We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Agrippina Gran Melia

Save
Share
Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!BEST PRICE AT MELIA.COM
Hotels.com
$531
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/14/21
Agoda.com
$521
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/20/21
Snaptravel
$542
$406
View Deal
SAVE $136
Lol.travel
Expedia.com$531
Prestigia.com$542
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1065)
360
Panoramas (115)
Room & Suite (475)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#130 of 1,347 hotels in Rome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world.
Read more
Room & Suite (475)475
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
Hotel links
Special Price:BEST PRICE AT MELIA.COM
1,818Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,222
  • 372
  • 141
  • 50
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cecil&Nona wrote a review Nov 2020
Flower Mound, Texas13 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We came to Rome the last week in February and spent 7 days at the Gran Melia. The room with hot tub on balcony was really great. The breakfast had plenty to chose from to eat. The bar service at night was really great. Room service was fast and always keep our room clean. The front staff was very attentive and helpful with directions and pointing out interest points around the city. Being within walking distance to the Vatican was exciting. We had a wonderful trip and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Samuel Hamilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá
Responded Nov 14, 2020
Dear cecild897, Thank you very much for taking your time to review your past experience at Villa Agrippina a Gran Melia Hotel! We are glad to read that you are still carrying good memories from your time with us in February, it is very rewarding for us to read that we provided an excellent service and you enjoyed your time in the Eternal City. It is with pleasure that I will share your nice words with the entire Team, who I am sure will be delighted and encouraged to go always extra miles for all our valued guests. We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future and help you discovering Rome more and more. Best regards, Samuel Hamilton Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Benjamin D wrote a review Sep 2020
Germany116 contributions39 helpful votes
This hotel has a beautiful location. The accommodations are wonderful. Beautiful design throughout the hotel. We were upgraded to a larger room as we were staying for a whole week which was greatly appreciated. We were disappointed that all the facilities were not available during our stay but realise that this was unavoidable due to the Covid 19 regulations but it would have been great to have been made fully aware beforehand of all that we would miss out on. There was a beautiful lounge to the left of the reception area that was closed the whole time we were there and drinks were instead served outside on the patio. The spa was out of action which was a huge shame as it was one of the main reasons that we booked the hotel although treatments were available. Breakfast was strange and staff seemed unrehearsed in the new protocols. To summarise, we will definitely be back when all restrictions have been lifted but at the moment I’m not sure it’s worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Samuel Hamilton, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear 602benjamind, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent Experience at Villa Agrippina a Gran Melia Hotel. We are grateful for your nice words regarding the hotel lcoation, accommodation and design; we are equally happy to read that your upgraded room was appreciated and made your one week stay with us as comfortable as it deserved to be. However, it saddens us to read that you were disappointed about the facilities not available. We would like to highlight that facilities and services were running smoothly: only the Spa wellness path - sauna, steam baths, emotional showers - is still temporarily suspended due to Covid19 measures, whilst treatments and massages are available and under reservation. All facilites normally running during summer time are working: outside pool and bar service, our Gala restaurant open throughout the day with possibility of dining inside, outside on the patio overlooking the pool or even dinners by the pool and gym under reservation. We are sorry you had the feeling expressed above; the areas you mentioned belonfg to the inside winter venues that we will be opening soon in the changing of seasonality; during the summer thanks to our lovely location with gardens and pools, the outside venues are normally more appealing. We would lilke as well to assure you that all our Staff throughout the departments has been well and highly trained to adapt their usual duties to the strictest protocols that have been introduced due to Covid19 for the safety of our guests and associates, too. Indeed, it has been challenging for everybody to embrace these news measures; however, we are proud to to deliver at our best the usual service with the highest standards. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the closest future, and when the situation might come back to normal. Best regards, Samuel Hamilton Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Alexey M wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
My partner and I were robbed at Villa Agrippina on the 22 of August, 2020. My wallet containing two passports, credit cards, cash and SIM cards was stolen right from the room safe. The manager on duty was not helpful at assisting us in figuring out what had happened. He refused to review the tapes and show us the door log citing privacy issue. The manager accompanied us to the police station to write a report. Upon arrival from the police station we had turned the room upside down together with the manager and a housekeeper - nothing was found. We spent a couple of hours in the lobby discussing the details with the consulate over the phone about getting our passports reissued. Upon return to the room we discovered that the stolen wallet was placed back into the safe. We ran downstairs to reception to confront the manager, he approached us and brazenly said “Oh I heard you found it” like nothing had happened. The manager denied having any involvement in the theft of my wallet. We quickly packed our belongings, paid the bill and left the hotel as we no longer felt safe staying at the property. What we assumed had happened is whoever took the wallet had returned it while we were downstairs with the manager trying to figure out the situation with the consulate and our further hotel reservations. Till this day we have not received any news of the investigation, the hotel general manager has reached out to us but nothing has been resolved. Avoid this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Rajiv B wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada4 contributions6 helpful votes
My friend and I checked in to the Villa Agrippina Hotel on Thursday, August 20, 2020. The morning of the August, 20, 2020 is when everything went horribly wrong. We woke up and went down for breakfast. After, we returned to the room to get ready for a scheduled tour of the Vatican. I asked my friend to get our passports from the safe. When he opened the safe, a wallet containing two passports, a driver’s license, 2000 Euros, $200 US dollars, a credit card and multiple sim cards were missing. We begin to tear apart the room/our bags in case we ourselves had misplaced these items. We went through this process 3 times before my friend went down to reception. At reception, he asked the hotel staff to check the log of scans to the room to see if anyone had entered while we were eating breakfast. The evening before we had entered the room at 7:30pm and then again at 1am after dinner. In the morning we entered at 10:30am. Allegedly, there had been no other entry scans. He asked reception to double check as we were obviously beginning to panic at the disappearance of the wallet from the hotel safe. At this point, the staff refused to show us the print out of the entry log, only furthering our distress. My friend returned to the room and we tore apart the room again. At that point, I myself went to reception and asked to speak with the Manager. The Manager arrived at our room and we asked him to review the cameras. He indicated that he needed a police warrant to do so. However, when we asked him to call the police, he told us they would not come! The Manager did not seem to be interested in helping us find the missing wallet, nor in assisting us to figure out who entered our room and tampered with our locked safe. Together with him, we searched our room, top to bottom, twice to no avail. We felt frustrated and disappointed with the lack of support and incompetent service, and demanded the Manager accompany us to the police station to file a report. This took an additional two hours. At the police station, I pleaded with the Manager to please ask the staff to search the grounds of the hotel, as maybe someone threw away the wallet with the passports and took the cash. Our passports were what we cared about most. The Manager only agreed to this after pleading and pleading with him. We returned to the hotel, the Manager, myself, my friend, and a housekeeper entered the room to tear it apart one more time. We began going through every item in the luggage. Flipped the mattress. Checked underneath the bed. Opened all the closets. Opened the safe and put our hands in every corner. Every section of the room was thoroughly swept. The Manager and the housekeeper both concluded with us that the missing wallet containing our passports, cash, and credit cards were not in our room. We spent the next 1.5-2 hours in the lobby with the Manager getting assistance on reissuing passports and rearranging our itinerary at our next destination with other hotels. After this, we returned the room. We realized it was already 3:30pm and we had not eaten since the morning. My friend suggested we have lunch and I looked in the safe to find the wallet sitting exactly where we originally left it!! Both of us were in complete disbelief. We ran downstairs to reception and were visibly in extreme distress. Shaking in anger. We asked for our car to immediately be brought to the front. The Manager approached us and brazenly said “Oh I heard you found it” like nothing had happened! We were shocked by this. We paid the bill as we no longer felt safe staying at the property. The blatant and disgusting behavior by the hotel is incomprehensible. What we assume has happened is whoever took the wallet had returned it while we were downstairs with the Manager trying to figure out the situation with the consulate and our further bookings. We immediately packed up our belongings and left the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Natalie Leon wrote a review Aug 2020
19 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just got back from 7 days, in this fabulous hotel, right by the Vatican. We stayed in the Red Level Loft suite with teenager. The room was on 2 floors and beautifully furnished. We would recommend the Red level benefits : soft drinks, tea & coffee all day otherwise you would be paying €8 for a Diet Coke. So this gave us unlimited poolside drinks in the heat which was needed without racking up an enormous drinks bill. The food menu we felt was very limited but due to Covid there was only one restaurant and menu to choose from day and night. Breakfast was a la Carte not buffet for the same reasons. The staff work tirelessly and we’re all fabulous (will list them at the end) but the hotel was understaffed particularly by the pool and bar area. 1/2 persons serving the whole outside space with food and drinks by the pool.. just wasn’t enough. We understood that the hotel has had massive losses due to Covid as have most businesses however, guests are paying good money and there should be a better ratio of staff to guests. If you are looking for a little oasis of luxury with a gorgeous poolside area and very comfy pool beds for your touring city break. This is a fantastic choice. The reception team helped us with fabulous restaurant recommendations and reservations and each one was as good as the next. Dar Poeta (the best pizza - very reasonable) Il Corallo (stunning food, we went twice in 7 days) Fattioncasa by la denesa (lovely) We did a walking tour of the Ghetto area, the Vatican and a Segway tour which was amazing fun. The fantastic staff list below who worked tirelessly to make everyone happy. Bar/pool and restaurant staff Christiano Wow ! Marco (thank you for our evening canapés and cocktails and specials 😍🍾) Roberto Antonio Danielle Monica Reception/Guest services Deli Marissa Eleanor Samuel Julia Antonella This team needs more help but we’re absolutely fabulous in all they did for us during our lovely weeks break. We hope to be back one day and that you build your hotel back to full capacity. Stay safe 👍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Samuel Hamilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Dear nat6508, First of all let us extend you our full gratitute for having chosen our property for your lastminute family break and for the trust given to Gran Melia Brand in these uncertain times. We truly appreciate your feedbacks regarding your stay at Villa Agrippina a Gran Meliá Hotel and your extensive comments about your experience: positive and negative comments are essential to reach the highest standards of quality; all Covid19 prevention measures can be challenging for staff and normal procedures and operations and we are all working hard to guarantee the smoothest experience to all our valued guests. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you for mentioning our Staff members who extended you an exceptional services, they are all very thankful. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Samuel Hamilton Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$333 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Villa Agrippina a Gran Melià Hotel - Rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCentro / Trastevere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Nearby attractions include Baldacchino di San Pietro, di Bernini (0.3 miles), Museo Leonardo Da Vinci Experience (0.2 miles), and Vaticano Egyptian Obelisk (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Zizza Caffetteria Birreria Desserteria, LABottega Pastificio con Cucina, and Osteria Padi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Agrippina Gran Meliá?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.