We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yellow

Certificate of Excellence
Via Palestro 49, 00185 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Yellow
The Yellow
Panoramas (3)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a convenient and economical place to stay. It's only a few blocks from the Termini station so travel around town is easy. You can also catch the bus to the airport for a really low rate (check the timetables and don't take a cab). Back to the hotel - I've seen the bigger rooms and I'm not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara P
Reims, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved my night in the yellow!!! I had 24 hours in Rome and was travelling solo, best hostel to finish my Eurotrip. -The staff was super cool and nice, at the time there was a girl from Bahamas and a guy from Hawaii, pretty awesome and they were really helpful! -The dorm was paradise for a hostel, new, clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaZu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Yellow from 27th - 30th Dec 2015 in a female only dorm. It was easy to get to from the Airport, and about 5 - 10 minutes walk from the train station. The directions on their website helped. It was clean and you get a safe for your valuables as well as lockable storage for your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
Paulinia, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

(+) good location, close to train station (+) breakfast was not expansive, food was good and had a fair price (+) great pub (+) close to a good restaurant (+) comfortable matters (+) clean (+) there is a party in the bus that is really nice (-) there was a really disrespectful security who tried to pass his hand on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Letícia M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed four nights in a girls dorm. It was our first time to Rome and I would definitely recommend staying at The Yellow Hostel. The room was lovely,facilties and location were brilliant and so handy to get to and not far from attractions.The staff were all very helpful and good craic. Meet lovely people while staying... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Áine O
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the bests hostels I've ever stayed in Europe! Great location, friendly staff, awesome bar and comfortable bedrooms. It is close to a train/metro/bus station so you can get to every corner of the city very easily.

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo C
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for four nights in a 6 bed female dorm (room D21) in early January. It's a big place, with rooms in various buildings, and reception across the street in yet another building. The place was easy to find from Termini station using the directions in the email sent by the hostel. Check in was easy and quick. 10... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie N
João R, Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hello Carrie! First of all let me thank you for your review. Thanks for the positive things you said about us and also for the things you didn't like that much so we can improve every single day :) From all the topics you've mentioned about our service, I'd like to say something about you've said regarding the lack of... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of my contiki tour. The room was tidy but the bathroom could have done with some more cleaning (stains on the bottom of the shower). It was in an alright location but I probably would stay somewhere else next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To start with this hostel is one of many we stayed on on our 15 day European trip and it was one of our favorites. The bare staff is amazing and the walking tour we took with Tom was he best 20 euros we spent on our trip. We stayed one night in a 4 bed room. If you plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebarboza805
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the ABSOLUTE worst hostel I have ever stayed at. I've been to 10+ hostels in 10 different counties and this has been THE worst. Not only is it unreasonably expensive, the staff is disgustingly rude. Every time I asked them a question I felt that I was a burden to them. They constantly rolled their eyes at us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sana A
João R, Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Dear Sana, I'm really sorry you feel like that towards us. As you can read in previous reviews left by other guests staff is definitely one of the best features we have at The Yellow. However there's no excuse about the fact you had one of our receptionists rolling his eyes. Possibly the staff member you're referring to was not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

315 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Six Mix Ensuite Room (30)
Viewed
Six Mix Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Yellow Hotel
The Yellow Hotel
#397 of 1,271 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Relais 6
#25 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#198 of 885 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#8 of 885 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay