We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Grifo

Show Prices
#106 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grifo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 635: English reviews
Orlando, FL
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My daughter and I traveled to Italy (Rome, Naples and Sorrento) and stayed at the Hotel Grifo during our Rome stay. We had read reviews of many hotels before selecting Hotel Grifo and I think this research helped us understand that our room would be smaller and the hotel a bit different from a US hotel. With that being said,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FloridaTravelers1418
Portsmouth
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Toilet was used & unflushed prior to us arriving in the room !! Also the stairwell had no lights working making the steps very dangerous at night - we asked for these to be fixed on our first day & 3 days later they were still not working. Reception staff forgot to arrange an airport pickup so we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Snowy82
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that your stay here was not as you had dreamed and once again we are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the toilet. As explained to you by our staff it was a terrible mistake which has done immediately solved and you told us also that the rest of the room was cleaned. It is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed May 6, 2011

But on this occasion - small rooms, even smaller bathroom (couldn't turn around in the shower), breakfast not worth having and to top it all off we had money stolen from our room. My wife left her purse in room for 15 mins and when we came back $400 had been taken. How do we know this... we had just...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank slyboy54
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this negative comment, particulary about the breakfast which is usually always appreciated by our customers. Our hotel is located in an old buliding and the size of the rooms correspond to the normally one in the historic centers of Rome. About the stolen money, we are puzzled, because it is never happened in our hotel...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Hotel Grifo has two important things going for it. First, it's in a terrific location. The Colosseum and the ticket office to the Palatine Hill-Forum are about five blocks due south, while the Cavour metro station is even closer to the east (one stop to Termini and a transfer to Line A, which services the Vatican in one direction (six...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 83Stuart
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We booked this hotel based on recommendations on this site and our disappointment was so big when we got there. The pictures in the hotel's website have nothing to do with reality. The hotel looks like a hostel from the minute you walk into the lobby. Then, when you get to the room, it is so small with cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Avi1110
GrifoRome, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry for your disappointment other feedbacks say the opposite and also sorry because you did not give us time and possibility to let us change your mind  because you slept only one night. Our lobby is exaclty  what appears in the photos. Our hotel is not a hostel, it is classified as a 3 stars hotel from the Tourist Department....

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed in the hotel's annexe - a small apartment for 2 nights. 'Shabby chic' would be a polite way to describe it and it was a bit of a walk from the main hotel - so it won't suit some people. For example, it would be a long walk for breakfast if it was raining. But for us there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biscuitina
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We arrived and the staff was extremely friendly. We had arrived in Rome by plane around 9:30am and arrived at the hotel around 11am. The check-in time is not until the afternoon and they allowed us to check-in, drop off our bags, and wash up. This was gladly appreciated after 15 hours of travel time. Also, I would like to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KVP7458
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed April 5, 2011

this hotel is located not far rome's major sites . and lies in a quiet street with lots of resurants near. the staff was very helpfull and friendly, they did everything they could in order to make our stay enjoyable. the rooms are clean and comfortable , though it's recomend to ask in advance rooms with toilet rooms, some rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sliderTelaviv
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Location is great. you can walk to almost everywhere, and it's very close to public transportation so getting to and from the airport is easy. Price is unbeatable for a comfortable - clean place. Double-glass window provided very good sound insulation - very useful, since it can get noisy at night. Breakfast was ok for us (but expect continental style)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beewhy
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. It's a 5-10 min walk to the Colosseum and a 15min walk to the Trevi Fountain. It was very clean and the the staff were very friendly and provided any information required. The only downside to the hotel is that the pillows were like bricks! All in all -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

419 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Small Double Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Terrace (39)
Viewed
Standard Quadruple Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
654 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
250 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#95 of 1,291 in Rome
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#170 of 1,291 in Rome
530 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,291 in Rome
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighborhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighborhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighborhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: $99 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grifo staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grifo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“pick a room with balcony”
feifeichen, 3 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with a terrace”
rodpyke, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the fourth floor have easy access to the roof terraces”
390kellied, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“Very close to all the historical sites.”
PadhuP, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
“Close to the colosseum”
PortlyTravellers, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question