We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Domus Australia

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Domus Australia
Domus Australia
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My two friends and I recently visited the hotel for a short break away, and to explore Rome. The hotel was an amazing base camp, as it was only a 15/20 minute walk from the historic centre of Rome; including the Trevi fountain, and the Pantheon! The hotel was also very easy to find from the Roma Termini, even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allman169
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We loved you words about Domus Australia and we are very grateful for our appreciation. I hope to meet you again in Rome. Feel free to contact us any time any hour. Our Best Regards Gianluca Rafanelli generalmanager@domusaustralia.org

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We had the superior room for three nights. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included available in the restaurant every morning. The selection was not huge but very good quality, it covered hot, cold, cereal and a sweet cake most mornings. One of the staff even sorted us out with two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary S
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gary. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We loved you words about Domus Australia and we are very grateful for our appreciation. I hope to meet you again in Rome. Feel free to contact us any time any hour. Our Best Regards Gianluca Rafanelli generalmanager@domusaustralia.org

Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best hotel ever for ALL !!! Fabio on the recepcion is great man, thanks a lot !!! Food nice, clean, nice location! Staff helpful, and kind. Nice vast rooms, save box in each room, free water, coffe ant tea. Really rich Breakfast, eggs, meats, cheese, salami,salads, fruits, cakes and more. All best !!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil C
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us the read your words because we love our Job and we try everyday to make everybody Happy.. I hope to meet you again here. Always at your disposal. Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 15, 2017

I traveled there with my children and some friends. This is a converted monastery with modern rooms and your own bathroom. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is included. Staff are very helpful for the most. It is located near Termini Station (the main one) and also the Metro line with 2 stops close by. A supermarket is also not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory O
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gregory. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. We remain always at your disposal. Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the motel and the friendliness of the staff. However, the breakfasts were very poor and plain. Compared to the other Italian motels we had stayed in, the food was of a poor quality. Little variety.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T G
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We really appreciated it. Thank you also to let us know the you didn't like our Breakfast, that usually it's very appreciated from all our Guests because it's very various with all kind of Foods. However thank your very much. Hope to see you again Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

We are from Australia and stayed 5 nights in Domus Australia. We were looked after very well from check in to check out. Our room is very clean and warm (for December's stay). Breakfast is good. There is a nice chapel inside and nice outdoor area. We appreciate the DIY laundry with dryer existance on level 4, we think it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Centil75
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure for us the read your words because we love our Job and we try everyday to make everybody Happy.. I hope to meet you again here. Always at your disposal. Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager

Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

Domus Australia was the best option for us because we has a low budget for hotel in Rome and we wanted value for money. The room was nice and as like in pictures and hotel staff was excellent and solved couple of our problems very well. And very good breakfest included to the price also! :) Suosittelen tätä hotellia kaikille....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 754teemuk
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to understand you had a good feeling in our Hotel, and this is the most important thing because it's our first Target !! to let Guests be as at Home.. Thank you very much! We wait for you here anytime. Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli General...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed December 8, 2016

We had the superior room for three nights. The room was clean and spacious (very high ceiling!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included for us so we ate at the restaurant every morning. The selection is not huge but quite enough. It would get a bit boring on longer visits, though. Food quality was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ephief
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor, We really appreciated it. We hope to meet you here again. We remain at your complete disposal. With Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli

Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights. From the moment I entered the reception, I was greeted promptly, given map of the city and the gentleman on the reception marked all the must see areas and answered all my questions. Then I was shown to my room. The hotel is a fee minutes from Termini train station. From outside you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poshtaster
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.. We really appreciated it!! We love our Job and we try always to do our Best Possible for our Beloved Guests!! Hope to meet you again!! Always at your disposal.. With Kind Regards and Best Wishes. Gianluca Rafanelli General Manager

Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here on a quick trip to Rome. Only a ten minute walk from the train station. And not a far walk to most of the sights. We stayed for three nights. The room and bathroom were very clean and neat. The room was spacious, comfortable for 2 people. We had a lovely view overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kacie G
Gianluca R, General Manager at Domus Australia, responded to this review

Dear Ms Kacie. thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it.. We remain always at your disposal. Kind Regards Gianluca Rafanelli General manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

431 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Classic Room (36)
Viewed
Classic Room with Desk (46)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
1,156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,292 in Rome
6,258 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,292 in Rome
2,140 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,292 in Rome
3,869 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Domus Australia is an authentic Italian 32 room guest house established by the Australian Catholic Church. It is located in the centre of Rome within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, key shopping areas and Rome's major cultural attractions. The superbly restored historic building offers guests a calm and welcoming refuge from the busy tourist pace of Rome, making the Domus an ideal base for pilgrims, groups, families and solo travellers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Domus Australia

Address: Via Cernaia 14/B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Price Range: $67 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domus Australia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Domus Australia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Domus Australia staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Domus Australia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best room for winter faces the courtyard as the sun streams in to warm things up.”
 of 5 bubbles gregoryo162, Jan 15, 2017 | Read review
“Best value in town by far”
 of 5 bubbles 241annea241, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 316 floor 3, overlooking pretty cloistered garden, only noise heard was from other guests walking past.”
 of 5 bubbles fifiEssex, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Room on the higher floor!”
 of 5 bubbles sirajul2015, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on level 3 very good.”
 of 5 bubbles DEROSA56, Jun 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question