We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Selene Style Hotel

Show Prices
#129 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
Panoramas (46)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Selene Style Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed July 2, 2006

After reading all the mixed reviews of the Hotel Selene we were skeptical about booking a room there. However, as a family of 5 we needed an inexpensive hotel, centrally located, safe, and clean place to stay during 4 days in Rome. We took a chance on the Selene. Budget wise it matched and it was certainly easily to navigate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rbsilver
hotelseleneroma, Direttore generale at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rbsilver, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but let me try to answer your questions: a) lobby was completely renovated and so it was the building itself; b) reception staff was completely renovated and re-trained by me; c) Dispenser soap is an "ecological" choice. We are very sensitive to ecological problem, so we don't see the point to...

Wakefield, Yorkshire, UK
Reviewed May 16, 2006

The mixture of reviews made us a little wary of what to expect from this hotel. When we got there this was quicky put to rest. The hotel was very close to the main train station and was very easy to find. Despite getting there in the early hours of the morning the staff were very friendly and helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Ryanair-Jetsetters
hotelseleneroma, Direttore generale at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryanair-Jetsetters, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I really hope to see you again in our hotel! Best regards, Simone Puorto Revenue Manager

Houston,Texas
Reviewed April 26, 2006

After reading reviews we were a little unsure of what to expect but when we got there things were great. The staff was very helpful. We loved the location since it was just down the street from termini which made it easy to get to from the airport, and easy to travel to all parts of the city. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank lightin80
hotelseleneroma, Direttore generale at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lightin80, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I really hope to see you again in our hotel! Best regards, Simone Puorto Revenue Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Reading - England
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

If you are looking for a hotel just for a decent room, then this is the place - if you are after other Hotel facilities then go somewhere else as there is only a breakfast room and check-in desk. Rooms are modern, clean, well decorated and completely soundproofed. The location isn't a central as possible, but it is only a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
hotelseleneroma, Direttore at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but I'm not sure what you mean with "as central as possible": we are in front of the Theater of the Opera and 1 min walking from Via Nazionale! Hope to see you again in my hotel! Simone Puorto Revenue Manager

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed June 13, 2005

I didn't have any real problems with this hotel, but it didn't really knock my socks off either. Other than being close to the train station, the location isn't really ideal. Most sights will involve a metro ride unless you are gung-ho about hoofing it. Fortunately the metro is only one block away. The positives were: the rooms are VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Wendywooaz
hotelseleneroma, Direttore at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review, we always hear to our guests suggestions. Let me answer you: q) the location isn't really ideal. Most sights will involve a metro ride unless you are gung-ho about hoofing it. a) We are located on the center of Rome, in front of the Theater of the Opera and 1 minute walking from...

Essex
Reviewed February 25, 2005

After reading some of the reviews about the Selene we arrived with a little trepidation. Our fears were unfounded, the room was ready and spotless. over the 5 days we stayed the housekeeping was excellent. Staff from the small reception to the porter/breakfast cook were polite and helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful . Great place to use as a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Headhunter1951
hotelseleneroma, Direttore at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in my hotel! Best regards, Simone Puorto Revenue Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Southport, Merseyside
1 review
14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2004

I agree wholeheartedly with the reviewer from Cork - but there was no evidence of buiding work or the advertised lounge/bar when we stayed between 17-20 July 2004. Certainly not a place to linger in, although thankfully so much to see & do in Rome. Helpful reception staff (as advertised)? - must have been on holiday when we stayed. In...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank A TripAdvisor Member
hotelseleneroma, Direttore at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry you found the reception staff unfriendly, but just want to let you know that I completely renovated and re-trained our staff. Breakfast was renovated too, so why don't you come back? I'm sure you will change your mind! Best Regards, Simone Puorto Revenue Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed June 15, 2004

This hotel did not live up to its website description. There was no proper reception area, loung3e or reading area or proper bar. All of these things were advertised. There were workmen hard at work on these areas but they will not be ready for another month. Under the circumstances I thought €100 for a single room most unfair especially...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Mallo
hotelseleneroma, Direttore at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I'm sorry your stay was unpleasant. Let me try to answer you: q) There was no proper reception area a) Reception is on the street so it's basically easier for guests to find the hotel q) loung3e or reading area or proper bar. a) I'm sorry for the bar, it was a mistake in a couple of OTA...

A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2004

I had reserved a room at Hotel Selene, and due to business arrangements, was forced to cancel. The cancellation occurred well within the policy as posted, yet I was charged one nights room rate. The hotel contacted me via email asking for bank information so that a refund could be made. A month later, I received a refund less than...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank A TripAdvisor Member
hotelseleneroma, Revenue Manager at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Huston, I'm very sorry for this, but please consider that in Italy wire fee is mandatory. Anyway I would like to check with you why the refund was less. If my staff made some mistake I will be happy to refund you. Please contact me so we can figure it out what happened. My address is revenuemanager...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

481 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (198)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room (21)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room Classic Style (26)
Viewed
Comfort Quadruple Room (30)
Viewed
Comfort Triple Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,292 in Rome
776 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
1,443 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,292 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#64 of 1,292 in Rome
683 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#131 of 1,292 in Rome
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighborhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighborhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighborhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic center. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Selene is the perfect hotel for both leisure and business. It is located in the heart of Rome, at the crossroads of culture, history and shopping, in a privileged position very close to the following tourist sites: Piazza della Repubblica, Termini station, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Spanish Steps, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore , Diocletian Bath, Teatro dell'Opera, dell'Esposizioni Palace, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli, St. Peter in Chains, the Palazzo Venezia. Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica can be reached in 10 minutes by using from Piazza della Repubblica the line A of Rome's Subway. Most of our 40 rooms overlook Via del Viminale or Via Principe Amedeo, two very quiet streets with little traffic. Hotel Selene Roma has recently renovated its 40 rooms: the decor of Hotel Selene Roma is simple yet elegant and classic and instantly creates a relaxing atmosphere. Book on the hotel's official website in order to get advantage of the best deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Selene Style Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Selene Roma)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $98 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selene Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Selene Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selene Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Selene Style Hotel staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Selene Style Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room on the front overlooking the street was noisy. Size of rooms may be an issue if you need space for children ask before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Jerry-HXO, 3 days ago | Read review
“Book a regular room - not deluxe.”
 of 5 bubbles 198katyf, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“I had 2 rooms during my stay because the BBC t.v. channel wasn't available in first room. First room was on the side, it was quiet had a bath/shower combo. Second room was actually an upgrade, better bedding and a good shower although it was a tight fit. No bath. ”
 of 5 bubbles Sonia342Burlingame, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“upper floors are less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles IuliaStrejan, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on forth floor quieter as breakfast room is on third floor”
 of 5 bubbles OntarioHappycamper, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question