We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Yellow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Yellow
The Yellow
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Just stayed at The Yellow, for a few nights, and the accommodations are very nice, neat and the staff have great customer service; the best part however is the tours led by Marco. He knows a lot about Rome and if he doesn't know something he is honest about it. A very good tour for the price and even gives... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josh G
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Travelled here with friends in February 2011. We had a lot of fun in the dorm room and in their bar/cafe downstairs. A great atmosphere for international travellers and a great location too. Must mention the honey & banana french toast we had for breakfast. Overall, an awesome stay!

Helpful?
Thank Ankit G
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have very mixed feelings about this hostel. We had a private twin room. The hostel has awesome facilities. The bar was great and also served food. You could get an awesome breakfast there for about 5 euro. They offered different tours and classes and overall it was a really fun place. HOWEVER the room was awful. I really regret... More 

Helpful?
Thank alisha_preest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend on our first holiday together, both of us being 18, we felt safe and well welcomed into the hostel environment, which I must add was the best compared to the other hostels in European cities that we subsequently visited, and also the best priced! The staff were friendly and helpful to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maddy C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last may as a 23 year old girl traveling through Europe by myself and I really loved it! Great location, 5 minute walk away from the train station and so everything else was in easy walking distance but it was tucked away off the main streets so that there isn't much/any noise in the evenings. I'm a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthie H
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Ruthie ! Thank you so much for this great review, it means a lot to our crew ! We are glad you had such a good experience at the Yellow Bar and Hostel and that you enjoyed our location, facilities and activities ! We hope to see you back among us very soon ! Best regards, Vasso More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The facility is poor. Cheap overnight stay I guess. Staff looked very tired, very unfriendly, sometimes rude. I felt so welcomed when I hit the second hostel in Venice since I checked out the yellow hostel. The yellow hostel was horrible.

Helpful?
Thank Eojin L
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying at this hostel made my Rome experience so much better! It is a sprawling place with three seperate buildings, but the bar at night is great with live karaoke and other things going on. I met a lot of lovely people here and the staff are fun and easy going. Very easy to make friends at this hostel. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Matthew ! Thank you for this awesome review ! I'm glad you had fun with us and you enjoyed the bar, the events and the hostel ! It means a lot for our crew :) We hope to see you back very soon ! Vasso More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In the top 2 best hostel experience I've ever had. The Yellow is a place where people just get down and party. We didn't even go out for a night out in Rome because the two bars downstairs and the dungeon dance floor were going off every night. Made some great friends. The rooms are spacious and showers are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick C
theyellow, The reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Nick ! Thanks you so much for this awesome review ! It's always a pleasure for our crew :) We're happy you enjoyed your stay, our bar and our dancefloor ! We hope to have you back very soon, cheers, Vasso More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location, set up and atmosphere at this hostel were perfect for the younger crowd, partiers and the more mellow alike. Very convenient and easy to find with a train station and shops close by, friendly staff willing to go the extra mile, clean rooms (with a variety of set-ups/options to choose from) with good security measures and fittings, spaces... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauras2393
theyellow, Reception at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hi Laura ! Thank you for this great review ! I'm glad you enjoyed our location, our rooms and that you had a good time among us ! We hope to have you and your good vibes back among us very soon ! Best regards, Vasso More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the reception and the British guy who checked us in was fab, a really nice guy and very helpful. Unfortunately the other reception guy I spoke to, I think he was Spanish, or Italian was a bit rude. Rooms are good, basic but clean and generally just a nice hostel. Also quite social and their bar is great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank freya b
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Six Mix Ensuite Room (30)
Viewed
Six Mix Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#283 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#42 of 1,014 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#52 of 1,014 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,014 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - FREE iPad hire (30 min/ day)- BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 6 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- Safe paid overnight luggage storage (long term)- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 1.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are located in our ANNEX building, just a few foot steps away and are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Yellow

Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $33 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay