We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Plaza

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1058)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (563)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#640 of 1,275 hotels in Rome
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
3.3
Service
3.3
Value
2.9
The historic Grand Hotel Plaza has been featured in many movies. Set on Rome’s popular shopping street, Via del Corso, it has large elegant rooms with high ceilings and marble bathrooms. Although regularly modernized, the Plaza has preserved many of its original features and impressive interior design. The hotel's Terrazza dei Limoni, open all year round, is the ideal setting for a relaxing drink with great city views. An breakfast is served daily. All rooms and suites include air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Each of the suites has a private terrace with spectacular views of the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese, just a few meters away. You can even see St. Peter's Dome. This hotel is a 2-minute walk from designer shops along Via dei Condotti. The concierge can arrange taxis and airport transportation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
1840Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 513
  • 436
  • 321
  • 279
  • 291
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dalia Fathy Moussa wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Good location, but worst rooms ever. Employees are so friendly but yet deceiving. We checked in late night in connecting suites but unfortunately we found ants on the bed. We were moved to another 2 unconnected rooms until next morning. Then we were informed that we can't take the connecting room next to us. Then again we were moved to another connecting suites, but it was not nice as the unconnected ones. We asked for an iron and a board but they said they can't offer one. They stated it was for security reasons!!! Which we didn't understand, they said they can iron for us but of course with charge. We asked to have the iron for only one.hour and return it. They just wanted us to give the clothes to iron with charge cost although we can make it ourselves for free. Thus was so disappointing for us. Honestly, I won't recommend the hotel for anyone specially families.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Dear FDalia, Has been a pleasure had you and your family guests of our Grand Hotel Plaza. We are really surprised about your comment, as during your stay the entire Staff did the best to guarantee to you the best solution as possiblle. Moreover during your stay we never received a complaint about rooms or services. Rooms you occupied by the second night were exactly ones you requested in your reservation. Ones you recevied at the arrival for the first night it were an upgrade we offer you due an unexpected lastminute issue on the check-in day. The day after you received exactly rooms you booked. During your stay we were in full Christmas period with a high occupancy, this is the reason why we were unable to guarantee you upgraded rooms you had during the first night. Concerning the iron case, we want to let you know that it's forbidden by italian law to have it in the room for safety reason. We strictly follow all rules, procedures and standards in terms of Health and Safety in our Hotel. We offer a laundry service and an Iron Service 18hrs per day, you could ask our Housekeeping staff to iron your clothes and receive it back in the shortest time. We feel very sorry for your severe observation about families in our Hotel: we granted to you and your family full assistance and availability in order to satisfy all needs you required during your stay. We remain at your disposal for any furhter and again thanks for your stay at Grand Hotel Plaza.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trail10729264878 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The hotel is a huge historical palace in the best location in town, close to the Spanish Steps and Trevi's fountain.. The area is full of shops, bars, restaurants and it is very safe. Rooms are wide, cleaned and comfortable. I got a room with a huge terrace and it was amazing. Staff was helpful and professional. Everything was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Dec 12, 2023
Dear Trail, thanks for your kind words. We are really happy when guests appreciate our services, our rooms and our unique location. On daily basis the Hotel staff of all department is keen on guarantee an amazing experience at Grand Hotel Plaza for all travelers. We hope to welcome you again in the next future. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Inesa P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The most beautiful hotel in Rome. I highly recommend it to those who like sophistication and history. Very central and easy to get anywhere in Rome. Best place for those who loves shopping. Even thou it’s very central and it’s on the one of the most crowded streets inside the hotel is very private, safe and quiet. I would like to highlight working staff at the reception. Exceptional work ethics. They are very professional and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Dear 123inesap, thanks a lot for your review and your nice words, Has been our plesure grant you a lovely stay. As you told, when you are in the Grand Hotel Plaza the quiet and beauty are the characteristic of the Hotel. Thanks to nominee our Front Desk Staff, all of them are daily focus on guests needs and your kind words are an incentive to dedicate and guarantee a pleasent stay to all our future guests. We remain at your disposal, waiitng to receive you duirng your next trip in Rome. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maxcmo wrote a review Oct 2023
Miami, Florida6 contributions3 helpful votes
Location, friendly staff, and a beautiful lobby, breakfast areas would be the only positives for this 200 year old hotel. The location is amazing you cannot be in a more central spot and this hotel feels like you're eating breakfast in a room that was built 200 years ago very elegant and very beautiful. On the negative side the hotel staff said this hotel has not really been worked on since prior to the Covid epidemic and it is evident. The rooms are quite small it was tough for us to layout or luggage without tripping over it every night. The smells in the room are very very musty and old. This bothered my wife more than me but there was definitely an over powering smell in the room each time we walked into it. The bed was quite comfortable our shower was great and the AC worked perfectly. We had 2 terraces both with great views but the furniture was un-usable on the terraces the cushions were mildewy and dirty on one terrance and the other did not have any cushions. I am giving the hotel 3 stars because of the room smell and the dilapidated condition of what I would think used to be a 5 star hotel. They are in desperate need of a refresh.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Dear Maxcmo, thanks for your review and your kind words for our Front Office Staff (always dedicated to our guests) and our American Buffet Breakfast that every morning is prepared with attention and care by our Food & Beverage staff with fresh products typical of the italian tradition. The Hotel had 26 months closed period during and after COVID, but starting June 2022 is open and totally functional. Our Room Division Manager and our housekeeping staff are 24 hrs available to satisfy guest needs in case you could have any special request concern rooms and terraces. We remain at your disposal, happy to have you and your wife our guests again in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danielle D wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
Best location in Rome! Loved the beauty of this old world hotel and that it is privately owned. The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean. They have a great staff, who went above and beyond and a delish breakfast! Only place I will stay when in Rome!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Dec 12, 2023
Dear Danielled, thanks a lot for your kind words. We are happy you appreciated our rooms and their cleaness. Our Housekeeping staff is concentrated to guarantee maxiumum standards of satisfaction fro all our guests. As you wrote location is something unique, in the heart of historical centre. We are waiting to welcome you again during your next trip in Rome. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maura D wrote a review Oct 2023
Bray, Ireland1 contribution
It is not my usual practice to send feedback on my stay in hotels. Indeed, I have not traveled much in recent years and I am limited in that I don't speak Italian, which did give me pause. I need not have been concerned. Upon arriving on Friday, Oct 6th (a party of 5), we were greeted with such care and courtesy. Walking into the hotel itself with its very lovely reception area and the eye then drawn to the sumptuous lounge area behind, it was a feast of colour and beauty. Our party of 5 occupied 3 suites, all different and all beautiful. The following morning, upon entering the room assigned for breakfast, I was stopped in my tracks. Not only was the room lovely but the display of food, the opulence of what was on offer made me gasp. Then Emma came to my rescue, brought me a cappuccino, made me toast (as I had not figured out I could make it myself!), and ensured that I had everything I needed, all with grace and a smile. And so it was through the whole week. What a joy it was to stay in your hotel, its amazing location, its beauty but I think the crowning glory of your hotel is your staff. Each and everyone were wonderful, kind, helpful and warm. Thank you all, Maura Dunne
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Oct 17, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for finding the time to review our hotel and for the excellent rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff has made you feel at home. Thank you for your appreciation of our fabulous common areas, we are honoured to receive our Guests in such a splendid surrounding. We hope to welcome your again to the Grand Hotel Plaza! Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Farah wrote a review Sep 2023
Kuwait City, Kuwait2 contributions
It not my first time at this hotel but this time I’m very disappointed! Such a bad hotel! Old and overused furniture! There are NO complementary water, tissue paper, trash bin and mini bar in the room. The Bathroom door is broken the whole time was open. The best thing about this hotel is the location and the room size is great but I won’t stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Oct 2, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for finding the time to review our hotel, but we are so sorry to read such a bad review. We can understand that you are not used to historical places, therefore you call old what is of antique interest as our furniture. We are very surprised to read that there is no complimentary water in the room: we do offer the content of the minibar (how is that you did not see it?) free of charge to all our guests. We may also assure you that all the rooms are equipped not only with minibar and trash bin, but also safe deposit box, international satellite Tv, telephone and all the other 5 star standard settings and amenities. In case something was missing, it was sufficient to report the issue to our Front Office and we would have provided immediately. We thank you for having appreciated at least the location of the hotel and the size of our rooms. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
p0tter07 wrote a review Jul 2023
Chicago, Illinois380 contributions79 helpful votes
We were worried about our stay given some of the negative reviews but it was wonderful. In fact when we came back through Rome to fly home we canceled a booking elsewhere to stay here again. We had a family suite both stays which were enormous. One had three showers. The rooms were spotless. Easily walkable to Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Colosseum etc. Great restaurants and shopping right outside the hotel. Our first stay was during 100+ degree heat in Rome and the AC was great. On our second stay the AC was weak and they changed our room Immediately. Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved this place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the excellent rating provided. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the accommodation you have been assigned. The location of the hotel is really the best in town to reach all the attractions and to make shopping. Your appreciation of our staff is highly rewarding for the efforts everybody makes to grant a pleasant stay to our Guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon. With kindest regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alana wrote a review Jul 2023
Rome, Italy2 contributions
+1
Booked directly with the hotel which saved us a lot of money rather than going through an agent or online. The hotel itself is centrally located, the Spanish Steps are behind the hotel and about 5 minutes walk away, the Trevi fountain is about 10 minutes walk away and the Vatican is about 10 mins drive in a taxi which costs about 10 euros. There is also a handy Carrefore convenience store literally round the corner, perfect for grabbing a few essentials. The hotel itself is visually stunning on the inside, we were on the 5th floor in a suite with an adjoining room which was perfect for our 13 year old son. The rooms were constantly cleaned and refreshed, we had more towels than we knew what to do with! The furniture is comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep every night. As it was a big birthday of mine, we enjoyed a cake provided by the hotel in our room on arrival, which was delicious and full of alcohol..! Because we had an adjoining room we had 3 terraces facing the city which was amazing. We could see the Spanish steps and the dome of the Vatican Cupola which were beautiful lit up at night. The streets below were bustling and every night we had music drifting into the room and the terraces from other venues and singers on the streets. It created a magical atmosphere, some evenings were spent drinking wine on the terrace and just listening to the music below, fully absorbing the sounds of Rome The staff were all extremely helpful, everyone spoke perfect English and were friendly and attentive. I’m useless with names but the gentleman who greeted us was wonderful, patient and chatted with us about England. We have stayed in some very exclusive hotels around the world and this for us is rated in our top 5, we will definitely stay here again. The decor is sublime, classic and chic, the rooms are well ventilated with excellent air conditioning, the towels and robes are fluffy and soft, at night it was silent, the blinds made everything dark which I personally need and made it easy to fall asleep after long days of sightseeing. My only gripes were that the headboard in the adjoining room wasn’t attached to the bed itself, so it would bang against the adjoining wall when getting into bed, making it sound like someone was knocking on the wall and there weren’t enough tissues in the bathrooms. We had lots of little packets of things everywhere but boxes of tissues would have been very helpful. I had to keep getting toilet roll to blow my nose for my hay fever.. Everything is branded and a lot of time and care has been taken to create a relaxing, stylish stay for the guests. We didn’t have breakfast here, nothing against the hotel, we just don’t eat breakfast. It has been a pleasure to stay here and we would like to thank everyone for everything they have done to help make our stay as enjoyable as it was, we are sad to leave..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel - cheaper and better service Taxis are outside the door and cheap! A...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Plaza
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating and for your excellent and detailed description of your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have captured the essence of our strengths: perfect location, stunning interiors, hearty staff, all together to offer a unique and unforgettable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain Sincerely Yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rosangela S wrote a review Jul 2023
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico2 contributions
This has been my worst hotel experience ever. Other than its location (which is excellent) I have nothing good to say about this hotel. Even though it advertises as a five star luxury hotel, it is more like a mid-level motel. Furnishings are extremely old, dirty, smelly and falling apart. It feels like you are walking into the set of The Shining. Carpet and curtains are dirty and stuffy. Staff is not helpful at all. Air conditioner does not work properly. Bathroom DOES NOT HAVE A SHOWER. Bathtub is dirty, and DOES NOT HAVE A CURTAIN OR DOOR. Bathtub faucet splahes water all over the floor, creating a slip hazard and unpleasant experience for the next person using the bathroom. We were 3 people staying at the room and we consistently only got two towels. Called and asked for more (every day!) but did not get them until we wnet downstairs to retrieve them ourselves. Noise outside- particularly a person singing with a loud speaker right in front of our window every night until midnight - is unbearable. Were dismissively told by hotel staff that “night at Rome is just starting at 11 pm” and not to complain. Finally, we had a cascade inside our room with water dripping from thr ceiling and the air conditioner not working properly. Horrible, horrible stay. They charged us for a luxury hotel- we would have been better staying at a motel. Horrible experience. Would give it zero stars if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$431 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel rome, grand hotel plaza rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCampo Marzio / Centro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL PLAZA - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Rome, Italy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Plaza?
Nearby attractions include Serra (0.2 miles), Spanish Steps (0.2 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bono Bottega Nostrana - Piazza di Spagna, Ad Hoc Ristorante (Piazza del Popolo), and CiPASSO.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Plaza have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Plaza offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Plaza?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.