1.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are located in our ANNEX building, just a few foot steps away and are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Yellow

Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $37 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay