We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux

Piazza Navona Largo Febo 2 Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (640)
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (236)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#289 of 1,369 hotels in Rome
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Rome does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux, a nice option for travelers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Hotel Raphael offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a rooftop terrace. Plus, Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux offers a fitness center and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

Nearby landmarks such as Palatine Hill (1.0 mi) and Colosseum (1.2 mi) make Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux a great place to stay when visiting Rome.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Rome's popular lobster restaurants such as La Pergola, Ristorante Aroma at Palazzo Manfredi, and Ad Hoc, all a short distance from Hotel Raphael Rome.

Rome is also known for some great architectural buildings, including Villa Borghese, Pantheon, and Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini, which are not too far from Hotel Raphael Rome.

Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux puts the best of Rome at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
On-demand movies
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
592Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
273Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1723Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,041
  • 378
  • 165
  • 75
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yukari K wrote a review Nov 2021
Chicago, Illinois200 contributions174 helpful votes
We're still trying to reconcile the fact that this hotel is a Relais & Chateaux property because the experience was so extremely mediocre. We've stayed in properties around the world and have never encountered such a three-star property. The best way to characterize it is if a Radisson Blu tried to be a luxury hotel. But rather than provide impressions, I'll just share some specifics: Pros: - good central location - quiet Cons: - politely, indifferent service: before we came, we asked them about the parking situation because we were arriving in a car. They gave us two options, self-park a little ways a way or the hotel could park it for us. We asked the hotel to park it, but they did not warn us that they are on a one way street that is difficult to navigate, so we ended up going around in circles (Google Maps tried to lead us down an alley that was half the width of a standard car). When I got out of the car to ask, the front desk was astonishingly indifferent, also pointing out that the only way to arrive at the hotel was to drive through a street that was prohibited for non-locals (which is different than the response we got via email). - the room: tiny and felt like a radisson blu. there is no coffee machine in the room, only a cheap hotpot and teabags. (not a big deal but this should be standard issue at this level). capsule coffee is available by the front desk. - shampoo and soap are in cheap plastic dispensers that are attached to the bathroom walls. You squeeze the bottle to get some. The quality of both were unremarkable. The shampoo and conditioner. I understand that small bottles are wasteful. However, at this level, there are better ways to present this. They might take a lesson from Aman properties, who puts branded products in very nice dispensers. - bathtub is very narrow and the "rain forest" shower on one end is attached so far to the edge that you have to stand partly on the sloped edge to fully stand under the water. - box of tissues was empty except for a couple tissues stuffed in at the top (which shows that the cleaning person knew it was empty) - the bathroom was so small that the towel holder was right next to the shower head inside the glass enclosure. - the bed/mattress: the hotel has the weirdest feature ever, which is that it has an outdated adjustable feature that "lets" you move the head, foot and middle of the mattress. It's a feature that no one looks for in a hotel bed, and because the technology is so old, it's not great. Long story short, the mattress actually never laid exactly flat, so I had the most uncomfortable sleep. The foot of the bed was a little raised, so it felt like the middle of my body was in a hole. On top of that, the bed had an extremely soft mattress pad (as if you're sleeping on a bunch of comforters). If you like a firm bed, this is a non-starter. The only explanation for this hotel still being a Relais & Chateaux is that they have not done an inspection in a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Response from Roberto Vannoni, Direttore generale at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mrs. Yukari, We thank you for your time spent on this detailed review. We are sorry that your stay at our property didn’t meet completely your expectations. We care about to guarantee the standards to which our customers have always been accustomed. We would like to try to answer you to all your disappointing details: - Parking: we always inform our guests that since our hotel is situated in the City Center, in the Restricted Traffic Area, the car’s plate number must be communicated to the authorities to gain permission to access and circulate in that area. We apologize for the misunderstanding at your arrival time. The street is not prohibited for non-locals, but we are in a Restricted Traffic Area. This is the reason why it is difficult to park in the street we are. - Coffee Machine: At the moment, for a technical problem, we the coffee machines are out of use in all rooms of the hotel. This is why we have put one in the hall, available for all the guests. - Shampoo and soap dispenser: The reason why we have decided to put them instead of plastic container is that they become rubbish and we are part of Bio Hotel. We care about the sustainability of all our practices. Nevertheless, thank you for your details about bath issues, our guests’ feedback is important to improve our work and services. Regarding the size of the bath, we have all the details on our website, we are sorry that it wasn’t according to your expectations. - Bedroom: The room you had was the Richard Meier Deluxe Room with terrace, one of our unique rooms. It has a style that for many of the hotel rooms bears the signature of one of the greatest architects of our time, Richard Meier. The tempur matresses are new and of high quality, they are appreciated by all our guests. We are sorry that you didn’t like them. We apologize and thank you for the details provided, on which we will be able to work to improve and, why not, be able to change your mind next time. Please let us know when you would like to come next time, we will be happy to take care of your experience. We thank you for sending us your comments, we will certainly try to turn them into our strengths. We also hope to welcome you back to our Mater Terrae to be able to positively surprise you in the future. Best regards, Roberto E. Vannoni - General Manager
Read more
CuriousTraveller wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom71 contributions68 helpful votes
Not even one star - Probably the worst hotel stay ever. Not only was the room 10 sq meters on two separate floors connected by a staircase - so positively dangerous, but above all the hotel had no hot water and when that was pointed out to the manager (whom I had to receive in underwear as this alleged 5* hotel has no bathrobes), no solution was offered - no other room was offered and when I said I was moving to another hotel, no refund was offered. In the days after, the reservations department offered to refund the second night I had booked, and 20% of the cost for the first night (when I left). I refused that, and in the end got no refund at all. This is now stuck in dispute resolution with American Express. What a disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
Betis74 wrote a review Nov 2021
Madrid, Spain1 contribution
Poor maintenance and low value for money. Lowest quality Realais & Chateux I have ever been in. Old property, non flexible checkout policy, rooms not made up at 14:00,… It shouldn’t be rated a 5 stars, more likely a low tier 4 stars I will not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
advis0r28 wrote a review Oct 2021
Fontvieille, Monaco82 contributions37 helpful votes
When we are next back in Rome, we will be staying here again. A lovely hotel with super friendly staff and great facilities. It’s also right in the heart of Rome. Each corner you turn in this city, there is something delightful to witness … this is no exception. Had a lovely 3 nights here. Miss it dearly , already.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Needs a biiiiit of renovation / corridors need upgrading as they seem dated now.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Roberto Vannoni, Direttore generale at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, We thank you for your warm review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais & Chateaux, especially our location and the attention in our services. We wait for welcoming you again. Best regards, Roberto E. Vannoni - General Manager
Read more
Travelpro56V wrote a review Oct 2021
New York160 contributions96 helpful votes
We only stay at the Hotel Raphael when visiting Rome. The location is unparalleled and the staff is warm and accommodating. It's nice that they know you're a "regular" when you visit, and as a first trip after the pandemic year of 2020, it was glorious.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Roberto Vannoni, Direttore generale at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Mrs. Irena, We thank you for giving us such a warm score. We are grateful for reading that you have appreciated and loved your last experience at our Bio Hotel Raphael – Relais & Chayeaux. We hope to see you again next time. Best regards, Roberto E. Vannoni - General Manager
Read more
$266 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
raphael hotel rome
ItalyLazioRomeNavona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori / Centro / Ponte
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Which popular attractions are close to Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Nearby attractions include Pantheon (0.3 miles), Piazza Navona (0.10 miles), and Murano Max (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pasta In Corso, CiPASSO Bistrot, and Two Sizes -Tiramisù in Rome-.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux have airport transportation?
Yes, Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Peter's Basilica (0.9 miles), Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.4 miles), and Colosseum (1.2 miles).
Is Bio Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.