We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte

Via della Fontanella di Borghese 56, 00186 Rome Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (2)


#1,879 of 4,432 in Rome
Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte is a luxury bed and breakfast situated in the historic Palazzo Ruspoli, where Napoleone III, former Emperor of France, resided with his mother Hortense de Beauharnais, former Queen Consort of Holland. Conveniently located in the Historic center of Rome, you will be minutes away from the Spanish steps and other renowned monuments in Rome, and a small step away from the boutiques of well-known luxury brands on Via dei Condotti.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
337Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
206Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
66Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
ImTheDad wrote a review Sep 2020
Maidenhead, United Kingdom149 contributions28 helpful votes
The Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte is well located. But that's about all I can say. The rooms and accommodation do not meet the description and photos provided by the owners. The Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte must have been grand at one point - unfortunately it is NOT anymore. In the Princess Pia suite, the 2nd bedroom in one of the suites amounts to a single bed put in an old closet. There is no air conditioning to that 2nd bedroom either. It was 38 degrees Celsius in Rome and about 42 degrees in that little bedroom. The person staying in the small bedroom (e.g. the closet) has to walk through the master bedroom if they need to use the bathroom. This isn't workable during the night and affords no privacy. You can see from the photos that I've added that the 2nd bedroom is really a closet with a bed. In the Emperor Bonaparte Suite, the second bedroom isn't a bedroom at all, it 2 Chaise Lounges in a hallway. There is no air conditioning in that room and the anyone staying in the main room has to walk through the "2nd bedroom" to use the bathroom. The listing makes out that the suites are open and spacious. In reality, there is a series of higgledy piggledy hallways that you have to navigate. Even to get to the suites, guest are expects to navigate a set of concrete stairs that opens at the end of one of the narrow corridors. The photos on Booking.com are very misleading. One might suspect that they are intentionally that way. The photos only show the grand rooms but not the details nor the layout. The smaller rooms, the corridors and the small bathrooms aren't pictured on the listing. The grand rooms themselves are faded and worn. The air conditioning is marginal and one many of the big room don't have any air-conditioning. On top of that the furniture was sagging, the wood floors creaked when you walked on them and the receptionist tried to extra a late arrival charge from us even though we were actually there at a normal arrival time. I asked for a refund - which the hotel refused. We are now issuing a chargeback with our credit card to get our money back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
Response from Maria Pia Ruspoli, General Manager at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
Responded Sep 2, 2020
The Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte is an historical palace of the 1500 century located in the center of Rome. Where the young Emperor Bonaparte resided with her mother Ortensia of Beauhrnais, queen of holland, that commissioned the execution of frescoes over the ceilings in all the hotel property. We have just 3 suites: 1_princess pia suite: is the smallest one( relatively small since is over 75 mq) Where there is a large double bed and two others singles rooms with two single beds. Obviously the room has air conditioning. 2_emperor Bonaparte suite: is over 100 mq with a large covered and uncovered terrace, a bedroom with a King size bed and a second room with two single beds and a large bathroom. 3_the suite queen hortensia: is our most important suite where the historic frescoes of Napoleon are and is over 90 mq. In order to have more information of the suite please visit our website: www.residenzaruspolibonaparte.com I am sorry that the customers were not happy, we also offered them a free upgrade in our best suite but they refused. It is not for everyone to live in a museum where art and history are confused with “ On top of that the furniture was sagging, the wood floors creaked when you walked” Just to say that the wood floor is from 1800 and his very historical and is in all of the most important Palace of Rome. Surely the customer would have preferred to stay in modern rooms usually not bigger than 25 mq with modern led lights and new floors in one of the many hotels and hotels chains and not in a historical boutique hotel. Thank you, Maria Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
Read more
MMB wrote a review Nov 2019
30 contributions48 helpful votes
I read a few of the reviews before staying here and was a bit worried given some of the negative comments. In the end I was extremely pleased and relieved to have a fantastic experience there and would recommend staying there if visiting Rome. My only caveat is that you cannot treat this as a normal hotel - it is not. It is basically a unique Airbnb with the added services of a concierge and breakfast. You do get to live in a truly authentic palace apartment, owned and still being occupied by the Principessa (who we met by chance and was very graceful and delightful company). Hotels will always be slightly artificial in their claims of offering palace like living and surrounded by marble everything. In the Rezidenza Ruspoli you get the original, there is nothing Disney World fantasy in this place. This does mean you wont get the perfect super turbo pressure water in the shower or 24 hour room service, but in my opinion, this is not why you stay here. Stay here for a unique experience to live in someones special home. And the bonus was our bedroom suite (the largest with 2 bedrooms) was considerably cheaper than similar quality/location hotels. Finally the staff and service was faultless, e-mail before arrival, perfect service while we were there and e-mail after our stay. There are many hotels which charge a lot more and offer less service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If travelling with children choose the larger suite with 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Aloofbob wrote a review Aug 2019
George Town, Grand Cayman72 contributions59 helpful votes
From the Napolionic and Handel history, to the 10 foot single-piece marble steps, to the corridor of busts and massive statues, picturesque corridors and staggeringly beautiful interior, this is an amazing place to visit. The lady in the lobby was very welcoming and showed us around. Location-wise it's perfect: literally about 300 yards from the Spanish steps and in the middle of everything. Downers: it was hot, and the single A/C unit in the main bedroom couldn't keep up (v high ceilings). The adjacent bedroom was worse. The bathroom (accessible only by walking through bedroom 2) had a minute shower unit with a head far too big for either the unit size or the available water pressure. The living area and patio, although view-less, would have been lovely places to sit except they're hemmed in by other buildings so there's no draft to mitigage the heat. Great place to stay for a night, but I'd rather move to a hotel for night no.2.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
2 Helpful votes
francescaiveson wrote a review Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
This palace is a delight to stay whilst in Rome. Our room was magnificent and quiet which was more important to us than toiletries and beverages. The location was wonderful, being in the heart of Rome and central to most tourist attractions. The cafe opposite The Lego Shop situated nearby was the best.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
kalivar wrote a review Nov 2018
Shropshire, United Kingdom36 contributions25 helpful votes
Excellent, luxurious b&b in the heart of Rome. It is full of history and you can really feel it around you. Breakfast can be requested. We stayed in the Ortenza suite which is stunning as the pictures, huge and spacious, felt like we were king and queen!! It also has an additional two single beds in an adjacent room. The Princess was lovely to meet and Riccardo and Alfonso were a great help and lovely too!! We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
1 Helpful vote
marycontheroad wrote a review Oct 2018
London, United Kingdom304 contributions138 helpful votes
I really wanted to love this hotel. The palazzo is a charming space, full of antiques and family heirlooms. It’s genteelly shabby, which only adds to its charm. Our suite, which was the price of a regular room at other hotels in the area, included 2 bedrooms (one windowless, and you have to walk through the other bedroom to get to the bathroom) one bathroom, a “terrace” (I put this in quotes, because it is really a kind of walled in patio with no view.), and a long narrow hall-like space. If you were a family with children, this would be a very good deal for this area. On the other hand, while the bathroom is nice, there is very little hot water and almost no water pressure. At best, my showers were lukewarm. The real problem is that there is almost no service and what service there is proved incompetent. When we arrived, we discovered that the invoice I had been sent was incorrect. We owed another 1000Euros on which I had not counted. To be fair, it was partly my fault for not checking the invoice more carefully, and they compensated us with one free night. On our second day, someone turned off the AC units in the bedroom. We could turn it back on in one bedroom, but not in the windowless bedroom, because there was no remote, though we had asked for it. Without the AC the bedroom was uncomfortably warm. We never got the remote, and then were told the AC was broken. Then suddenly it was back on: it had never been broken, someone had just turned it off, though the “manager” (?) insisted otherwise. (I put “manager” in quotes because there was only this one man to deal with on any issue.) We asked for two wine glasses and still didn’t have them three days later. Finally, we drank our wine out of water glasses. I asked this “manager” before we arrived to make restaurant reservations for us, which he finally did reluctantly, insisting that once they were made I could not change them. He gave us his number when we arrived and told us to call if we needed anything, but we tried to call three times: once he was eating, once he was sleeping, and once he was off. Most incredibly, he refused to call Rome taxi service and reserve a taxi for our departure, insisting that we had to use the hotel’s own car service, which would be expensive, or just go to the taxi stand, where two days earlier we had waited fifteen minutes for a taxi. (It’s very easy to reserve a taxi in Rome, as I discovered by doing it myself.) The hotel really needs to improve its service and to have someone in charge who is available and accommodating. Breakfast is included, but for this price I expect fresh juice, not Tang, and a better breadbasket- it was only full of sweet things. There is nothing in the minibar but two bottles of water, for which they listed a charge of 2Euro- though we were not charged for it. So, if you are willing to live with very poor service, this is a charming space in a great location for a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: The suite described above is the Emperor Buonaparte Suite.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Residenza R, Front Office Manager at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
Responded Oct 18, 2018
Thank you for choosing Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte. Extremely Apologise, we did not feel good at the service of our hotel but, Riccardo tried to do everything possible to make your stay fantastic & Charming. We have booked the restaurants that you asked that, However in order to book they asked for a credit card to confirm the reservation that the hotel personally provided for this, therefore we ask the customer that if he wanted to cancel he had to do it with a warning to avoid pay a penalty unnecessarily. We have always to put the 2 glasses(Long) beside of Tea Cups that glasses can be use in any kind of wine & beer. Might be you did not see that glasses( Front of your main bedroom) We provided the glasses of wine and water that you asked but the shape of the glasses was different such as long type, then asking for modern glasses that obviously, We were able to bring them later..... As for the taxi we only remembered that the taxi stop is located outside the hotel and that Riccardo would have accompanied the guests with the suitcases to take it or we could Reserved a hotel taxi obviously with a higher price as it is a different service.If you caught the cab outside the building thats Local Taxi Stand & its normal to wait 5 minutes because everyone wait same like that........ Eventually, I would like to say that, Please you do not wuckers & I m dam sure next time, you would be our guest an again & must give to you perfect Hospitality and more satisfying service.
Read more
Lauren830 wrote a review Jul 2018
Seattle, Washington59 contributions17 helpful votes
My son and I spent 2.5 hours today trying to get hold of someone at this property and no one picked the phone. By chance, we met some residents and were provided another phone no. to call and no one answered. We then met a lady that manages this property and was told that we have no reservations when in fact I’ve my booking confirmed since Feb. 2018. The booking confirmation had 2 addresses and we went to the 2nd one and rang the bell and no one answered. We had to call our travel agent again and our agent put us in a lower class hotel. We spent another 4 hours on the phone to request our travel agent to change our hotel to one that is more comparable to our original. As I’m writing this review, it is 1:45 am in Rome and I’m still waiting for a final confirmation from our travel agent. There are other better hotels in the area. I would not recommend booking here. It’s a hassle and unless you want to spend 8 hours figuring out where to stay, I would recommend you look elsewhere. This is not worth it! I’ve travelled around the world, ans this is the worst experience I have. This place has no receptionist and no one answering phone numbers they have listed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Rebecca L wrote a review Jun 2018
Singapore5 contributions1 helpful vote
I am terribly disappointed as we booked a room at the Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte. They advertise it on pictures like being part of the hotel, but our suite ended up being an apartment 10 min walk away from where we thought we’d stay. Noisy at night too. The property is not even managed by the same people, and for breakfast you don’t have access to the hotel. Of course they tell you to read the fine prints, but when I book online under a property I expect to be hosted at that property, not at a different one, by different management etc. Very poor management from the hotel. I will definitely not book ever again and will not recommend the place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
Taks Y wrote a review Feb 2018
Eindhoven, The Netherlands23 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful Pallazo. Owned by princess Ruspoli. It’s really a Royal feeling. But no hotel services. More a very luxurious B&B. Friendly servant, Riccardo. Compliments for Riccardo. We paid €1440,00 for 2 night, we asked for a extra bottle of mineral water. And they charged use €5,00 for that bottle. That wasn’t necessary and unfriendly of course... we had the “Ortensia Suite”. It was incredible big, romantic and still in original state. Fantastic. It was a once in a lifetime experience that everybody should try. But that’s it. One more thing.... it’s a great location. You can walk to every great monument.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled
Mark N wrote a review Jan 2018
Townsville, Australia37 contributions28 helpful votes
There were several issues I had with our stay at this property. The property is advertised as being for royalty, however I cannot imagine many princesses enjoying their stay here. This is the email I sent to the hotel, followed by their reply - which I feel is an unsatisfactory response. My email: Hello, I just wanted to leave some feedback regarding our stay at the hotel in January. While the room was beautiful, there were a few issues. We expected a little more attention to detail given the cost of the room.  - The cups, saucers and spoons were removed after we first used them and not replaced.  - There was some rubbish (used sugar packets etc) on the shelf above where the instant coffee was placed.  - The heated towel rack in the bathroom did not work.  - Toilet paper rolls were stacked on the side of the bath, we then saw a toilet paper roll holder sitting (in its packaging) in the bathroom drawer.  - The room was not serviced until at about 4pm in the afternoon, we were asked to go and come back when we arrived at this time to allow the servicing to finish. Unfortunately these issues impacted what would have otherwise been a pleasant stay.   Regards Their response: Dear Mr xxx, Thank you for your email. We appreciate your feedback and we unsure that next time we will pay more attention to the details. If you book directly with us next time we will guarantee a discount of 5%. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte. Kind regards, xxx Reception
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled
$208 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
Which popular attractions are close to Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Nearby attractions include Serra (0.3 miles), Spanish Steps (0.2 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bono Bottega Nostrana - Piazza di Spagna, CiPASSO Bistrot, and Pane e Salame.
Are pets allowed at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.2 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (1.2 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).