We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rome
Post
Inbox
Search

Hotel Galles

Save
Viale Castro Pretorio 66, 00185 Rome Italy
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (223)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located for both the tourist & business traveler; via Veneto & Villa Borghese are within easy walking distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Free breakfast
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
135Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
556Reviews6Q+A22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 213
  • 146
  • 81
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel was accepting reservation on online channel very well knowing that it was going into planned refurbishment and there was no intimation given to me either by the hotel or MMT. Upon arrival I was asked to pick up my luggage to go to another hotel which was absolutely horrible. The careless attitude of the hotel staff was the last nail in the coffin, instead of being apologetic, he said, it is what it is, you can't help it. Appalling really!
Read more
Despite booking, and paying in full,with the hotel directly, they failed to make contact advising they would be closed and therefore unable to accommodate us. First we knew of this was upon arrival and reading the notice on the door! There was an extremely helpful and apologetic lady ‘manning’ the reception desk who re directed us to where we were then accommodated.
Read more
This hotel is within walking distance to the train station, so it has a nice location. We stayed one night and the front desk staff was very professional. Our room, the bathroom in the room and the breakfast area on the lower level were all quite dim. Our bathroom did have a wonderfully large counter to put our toiletries on, which was nice. However, we found it quite difficult to get the shower temperature to not be cool or very, very hot. And the sign on the bathroom mirror told us the water was not drinkable, so that concerned me since I had already brushed me teeth before seeing the sign. They did have cups in the bathroom, so that was a confusing message to send if you shouldn't be drinking the water. There weren't many outlets in the room, so I ended up leaving my phone in the bathroom overnight to charge. There's free wifi, but it continually kicks you off and you have to go through signing in over and over. Overall the place was clean, but I don't think I would stay here again.
Read more
Response from PrinceHouseHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Galles
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear Modernglow, we checked your remarks with our staff and we can assure you that water inside the bathroom is drinkable, therefore you found cups to rinse toothpaste in the room. We would like to have the chance to improve your opinion about us, in the meanwhile, best regards, Hotel Galles
Read more
We booked suit in this hotel in January for May, and obviously paid. When we arrived to the hotel on midnight, very tired, we have been informed that they don't have room which we have booked for us, and offered different small, dark and dirty. Finally, we were forced to find new hotel at 1.30 am. I was very upset and forgot my glasses case on the reception desk, asked on the morning if they have them, receptionist confirmed but on the evening the said it wasn't mine !!! I booked the hotel, because on picture looks very romantic and it was birthday present for my partner but instead was horrible experience. We checked feedback on booking com, and more people had similar problem, booking luxury room, which wasn't available when they arrived.
Read more
Response from PrinceHouseHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Galles
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear Joanna M., thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience in our Hotel. We apologize if you didn't like your accommodation during your stay in Rome. Please rest assured that we take in good consideration every single aspect you analized and that our quality control system is already at work to investigate more deeply about your complain. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for a more overall enjoyable stay. Best regards Hotel Galles
Read more
Kind of old hotel but very clean and cosy . I liked the room. Mostly the bathroom was very nice really! Everything was good. Friendly staff and great location, 5 mins to the station. A bit boring breakfast but tasty.
Read more
Response from PrinceHouseHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Galles
Responded Jun 2, 2019
Dear _B7135OA, thank you very much for sharing with us such a positive feedback. We would be really glad to have you back really soon, waiting to have you back, best regards, Hotel Galles
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
galles hotel rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCastro Pretorio / Termini / Centro / Esquilino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Galles
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Galles?
Nearby attractions include Basilica Del Sacro Cuore Di Gesù (0.2 miles), Piazza Dell'Indipendenza (0.2 miles), and Gli Obelischi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Galles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Galles?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Galles?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Galles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Fondi, Hosteria La Stazione, and Ristorante Pizzeria Andrea.
Is Hotel Galles located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Rome.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Galles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Galles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.6 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (2.6 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).