We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome Italy
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$253
View deal
Hotels.com
$197
View deal
Expedia.com
$197
View deal
Travelocity$197
Orbitz.com$197
Trip.com$248
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (385)
Room & Suite (193)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Stendhal
Updated 10/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#105 of 1,377 hotels in Rome
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
This 4 star superior hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city center of Rome is only a few minutes walk from attractions such as Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Rome's best shops are also on your doorstep. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
285Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
136Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1617Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 915
  • 496
  • 120
  • 43
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jane wrote a review Sep 2022
Fort Lee, New Jersey2 contributions
Great location walking distance to almost all attractions, right next to train station, bus stops in the front of the hotel! Excellent staff and service! Our room has a balcony and nice street view. Although it is on a busy street, it is very quite once the windows are closed. Highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer, It is really a pleasure for us to read the commentary on your stay. I personally want to thank you for having found the time and the words to describe your impressions about us and our hotel. I'm glad you could appreciate the comfort of our luxury, sober and refined, where the generous spaces create a warm and welcoming environment like that of your own home. We are also grateful for the words spent on our staff, who obviously knew how to meet your expectations and needs. Everything we do, what distinguishes us, is only the attention to detail, like the real hosts who welcome not just guests, but welcome friends, to let him live a warm and harmonious experience away from the impersonality and monotony of places already seen. We will be happy to welcome you here again, to start from where we left off. Best wishes, Franco Ascoli – HS ROME
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mattijs P wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
An ideal location and hotel to scout and enjoy the city of Rome, while making use of their friendly services. The comfy big rooms make for a perfect rest, while the fabeolous Break-fast does the rest to get started on your adventure. Thanks for the great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Proprietario at Hotel Stendhal
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your review. We are happy that he appreciated the friendliness of our staff, the attention to detail that characterizes our home. Our goal is not only to provide a service of excellence, but to be able to go beyond the expectations of our guests. Therefore, reviews like yours are the most important reward for us. With the hope of welcoming you soon, we offer our best regards. Franco Ascoli - PR manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E Simons S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Excellent Very fries, clean and comfortable. Close to all sites. Will recommend to others . Hotel staff recommended restaurants and booked them for our evening meals. They were excellent. Breakfast was well presented.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer, It is really a pleasure for us to read the commentary on your stay. I personally want to thank you for having found the time and the words to describe your impressions about us and our hotel. I'm glad you could appreciate the comfort of our luxury, sober and refined, where the generous spaces create a warm and welcoming environment like that of your own home. We are also grateful for the words spent on our staff, who obviously knew how to meet your expectations and needs. Everything we do, what distinguishes us, is only the attention to detail, like the real hosts who welcome not just guests, but welcome friends, to let him live a warm and harmonious experience away from the impersonality and monotony of places already seen. We will be happy to welcome you here again, to start from where we left off. Best wishes, Franco Ascoli – HS ROME
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberly L wrote a review Sep 2022
Orland Park, Illinois41 contributions9 helpful votes
The description given on the website is actually true. It IS close to Trevi Fountain and The Spanish Steps along with quite a few other things nearby such as great restaurants and a wonderful gelato shop across the street. The rooms are well appointed and OH SO CLEAN! The only complaints I would have would be the small size of the room and the view out the window of a "sketchy" alley. I would also like to say that the front desk staff, bellhop and the breakfast staff were extremely nice and helpful. Serjay (sp?) at the front desk was particularly helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer, It is really a pleasure for us to read the commentary on your stay. I personally want to thank you for having found the time and the words to describe your impressions about us and our hotel. I'm glad you could appreciate the comfort of our luxury, sober and refined, where the generous spaces create a warm and welcoming environment like that of your own home. We are also grateful for the words spent on our staff, who obviously knew how to meet your expectations and needs. Everything we do, what distinguishes us, is only the attention to detail, like the real hosts who welcome not just guests, but welcome friends, to let him live a warm and harmonious experience away from the impersonality and monotony of places already seen. We will be happy to welcome you here again, to start from where we left off. Best wishes, Franco Ascoli – HS ROME
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michaelangelo wrote a review Sep 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
Great hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful if you need anything (always smiling). The breakfast is fantastic and they are very attentive. Our room was lovely and the location is very central with great restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Customer, It is really a pleasure for us to read the commentary on your stay. I personally want to thank you for having found the time and the words to describe your impressions about us and our hotel. I'm glad you could appreciate the comfort of our luxury, sober and refined, where the generous spaces create a warm and welcoming environment like that of your own home. We are also grateful for the words spent on our staff, who obviously knew how to meet your expectations and needs. Everything we do, what distinguishes us, is only the attention to detail, like the real hosts who welcome not just guests, but welcome friends, to let him live a warm and harmonious experience away from the impersonality and monotony of places already seen. We will be happy to welcome you here again, to start from where we left off. Best wishes, Franco Ascoli – HS ROME
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scottmck1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
“Just back from a lovely trip to the Eternal City and this time we decided to splash out by staying at the tried and tested Hotel Stendhal. Booking directly with them via their website we were treated to first class service and accommodation. Everything went smoothly from the slick check in to the super fast wi-fi in both the rooms and common areas. Fabrizio and Suraj were particularly helpful when it came to restaurant recommendations and they also helped us organise our taxi to the airport. We plan to come back next Summer 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Customer, It is really a pleasure for us to read the commentary on your stay. I personally want to thank you for having found the time and the words to describe your impressions about us and our hotel. I'm glad you could appreciate the comfort of our luxury, sober and refined, where the generous spaces create a warm and welcoming environment like that of your own home. We are also grateful for the words spent on our staff, who obviously knew how to meet your expectations and needs. Everything we do, what distinguishes us, is only the attention to detail, like the real hosts who welcome not just guests, but welcome friends, to let him live a warm and harmonious experience away from the impersonality and monotony of places already seen. We will be happy to welcome you here again, to start from where we left off. Best wishes, Franco Ascoli – HS ROME
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clara H wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We had a wonderful 2 night stay here at the end of July, reception staff were very helpful especially Fabrizio. The location is unbeatable with all of the major attractions within walking distance. The Spanish Steps is also a great place to hang out at night and people watch! We will definitely be back in 2023!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Buongiorno We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy that he appreciated the friendliness of our staff, the attention to detail that characterizes our home. Reviews like yours are the most important reward for us. With the hope of welcoming you soon, we offer our best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dragoș C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Very hot room (at the last floor) , very small room, bad shower, ants and little bugs in the bathroom. Breakfast was very poor. As a plus, great position for visiting Rome, clean bed sheets. I won't come.back to this hotel. Don't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Buongiorno We would like to thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read about your bad experience. We took note of all notes, and today we did a detailed check, double to the normal routine room check, of the rooms at the top floor. Our waitress, our porter and our maintainer did not encounter problems with air conditioning, shower or insects and ants in the bathroom. I hope you were not wrong about the Hotel. We take note of all the reviews to improve our services and our cleaning procedures, sincerely this time we can not find what to improve having not found any problem, although we will be more vigilant. Regarding the size of the room, during the stay you could have asked to change room, we would certainly have found a solution to make your stay better. With the hope of giving you another welcome soon to offer a different review of our property, we offer our best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Poorya Kashani wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada25 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel is located in the heart of the downtown; its location is its most prominent highlight. Our room was so small and not the cleanest. There were some disgusting spots on our towel. The staff were super nice and friendly and the breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Buongiorno We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff, our services, this is the attention to detail that characterizes our home. I'm sorry I didn't know before about the small problems occurred in the room, we would have intervened immediately to solve them. Trying to offer the best care is our daily research. As well as the room, we could have changed to a different room. With the hope of welcoming you soon, we offer our best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chuck wrote a review Aug 2022
Peoria, Arizona1 contribution
The hotel was very luxurious and the personnel were very professional and highly commendable, especially Suraj. Excellent location, fine dining everywhere. Centrally located, great breakfast on the morning. Travis contain and Spanish step close by and very safe area
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from F A, Marketing at Hotel Stendhal
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for your review. We are happy that he appreciated the friendliness of our staff, the attention to detail that characterizes our home. Our goal is not only to provide a service of excellence, but to be able to go beyond the expectations of our guests. Therefore, reviews like yours are the most important reward for us. With the hope of welcoming you soon, we offer our best regards. Franco Ascoli - PR manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stendhal hotel rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCentro / Colonna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Stendhal
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Stendhal?
Nearby attractions include Trevi Fountain (0.3 miles), RomeOperaConcerts (0.2 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Stendhal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Stendhal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Stendhal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Stendhal?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Stendhal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pinsitaly Trevi, Ristorante Crispi 19, and Gelateria Valentino.
Does Hotel Stendhal have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Stendhal offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Stendhal located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Rome.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Stendhal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Stendhal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Stendhal?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.8 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (1.7 miles), and Colosseum (0.9 miles).