We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Mari 1

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Mari 1
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

i stayed in this hotel for six days in march 2015 it was the most comfortable hotel i ever visit, nice staff good service helpful and interesting people, they insist to help you even in your private needs ,i did enjoy my stay in hotel mari 1 , i new the staff of hotel mari 2 talked to the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mahmoudshams
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got there at 11pm as indicated on our sheet but there was no one at reception - after climbing 4 flights (which are actually 8 flights) up to the hotel. We didn't have a italian sim so had to find a place to call the number given on the little sheet on the door which just said Hotel Mari... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Bananna24

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in July and for the price I was happy. Yes, reception is on the second floor and rooms are on the fourth, so expect to climb quite a few steps. I personally found the staff helpful and pleasant but there were a couple of negatives. Although connecting to the hotel wifi network was easy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanB007
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing our hotel Mari 1 for your stay in Rome. We are very glad to know that you appreciated the hotel and also the good value for money. We also thak you for your suggestions : we will do our best to fix them. It will be a big pleasure... More 

Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I went to the hotel after climbing 4 flights of stairs, they said they could not charge my credit card when I booked online and I had to pay cash for the booking. This is a scam. They charge everyone twice!! NEVER go to this hotel. When I said I did not have cash, they kicked me out and... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank OnceSaw_k
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but I am pleased to point out something very important: sometimes it happens that credit cards give problems, and in fact there has happened more than once that we are being denied the transaction but in fact the money was taken anyway. I want to emphasize, however, that all the guests that has happened this... More 

Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First and foremost,we booked for 4 nights and knew we are goin to climb the stairs but never thought 4 flights of stairs. People with heavy lugguages,lack of stamina and with small kids,Iwould not recommend this hotel. Though it was cheap but staying with open windows at night,is a nightmare. People patronising at those restaurants down below are annoying because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LaiMS54
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we appreciate very much. It is in fact the hotel has no lift and for technical reasons we were not able to install it yet but we are working on that and there are good possibilities. we are pleased that you found the hotel clean and the breakfast satisfactory. We are pleased that you appreciate the... More 

san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First and foremost, if you don't like going up 4 flights of stairs with all your luggage, DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are on the 4th story and it's very tough to carry your luggage up that high. Secondly, you have to check in at the other Hotel Mari 2, which is probably a 15 minute walk, with all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lex025
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

dear girls thank you for your review. We appreciate your advice that no doubt will help us to improve. We are pleased that the rooms are to your liking and they were clean. We are pleased that the staff was friendly and courteous. In addition, we are pleased that the strategic location did you allow to move freely around the... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

We were forced to use Mari 1 since the manger at Mari 2 told us there were some problems with our booked rooms at the hotel. The manager at Mari 1 was unpolite, rude and bad at English. Our rooms were not clean, breakfast (which we had paid for) was only available at Mari 2 (a 10 minute walk), one... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christian C
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 1, responded to this review

Dear Christian, we apologize for the inconvenience of the room. Sometimes it happens to be overbooked and we do our best to accommodate our guests. If you had presented the problem of wifi and hot water we had immediately took the remedies. However, thanks to your review we have improved the service day by day. More 

Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I couldn't even imagine places like this exist in Rome. I would never call it "Hotel". The info & pictures provided at their website are outrageous lie. We found all details step by step: no lift, no internet connection, dirthy, TV doesn't work, towels are not provided (I had to go down to ask for them), the "double" bed consists... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Nik0letta
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Firstly, on arrival we had to carry our suitcases up 127 steps of concrete to get to our room. Our key wouldn't open the door so we had to get a spare from the rude manager! The room smelt, the 'double' bed was 2 single beds put together and the bunkbeds wern't stable at all. Breakfast consisted of dry pastrys... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jasminwalsh
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The price that we paid for the room was really not worth it. No elevators. The receptionist was really unfriendly. The fan and lights in the room were not working.In short, that was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

Helpful?
2 Thank cuk3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Antico Casale
#1,054 of 1,287 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms Trani
B&T Rooms Trani
#943 of 1,287 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#274 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#282 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Esquilino
Ariana B&B
Ariana B&B
#2,443 of 3,639 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 1

Address: Via Palestro 55, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Mari 1 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mari 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay