We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tirreno Hotel

Show Prices
#336 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 290: English reviews
Start your review of Tirreno Hotel
 Click to rate
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good central location with many sights within walking distance. The hotel however is very dated and desperately needs modernising throughout. Breakfast was extremely basic and limited in choice but adequate. Most definitely a 'no frills' option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 826re
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 826re, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was for you to explorer all the shops, restaurants, attractions and the historic area of Rome. We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm, but I can...

Cornwall
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Was expecting a lot more from Hotel Tirreno. We knew it would be old, ok,but the bathroom window nearly falling out? We arrived late on a Thursday evening, the receptionist didn't even say Buona Sera..just, passports, tourist tax and here is your key. Our room, I'm sure, must have been the worst in the hotel, small, depressing, dark and dingy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevieBCornwall
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Cornwall, We are very sorry that your staying in our Hotel was so unpleasant. I'd like to apologize for the last night, a power surge caused a short circuit of the central heating system that was fixed the next morning while you were leaving. 204 is a nice double bed room and I’m frankly surprised about your reaction,...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed December 25, 2016

Breakfast was the only thing with improvement potential All the rest just met our expectations Very friendly staff, near to the Termini, subway and Colloseum We could recommend the place to anyone with the average budget

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank svetlanaa_popova
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Svetlana, Truly, it was our pleasure to have you as a guest and my team, and I have enjoyed reading your review and thank you for your stay and compliments! We were pleased to hear that the staff was able to make your stay excellent by being friendly and helpful. While disappointed not to receive a 5 star review,...

Skidby
Reviewed December 23, 2016

Quaint little hotel felt like walked back in to the 1970's.Could do with updating but has a charm of its own.Room was very small but enough for the few days we were there.Best part was the staff very friendly and helpful.Use the trattoria across the road on a street corner Mario very welcoming food excellent and very reasonable.Rome fantastic city...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm, but I can understand if you prefer a more modern atmosphere. However, please know that all our amenities, though classic, are up-to-date. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how convenient it was for you to explorer...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed December 17, 2016

Worst thing...breakfast, really bad, no fruit, Just cakes and sugar... Staff is polite, except the lady in breakfast, very rude! Small room but always clean and warm. Near to train station and colliseum.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela_Rodrigues_lx
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniela, Thank you for your positive comments of our hotel and for mentioning our friendly staff and the clean room. However, I'm sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer an enhanced continental breakfast. I understand your disappointment when it is compared to your normal Portuguese breakfast but the continental is different unless your accommodations are 4...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed December 17, 2016

The hotel is nicely located between the train station and coliseum. We had multiple problems getting the AC to work in our room, even having to change rooms at one point. The hotel is in need of updating but, an okay place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was. We love our location because, as you mentioned, it is so close to the Colosseum and the Termini. However I'm sorry about your AC issue. Overall, it sounds like you had a pleasant visit,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 17, 2016

We spent 4 nights in the hotel and it was certainly a good fit for our family of 4. Nestled in a little laneway with a number of traditional trattoria ristorante very close. Walking distance (less than 1km) to the Colosseum and Central railway station. short walk to supermarket and hop on hop off bus lines. Simple breakfast provided. Hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PG088
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PG088, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Tirreno and how convenient it was for you to explorer all the shops, restaurants, attractions and the historic area of Rome. We like to think that our classic decor and atmosphere is a part of our charm, but I can...

Pennsylvania Dutch Country, Pennsylvania
Reviewed December 16, 2016

A nice safe hotel near Santa Maria Majorie and termini train station station. I have stayed there 10 different times in the last 8 years. There are more expensive places with bigger rooms and bigger bathrooms but I go to ROMA to see the city and enjoy the food not to see hotel rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyfishing21
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flyfishing21, Thank you for the 4 star review and for the positive comments regarding your stay. It's wonderful to know that our hotel was a comfortable spot to call home during your visit. We hope to see you back again if your travels ever bring you back to the area! All the best, Claudio Felici

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed December 16, 2016

Very nice comfortable bedroom. Great terrace garden to relax after lots of walking and sightseeing. A 10 minute walk to many landmarks. Fantastic breakfast buffet too. Nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan K
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan, We are glad that you found you room comfortable and enjoyed our breakfast, we recently introduced our new Buffet breakfast so our guests can choose whatever they like in a large salty and sweet selection. Great to read that our location, met your needs for proximity to all of our local offerings. We look forward to your return,...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed December 16, 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at Tirreno. They went above and beyond with their customer service. This was my first international trip, and I went alone. There were things I needed and didn't bring, arrangements to be made...they helped with everything! I was able to walk to many attractions. I felt safe roaming the area at night. I plan on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bundi s
Tirreno, Proprietario at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bundi, We’re happy to know that you were able to enjoy our prime location. Thank you for your positive comments of our hotel and for mentioning our friendly staff. Our company culture is all about genuine hospitality, cleanliness, quality accommodations, and affordability. We'll be sure to pass your compliments to veryone here, this is just how it should have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

411 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Double Room (37)
Viewed
Matrimonial Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Single Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#245 of 1,292 in Rome
563 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#212 of 1,292 in Rome
1,140 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,292 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#308 of 1,292 in Rome
392 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
851 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,052 of 1,292 in Rome
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighborhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighborhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighborhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering a free Wi-Fi zone, peaceful garden and central location in the heart of Rome, Hotel Tirreno is surrounded by great restaurants, 220 yards from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. The Tirreno is in a historic building where used to live Il Domenichino, a famous Italian painter. Completely renovated, it offers air-conditioned rooms with a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer.A continental breakfast is served each morning and includes pastries and Italian coffee. Drinks from the bar can be enjoyed out on the grounds.Guests at the Tirreno Hotel have a tour desk and information point at reception, as well as a free luggage storage room for departure day.The hotel has great metro services on Line A and Line B as it is between the metro stations of Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tirreno Hotel

Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: $70 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirreno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tirreno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tirreno Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Tirreno Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The room was clean but very dated and much smaller than shown in the photos. The shower cubicle was so tiny that you could not move without turning the shower off! Window would not lock securely. ”
 of 5 bubbles 826re, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Do not accept room 204!”
 of 5 bubbles StevieBCornwall, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Double room with bathroom ”
 of 5 bubbles Daniela_Rodrigues_lx, Dec 17, 2016 | Read review
“Scrap and rebuild ”
 of 5 bubbles 320manjunaths, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“4th floor bedrooms have small, private terraces.You will be glad to know that a notice says no nudity allowed in the terrace garden Ha ha !”
 of 5 bubbles Mary00000, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question