Hotel Genova Roma

Hotel Genova Roma

Traveler (393)
Panorama at the Hotel Genova
360
Panoramas (10)
Hg Single Room
Room & Suite (342)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#461 of 1,230 hotels in Rome
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.7
Value
3.7
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
1,131Review34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 284
  • 444
  • 246
  • 101
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ryan L wrote a review Jul 2023
Ireland414 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Contiki tour recently.

It was fine, nothing spectacular but I don’t have anything big to complain about either. When I arrived I was worried about noise from the road but that was no issue at all. Rooms were clean but I will say the Air Conditioning was very noisy which meant I couldn’t leave it on during the night.

Thr breakfast was very traditional continental European which isn’t my thing personally, what was on offer was alright, it just didn’t take my fancy. A few small things were the staff were located in an area behind thr msun reception which meant they were not always on hand for guests. Also when I checked out I was asked to pay for water in the mini bar, there was nothing in the room to suggest payment was required. Another thing was the website showed a beautiful terrace with but that is part of a private suite which wasn’t clear.

You stay here for the location, it’s minutes from Termini station, like all European cities you must be Vigilant of your personal safety but none of our large group had any issues.
Nothing wrong with the place at all but not somewhere I would hurry back to
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jade D wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom40 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel is great, as it's within walking distance to many tourist attractions and it's less than a 5 minute walk to Termini station.
The staff here were all great. They were really helpful and lovely to talk to.

Our room was quite small but cute! The bathroom was lovely and had free toiletries. The bed was a very good size for 2 people.
The hotel breakfast was a continental so there wasn't much choice but it was enough to start the day for me as well as the coffee machines that were available.

The only issue I had with the stay was that it was quite noisy as we were near a train/tram line. A lot of the time when trying to sleep we would feel the rumbles of the trains and it would be quite loud. We were on the third floor so it may be quieter the higher you go.

All in all, I would stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danilo Esposito, Direttore generale at Hotel Genova Roma
Responded Dec 21, 2022
Dear Guests, We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Next time let us know if the noise bothers you: we will make sure to give you a room on the inside, very very quiet, you'll sleep amazing! :) Warmest regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaboodle2017 wrote a review Dec 2022
Maui, Hawaii7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is friendly, rooms are fairly clean, the location is super convenient and close to the Termini station. But, wifi was terrible, mostly non existent, water temperature fluctuated, and even though I overbooked an additional room and tried to cancel they were not able to assist with a refund. I'm sure there are much better places to stay in Rome.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you need reliable wifi, rooms had a lot of street noise. Convenient location,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam S wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was perfect, the gentleman manning reception was very, very pleasant and helpful.

The room was not soundproof, road noise could be an issue (for me it was not). Breakfast was very lacklustre, no fresh orange, all the pastries were all pre-packaged, it was very disappointing to be honest, although the process of ordering the food was very COVID safe.

The biggest issue I had was that on two days I was woken early. The first was caused by the cleaners ringing the bell as they had the wrong room. The following day, I was awoken by the sound of a barking dog. Now this could have been a loud alarm and not actually a real dog... either way, when I told the staff at reception on checkout there was no apology, just an accusation that I must have misheard the sound? That left a really displeasing end to my stay.

All in all, it was a disappointment and not quite something I would have expected from a supposed 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joany wrote a review Jul 2022
Italy1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights and on the first day we complained about the WIFI and the shower. WIFI almost no signal on the room and shower impossible to regulate the temperature. They did not give us a solution during our stay. Only an operator came to see the shower and told us that it was happening because there were many rooms. Of course! It’s a hotel. They didn’t even apologize. We will inform our agency and we do not recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebLRayleigh_Essex wrote a review Feb 2022
Rayleigh, Essex16 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as part of a group for the rugby. Although classed as a four star we were disappointed with this hotel. Reception staff very friendly but reception area quite dated. We had paid extra to upgrade our room. Not sure what we were actually gaining. Room was spacious but quite dark ( we overlooked inner courtyard). This might be a bonus as at least we could have windows open and not hear any road noise. Bathroom - again decoration wise - ok. Shower pressure hit and miss as was the temperature. Water coming out of the bath was brown so unable to use bath. There was a tiny fridge in the room with free water (plus point) however although there was tea and coffee there wasn’t any milk Breakfast was very disappointing. Watered down orange juice out of a machine as was the coffee and although there was a selection to choose from - yogurts were in a pot and fruit salad was tinned! Not what I would expect from a hotel with four stars. Location was the best part as close to the train station and metro which meant getting around easy. Unfortunately as and when we return to Rome we will look for somewhere else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danilo Esposito, Direttore generale at Hotel Genova Roma
Responded Feb 16, 2022
Dear Guest, I’m sorry your experience in Hotel Genova has been so negative. We had an unpredictable problem with the water system in few rooms. I'm so sad for that but sometimes troubles can happen indipendently by the will of the Hotelliers. Our aim, as you can imagine, is to garantee the best experience is possible to all our guests. I hope you will give us a new chance to demonstrate our expertise next time you'll stay in Rome. Thank you, however, for your comments. Are valuable to us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David N wrote a review Aug 2023
United States57 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Read these reviews for this hotel and it seems perhaps people reviewing aren't used to hotels in Europe.

The suite was modern, clean and massive compared to the doubletree 3 blocks away that I have stayed at before and was 30% more.

Room was clean and very modern.
Yes WiFi could have an upgrade extremely unreliable but in this day and time you can easily and should get an esim for your phone and just not worry about wifi.

Biggest problem definitely has to be the shower temp. It's wild. Management should reduce temp at the water source until they can get it handled in the rooms. That said, the shower was 2x a normal shower at most European hotels.

Breakfast is free lol. It's just like most hotels - cheap pastries, eggs and juice. Plenty of other great restaurants to explore near by with cheap options.

Location is literally a 3 minute walk to the train station and 15 minutes from the Fountain of Trevi.

Definitely will be back on our next journey.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: WiFi isn't great. Shower temp go from warm to hot. Enjoy the ride 😂
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Molly C wrote a review Feb 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came as a family of five and we had a fabulous stay. The reception staff were so lovely and helpful, ordering us taxis and making us feel comfortable from the very beginning. The joining rooms were great, with a lovely view of the top of the nearby church
(Basilica Papale di Santa Maria Maggiore) which was majestically lit each evening. The bells that ring at 9 o'clock also add a beautiful touch, especially when paired with its origin tale (it related to a lost pilgrim finding her way in the past and then ensuring that the bells were always rung from then on). There are lots of restaurants nearby and it is close to the Colosseum, Trevi fountain etc. I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Branka S wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are family of 5 and we were guests in Hotel Genova for 3 nights and it was pleasure to stay there.
We stayed in family room on the 5th floor, which is like an apartment. Rooms and bathrooms are perfectly clean, beds are very comfortable, rooms are spacious.
Breakfast buffet is great too and it is served on the 1st floor.
They let us have our breakfast on the day we arrived, as we were about to miss our breakfast on the last day because we had to check out very early as our flight was also an early one.
The hotel staff is very accommodating and ready to respond to your requests according to their capabilities. I need to say that they had met all our requests!
My son forgot his brand new Nike shoes in his room, they had found them and promised to keep them in the luggage storage until my husband went to pick them up.
I would strongly recommend Hotel Genova to everyone as they will definitely turn your stay in Rome into a real unforgettable pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danilo Esposito, Direttore generale at Hotel Genova Roma
Responded Dec 21, 2022
Dear Guests, We deeply appreciate your kind words, and thank you for the time you took to write them! We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again, if you plan on coming back in the Eternal City. Warmest regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kai P wrote a review Aug 2022
Foster City, California44 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best hotel in Rome!

First, it's location is convenient to the Termini train station. Whether you take the train from Rome airport or the airport shuttle/bus, the hotel is a quick 5 minute from the Termini train station. It's about a 20-30 minute walk to all the great sights, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon, etc.

The staff is very helpful and provide excellent service. They were able to help out with every request, even for Taxi's. Check in was a breeze. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the suite with Jacuzzi and Terrace. Your own private jacuzzi to unwind after a long day of walking and eating. The rooms itself are beautiful, clean, and spacious. The A/C works wonderfully as does the WIFI.

The breakfast at the hotel was great, lots of options, breads, pastries, fruits, coffee, tea, juice, cereal, and even some hot options like eggs and pancakes.

I can't say enough great things about this hotel, rooms, and the staff. Keep up the great job!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for the suite with jacuzzi and terrace! You won't be disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danilo Esposito, Direttore generale at Hotel Genova Roma
Responded Dec 19, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your nice words. Our staff always tries to do the best to satisfy the requests of our customers in order to make their stay unique. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay in Rome.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ryan L
Ireland414 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes you can no problem
Schonefeld asked a question Jan 2019
Jakarta63,947 contributions4,408 helpful votes
hi, Can anybody tell me, please if the standard double rooms are recently renovated? thank you
Answer from Debra B
Washington DC, District of Columbia8 contributions1 helpful vote
No, the standard room had not been remodeled back in Sept 2018
Answer from 886nick
Davis, California52 contributions27 helpful votes
i wouldn't take chances - i think they start at 6:30 am but...
conor b asked a question Jun 2018
Sligo, Ireland8 contributions5 helpful votes
Does it cost extra to take things from the mini bar
Answer from Qazwerty
Birmingham36 contributions11 helpful votes
You won't need to take things from minibar as there are plenty of shops just outside the hotel
Wayne B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sydney, Australia131 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go until after the 2st of May that’s when the air conditioning is turned on."
Read full review
vishnu r wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book at your own risk."
Read full review
Sonja D wrote a tip Mar 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Air con not effective in our room. But we opened the windows and closed the outside shutters so plenty of fresh air."
Read full review
SaskieD wrote a tip Dec 2023
Canada63 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The breakfast is worth the extra cost (unless you’re just a coffee & donut breakfast guy in which case you can do better)."
Read full review
David N wrote a tip Aug 2023
United States57 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"WiFi isn't great. Shower temp go from warm to hot. Enjoy the ride 😂"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
genova hotel rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCastro Pretorio / Termini / Centro / Esquilino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GENOVA ROMA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Genova
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Genova?
Nearby attractions include Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.2 miles), Basilica di Santa Prassede (0.2 miles), and Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Genova?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Genova?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Genova?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Genova?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Fata Ignorante - Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, and Quel Che C'è Laboratorio di Cucina.
Does Hotel Genova have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Genova offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Genova located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Rome.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Genova?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Genova offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Genova?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Genova?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.2 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (2.3 miles), and Colosseum (0.7 miles).
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Hotel Genova
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars