We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione

Save
Share
Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$371
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$413
Priceline$413
FindHotel$413
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (196)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (249)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#291 of 1,377 hotels in Rome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A luxury five-star hotel nestled in the heart of Rome, Hotel d’Inghilterra exudes old-world charm and timeless elegance. With its captivating history and stunning central location, it’s no wonder that this distinguished hotel continues to be the first choice for discerning guests. The building dates back to the mid-16th century and originally served as guest quarters for the noble Torlonia family, who resided in the Palazzo across the road. As early as the 15th century, the area was renowned for hosting the city's best hotels, attracting visitors from all over the world. A favourite of the international elite, the hotel has welcomed international figures like Ernest Hemingway, Richard Burton, Elizabeth Taylor, and Gregory Peck. The hotel is in the heart of Rome, near the famous Spanish Steps and the city’s foremost landmarks. All 84 rooms and suites have a unique style and personality. A perfect blend of period charm and contemporary character. With its chic outdoor space on Via Borgognona, Café Romano is the ideal spot for an expertly crafted cocktail, an elegant dinner, or a tasty brunch after a morning's shopping. The Café Romano Lounge Bar, a gloriously quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of the city, is perfect for a relaxing break during your day in Rome. The hotel offers 2 exclusive locations for events and meetings of up to 70 people: the spectacular, historic reception halls in Palazzo Torlonia, just opposite the hotel. All the services are carefully selected to provide an exceptional stay, from Les Clefs d’Or concierges and 24-hour room service to guided cultural tours or even a personal shopper.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
293Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
187Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
426Reviews10Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 219
  • 109
  • 49
  • 18
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Johanna C wrote a review Jan 2
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is beautifully decorated and very centrally located but that is where the positive points stop. We booked a superior double room. It was dark, badly lit and small. Nothing like what they show on the website. We had no choice but to lie on our beds because there was nowhere else to sit. There was a table with a chair but if you sat on the chair you would be almost on the bed. The only mirror in the bedroom was on the cupboard door. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room and they give two guests one measly small bottle of water a day. It is literally rationed and when I asked for a second bottle because we were two people I was told that they would give me a second bottle as a one-time concession. And this is at the price of 393.75 euro a night - without breakfast. The bathroom is smart but you have to run the shower for a good 5 minutes before the water is hot. The show door can only open at 45 degrees because it hits the toilet. The actual shower cubicle only had a fixed overhead shower head and it was so small it was very difficult avoiding getting your hair wet. Shower gel, shampoo and handwash are provided through fixed dispensers, there was no hair conditioner or body lotion. Breakfast is extra. The basic "Italian" breakfast cost 14 euro. This consisted on some small breadrolls, small croissants, coffee, orange juice and some jams. No cheese, hams or salamis. The internet was slow and erratic. There was scaffolding up outside our room so we never got to see the street view. Also it was quite noisy - both from the street and also in the corridors outside our room. I was looking forward to a five star experience but I was very disappointed. In short I felt ripped off. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimo Colli, Direttore generale at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate your positive feedback regarding the hotel beautifully decorated and our location. I am sad to read that you didn't like the rooms assigned. The Hotel D ‘Inghilterra, has many different sizes and styles of accommodation. None of the situations you describe should have occurred. I would therefore like to offer my most sincere apologies to you. Again my sincere apologies for causing you the mentioned inconveniences, and sad that we did not have the opportunity to meet and discuss it in person. I would be delighted to have the opportunity of welcoming you back personally that you can enjoy the usual comfort in our historical hotel with a bright façade and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to show that we really can do so much better. Yours sincerely Massimo Colli
Read more
Eileen wrote a review Dec 2021
Cork, Ireland1 contribution
To say this hotel went above and beyond is an understatement. The staff couldn’t have made our stay better. We were on a family holiday and we felt they were like family by the end. The rooms were devine and spacious. The location is ideal - a short walk from the Spanish steps. I’ll be back next year!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimo Colli, Direttore generale at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Dear Neville, First at all let me thank you for having shared your experience with TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your great comment about our staff. All the Hotel d’Inghilterra team is honored to read your kind words. Our guest’s satisfaction it is what keeps motivating us to do our best. We all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the nearby future at the Hotel d’Inghilterra Starhotels Collezione. Warm Regards from Rome Massimo Colli General Manager
Read more
Jacko3048 wrote a review Nov 2021
Sharon, Connecticut81 contributions82 helpful votes
They are doing major construction to the entire facade and the whole building is encapsulated with scaffolding. I was fortunate to have been there on the weekend when the work was called off. It did, however, make the rooms gloomy and difficult to see just what kind of day it was! I mentioned to the desk, twice, that the recorded music was too loud, especially in the breakfast roo. It was so loud, people had to raise their voices to be heard. Sadly, that suggestion was ignored. Breakfast was good once it was served. Seemed to be a good number of people but not sure just what their duties were. This brings me to my conclusion: there is a lack of managerial supervision. Stays at such a fine, old hotel should be seamless and effortless. Not so here. One exception was the very able and amiable Saskia who checked me in and actually remembered my name during my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimo Colli, Direttore generale at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Mr. Jacko, I would like to thank you for having taken your time to write your comment and happy to read your great comment about Saskia in such a complimentary way. I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. It has been taken very seriously that your recent visit to Hotel D ‘Inghilterra has been not up to out standards we adhere to. Providing the number one service is our highest priority and taking back the experience you’ve had with our Hotel is what we concentrate on, reading that we’ve not kept to our standards is something we take very seriously. We are currently working on a major renovation project to make this unique property even more exclusive. Again my sincere apologies for causing you the mentioned inconveniences, and sad that we did not have the opportunity to meet and discuss it in person. I hope you offer us the chance to demonstrate our true level of our hotel on your next visit to Rome and please let me know when you're planning your next trip. I will personally see that your stay will be a successful one. Sincerely, Massimo Colli General Manager
Read more
Travel and Wine Pro wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions
The hotel is in a great location in the city center but that’s not sufficient to make up for the rest, i.e. incredibly noisy rooms (badly isolated windows which let in all the noise from the street as well as thin walls and outdated doors which allow you to hear all neighboring rooms, the hallway etc. ), very small and not welcoming rooms that are in need of a make over, very small and outdated bathroom. The pictures of the rooms are very misleading. On the positive side is the cafe Romana with great breakfast and drinks in the evening. Will definitely not come back to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimo Colli, Direttore generale at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of the Hotel Location and our Restaurant. I would like also to apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. It has been taken very seriously that your recent visit to Hotel D ‘Inghilterra has been not up to out standards we adhere to. Providing the number one service is our highest priority and taking back the experience you’ve had with our Hotel is what we concentrate on, reading that we’ve not kept to our standards is something we take very seriously. Again my sincere apologies for causing you the mentioned inconveniences, and sad that we did not have the opportunity to meet and discuss it in person. I hope you offer us the chance to demonstrate our true level of our hotel on your next visit to Rome and please let me know when you're planning your next trip. I will personally see that your stay will be a successful one. Sincerely, Massimo Colli General Manager
Read more
MYXTYZ wrote a review Sep 2021
Anaheim Hills, CA18 contributions3 helpful votes
Excellent boutique hotel in very good condition with an excellent location. With staying here, you are within walking distance of the Spanish Steps, Vatican City, the Colosseum, shopping, the Pantheon, etc. We had a great stay but I can't give it five stars for one major reason. During our entire stay, the hotel was completely wrapped in scaffolding and construction materials which neither the travel agent or the hotel disclosed to us. The inside of the hotel and the room were lovely, but it would have been nice to actually see the outside of the hotel or to be able to open a window to see the street below. I would guess not telling us was intentional as who knows if we still would have stayed there during this team, but not disclosing the issue was simply wrong.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I usually like a hotel with some kind of view, even if just the street below, but this wasn't...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimo Colli, Direttore generale at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are extremely glad to read your positive review of our Hotel d ‘Inghilterra. I would like also to apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Starhotels is contributing to the improvement of the décor of Rome historical center. As you know Hotel d ‘Inghilterra is a landmark monument and we benefit the opportunity of an extraordinary approval form Fine Arts Authorities to restore the historical façade and bring it back to its ancient beauty. We were supposed to complete works by mid October but unfortunately there were some delay and our façade is still covered with a scaffolding for a couple of more weeks. I would be delighted to welcoming you personally back to the Hotel d ‘Inghilterra soon so that you can enjoy the usual comfort in our historical hotel with a bright façade sparkling back as it really deserves to. Warmest Regards, Massimo Colli General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$268 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
d inghilterra hotel rome, hotel d inghilterra
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCentro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Nearby attractions include Serra (0.2 miles), Spanish Steps (0.1 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bono Bottega Nostrana - Piazza di Spagna, Pinsitaly Trevi, and Pane e Salame.
Does Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel d'Inghilterra Roma - Starhotels Collezione?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.1 miles), St. Peter's Basilica (1.3 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).