We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domus Australia

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Domus Australia
Domus Australia
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a overnight business trip to Rome, as it was near Termini and my meetings. Very comfortable and welcoming - room was clean, well decorated and adequate for what i need - perfect. Breakfast was good with a selection of cold cuts, cereal, cooked breakfast and breads. Staff were very helpful and positive - a big plus for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tim, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciated very much. Hope to meet you again. Kind Regards GIANLUCA RAFANELLI More 

Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great rooms, it accommodates all the luxury u have at home, true it is a religious hotel, but I'm not overly holy so did not find it over powering. The rooms are clean, large, bathrooms large. Windows have shutters to close off the summer sun, for late nights. Has an upstairs bar area for drinks in the afternoon, all other... More 

Helpful?
Thank tissie63
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear GUEST, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciated very much. Hope to meet you again. Kind Regards GIANLUCA RAFANELLI More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

just like other travelers we didn't know until arrival that there was any religious affiliation with this hotel. We are self proclaimed cheapskates. This place was perfect for us. We were travelling with 2 teens. our room had one king bed and two singles. the king was larger than any American king. the floor was tiled, and the bathroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank beavette23
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. You are very nice with us with your comments, Thank you for that. I remembered you, and it has been a pleasure for us to have had you as per our Guest !!! I hope to meet you again !!! I wish you a worderful life. With Kind Regards... More 

Mount Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Domus Australia and it was wonderful. From the start the staff were friendly and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble, even a porter took our bags to our room. The room was large, 4 of us travelling and the 2 teenagers had their own beds and on the either side of us, luxury for... More 

Helpful?
Thank pumpkinbrown67
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It has been a pleasure to have you here as our Guests. We just try to do our Work as best as possible and help all our Guests in everything we could. Hope to meet you again. Kind regards Gianluca Rafanelli More 

Buninyong, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't realise it had anything to do with religion but it didn't matter- this place is wonderful. Huge, very clean rooms, balconies, self serve laundry, terrace with bar and close to Termini. The breakfast was great and the service went above and beyond. After my partner washed his passport, we were in a bit bit of a pickle as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan E
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Megan, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It has been a pleasure to have you here as our Guests. We just try to do our Work as best as possible and help all our Guests in everything we could. Hope to meet you again. Kind regards Gianluca Rafanelli More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking distance from Termini. Big rooms. Nice restaurants and shops nearby. Gorgeous chapel on site. Helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Decent little courtyard. Wonderful rooftop lounging area. Laundry. I dont know why a hotel this size and this nice does not have 24 hour desk coverage. We threw coins in the fountain, so we will return to Rome. We plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank UngFoy
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful comment on TripAdvisor. It's a blessed pleasure to read that you have a good feeling here in Domus Australia. We struggle work every day to try to satisfy all our Guest's needs and requests. Hope to meet you again soon!!! My best wishes and regards Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager generalmanager@domusaustralia.org More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel within walking distance of Termini (10 mins although footpath is not great). Hotel has been refurbished, rooms large incl large bathroom. Jug, minibar & tea/coffee in room. Wifi & breakfast included - not a bad selection. Bit of a walk to main tourist sights.

Helpful?
Thank 188petere
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us to read that you have a good feeling here in Domus Australia. Hope to have you as per our Guest soon. With Kind regards Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll start with some of the good points... Fairly close to Termini central station for good access to the airport. Reception (who I dealt with) were smartly dressed, friendly and very helpful. Nice quiet bright room. Great shower and large bright bathroom. Nice courtyard. Bacon (although American style streaky), scambled and boiled eggs, baked beans and broccoli (it really works... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jiglo
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us to read that you have a good feeling here in Domus Australia. Hope to have you as per our Guest soon. With Kind regards Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was quaint. The bed was 2 beds placed together and the bed wasn't the most comfortable and not the most uncomfortable. It was in between like the ones you sleep in motels in US. The AC worked well so that's a plus in the summer. There is no concierge after 1 am and before 7 am. They warn... More 

Helpful?
Thank juan v
Gianluca R, Direttore generale at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Mr Juan, Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us to read that you found our Hotel quite fine also if you had some advice you didn't like. Unfortunately we don't have Reception desk attendance during the night but how we explain to all the Guests arriving in Hotel, there is always an... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

This well-located hotel was a great introduction to Italy, as it featured spacious Australian-sized rooms within a typically Italian complex of buildings, which even included the hotel’s own fully-restored chapel. Our “Superior” room really was superior in size to standard European hotel rooms. It was truly spacious, with a King-sized bed, ample space to move around and store suitcases, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zvirb
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read the you had a good feeling in Domus Australia. We always work to make our Guests as much happy as possible. Thank you, We hope to meet you again. Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Classic Room (36)
Viewed
Classic Room with Desk (46)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#6 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,615 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#27 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#34 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Relais 6
#32 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Domus Australia is an authentic Italian 32 room guest house established by the Australian Catholic Church. It is located in the centre of Rome within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, key shopping areas and Rome's major cultural attractions. The superbly restored historic building offers guests a calm and welcoming refuge from the busy tourist pace of Rome, making the Domus an ideal base for pilgrims, groups, families and solo travellers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Domus Australia

Address: Via Cernaia 14/B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Price Range: $90 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Australia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Domus Australia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay