We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Hermitage

#1,140 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Hermitage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Grand Hotel Hermitage is in a quiet environment, strategically in a walkable distance to Parco de la Musica (a big conference centre in Rome that hosts big Events) and other attractions.On the top you get a clear view of the Vatican and the leaf green Rome, the Hotel is not tall enough to the see the bigger Rome. The front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erasmus B
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Erasmus B, thanks for your review, we will do our best to improve the issues you mentioned, we are glad that you enjoyed Rome. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

The hotel is very tired and for a four star it was far below our expectations. We asked for a room with a bath and when we arrived it wasn't. The hotel staff were very good and promised to get us one the next day as we'd arrived about 10.30pm. They did do this but the hot water ranged from... More 

Helpful?
Thank MargaretPBGS
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear MargaretPBGS, thanks for your review, we are continuously doing maintenance in order to improve the service, we are glad that our staff managed to fulfill the requests. We are sorry you didn't like our continental breakfast with a high variety of quality products. We will work even harder to improve the situation, we apologize for having been below your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, staff were unhelpful no welcome or information given about time when breakfast is served, room key given & off you pop. The rooms need updating, we had dirty marks on the wall, bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned, water dripping from the ceiling, no hot water on our first night, balcony... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dicko7849
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that you first review on this website is negative and about our hotel. We apologize for what you report, we will improve our staff's behavior and will solve the issues you mentioned in order to offer a better service. We are glad you liked the bed and our continental breakfast though. We are not in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Not so Grand!! Disappointing. Certainly not 4* standard. Room adequate but had faulty light fixtures and had to wait ages for the shower to warm up. It was quite cold in the breakfast room and the staff were not very helpful or particularly friendly. Quite a long way from central rome although there is a bus service nearby if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LindaC1957
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear LindaC1957, thanks for your review, we are glad to confirm that we fully correspond to the regional standard of the 4 stars hotels. We are sorry that the temperature in the breakfast room was different from your expectations and that the staff was not friendly enough, we will do our best to avoid these situations in the future. We... More 

Ischia Porto, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

we stayed here for a night because it was the nearest hotel to "campi sportivi" that my friend found. i must admit that it was the cheapest around that area but honestly it wasn't a 4star hotel at all!!! we had a room at the last floor...very old & very cold!!! it was also smelly like its not been used... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank yakult73
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that we were below your expectations. We are trying to mantain the temperature suitable for international clients, we are sorry it was colder than you expected. We will do our best to improve our service, we wish you will give us another chance to show our usual hospitality standards. More 

Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

When we arrived we were taken to a room with a smelly bathroom and unmade bed. Our next room had a broken shower, which I fixed with a hair bobble, only to find there was no hot water. Our 'Double' room was two beds pushed together which meant me and my partner basically slept in separate beds. There was no... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Mary R
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, we are sorry for the problem with the shower. At breakfast guest are supposed to ask the waiters for hot drinks, because they are made on the spot, as in most hotels, waiters did not avoid your table, they simply thought you didn't want anything, we apologize for the misunderstanding. Hotel's location is at Parioli area, one... More 

warrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel has obviously seen better days but is an ideal way to stay in Rome if you do not want to pay the prices charged for hotels in central Rome.There is a bus stop in close vicinity for regular bus service into Rome.Along the road there is a café bar with panoramic views over Rome and the surrounding areas.For... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ericred1840
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear ericred1840, thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the nearest restaurants and 10 minutes by walk from Piazza Ungheria where you can find several bars and restaurants open till late. We are glad you liked the value for money and the panoramic views. To the Vatican you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The hotel is quite old. Maybe it was a 4-star hotel 15 years ago, but not nowadays. The air conditioning did not seem to work. The blankets looked old as well, of that kind that are heavy (not a feather duvet). The breakfast was OK, but again not for a 4-star hotel. The WiFi connection, which is a basic for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sjr_traveller
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Sjr_traveller, we are sorry you didn't like your stay with us, we apologize that your mobile device had some problems connecting to our wifi. We are glad you liked the breakfast. We therefore reconfirm that we respect the regional law regarding 4 stars hotels. More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Firstly if you go to Rome get some spare Euro as you will have to pay €6 a day per tourist if you are over 18. The hotel its not even close to 4* yes you get A/C in the room, yes you get a TV in the room but dont dream at the flat TV that is described in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diabollxx
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Diabollxx, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, the city tax is compulsry for all 4 stars hotels in Rome and since September 2014 it is 6 euro for children who are more than 10 years old and for adults. We don't have an ironing service but it is stated on all the websites.... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, only because it was the only hotel close to a hospital where a family member was being treated. Room smelled like someone had died, water dripped from the ceiling and the a/c didn't work. Breakfast was decent. Neighborhood looks nice during the day but is totally deserted at night- no nearby restaurants and walking alone on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura10510
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Hermitage, responded to this review

Dear Laura10510, thanks for your review, we are sorry you didn't like the stay, we confirm that the area around the hotel is calm, the area is residential, one of the best in Rome. We are only 5 minutes by walk from the restaurants and 10 from piazza Ungheria. We apologize for the problems you had, thanks for your observations,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

414 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Windows (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#157 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Regent Roma
Hotel Regent Roma
#893 of 1,285 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Hotel Aureliano
#847 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pineta Palace
#524 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
La Mela
#855 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,079 of 1,285 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Parioli

Neighborhood Profile
Parioli
Young and well-to-do families are the street flavor of Parioli. A new kind of Rome, this area is centuries away from the Renaissance with its pockets of 1930s palaces, tony boutiques, open-air markets and plenty of coffee shops. Parioli was built as an enclave for last century’s haute bourgeois and still represents as such in 21st century Rome. Need a break? The area has several great sporting clubs known for tennis and riding, a wonderful modern art museum, easy access to the zoo (Europe’s oldest), and is nestled around Rome’s very best parks including Villa Borghese, Villa Ada and Villa Glori.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mid-rise hotel offering modern accommodations; situated in the quiet Parioli Quarter of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Price Range: $53 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#350 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay