We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starhotels Metropole

Save
Share
Via Principe Amedeo 3, 00185 Rome Italy
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Official Hotel
$164
View Deal
Hotels.com
$149
View Deal
Agoda.com
$164
$113
View Deal
SAVE $51
eDreams$149
Trip.com$122
Expedia.com$149
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (810)
Room & Suite (451)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Starhotels Metropole
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#235 of 1,347 hotels in Rome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
With its evocative blend of comfort and class, the Starhotels Metropole shows Rome at its multifaceted best. Located in the city centre, near the Roma Termini railway station and the Teatro dell' Opera, its 236 newly renovated rooms and suites are an oasis of peace and relaxation away from the bustle of the city. In the elegant, intimate setting of the Apicio by Eataly restaurant, guests can enjoy the best of the City's culinary tradition as well as international dishes, while the Bistrot Rendez Vous by Eataly bar is the ideal setting for a coffee, a quick lunch or a cocktail. The 9 meeting rooms, equipped with cutting-edge technology, can host up to 160 people and are ideal venues for business meetings and private events.
Read more
Room & Suite (451)451
Full view
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Strollers
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
2,618Reviews54Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,020
  • 1,203
  • 286
  • 72
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul W wrote a review Oct 2020
Hounslow, United Kingdom1 contribution
My partner and I stayed here in August. The initial welcome was nice and the room was adequate. Nothing fancy but fine for a weekend. At this time the hotel was very quiet and so felt a little bit of a ghost town. The breakfast had been changed for Covid regulations and the servers, one male and a younger male were friendly and remembered things about how we have certain items of breakfast, which I thought was really good service. On our second night we returned to the hotel at 0015. We were unable to enter the hotel without ringing a bell, which we did. A small man with no hair ( the night staff member seemingly ) came to the door and we showed him the key. We walked in and proceeded to the lifts. He shouted after us room number and names. I replied with the room number. He said “ I need names” His attitude had already got my back up. When I asked him why? He said “ because we could have picked the key up off the floor and does he have to call the police?” I was horrified and outraged. I asked him what was he going to call them for? To tell them a guest was trying to access their room! I provided the names and then asked did he wish to accompany us to the door so he could check the contents and we could tell him what was in the room. I advised him he was very rude and I would be writing the review. His response? He laughed in our faces and then told me to call the police 🤭 I smiled and said “ I thought they were on their way already?” I have no idea what caused this attitude. My only assumption is that it was because we were two gay males. Perhaps I am wrong. Irrespective of this, I was spoken to in a disgusting manner. I complained at check out but “ no manager was on shift” I also followed up with an email but no offer of a service recovery. I was told he followed procedure but he certainly did not convey his message in the correct manner. If you are LGBT, I would not stay here. If you don’t want to feel like a teenager again, going home late and being scalded by your parents then don’t stay here. If you are already here and you make a complaint, expect an apology if you are lucky. It’s time staff in hotels realised with low occupancies, we have more and more choice of where to stay. I won’t be returning. Rgds
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Starhotels Metropole Starhotels Metropole, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear paulwW5564QR, Here below please find our reply sent to you on August 10th, 2020. "I was reported by one of our employees that you had a problem returning to our hotel last Saturday night. Due to security procedures , during the night. Since the door is closed, it is normal for customers to be asked to identify themselves. We are sorry if our employee has not expressed himself with courtesy or perhaps the requests have not been perceived in the correct way, generating a misunderstanding. In any case please note our LGBT customers are always Welcome! We aspire to certain essential priorities, among many, as courteous staff aimed at customer satisfaction and impeccable service. We regret if these aspects were not achieved and we definitely work on what you’re kindly pointed out in your reporting to improve ourselves and our service. We do hope to welcome you once more in the near future. With our best regards." Luddi Graziano GM Starhotels Metropole
Read more
Simon H wrote a review Sep 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom149 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
Originally booked to stay at the Michelangelo but contacted direct by reservations to move to the Metropole a couple of days before we were due to arrive. Stayed here for 5 nights and I think it was a good decision to move. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby and of course 10 minute walk from Termini train station. In these difficult times the hotel had it covered with plenty of hand sanitizer available, staff and guests wearing face coverings while moving around lobby, lift and corridors. We had a beautiful room with bath and shower, excellent air conditioning which was needed during another hot week in Rome. Huge comfortable bed and separate sofa. Tea and coffee making facility in room too and good free wi-fi. Nice choice for breakfast and staff serving rather than usual self service. Enjoyed having a pot of coffee with breakfast which meant at least a couple of cups first thing. Both check-in and check-out were a breeze taking nothing more than a few minutes. Not unexpectedly few guest staying at the hotel, but everything was open as normal. Enjoyed having a drink in the evening in the bar and treated to crisps and nuts. Perfect. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rome and explore.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Starhotels Metropole Starhotels Metropole, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Dear Si_boy, It is a pleasure for us to read your comments about our hotel. We are happy that your stay in Rome was as pleasant as you expected. We would be very pleased to welcome you again and we send you our best kindest regards. Graziano Luddi General Manager Starhotels Metropole
Read more
Lucy wrote a review Sep 2020
21 contributions8 helpful votes
Ended up staying here after my original booking at Star Hotel Michaelangelo was transferred just as I was boarding flight. Because of lack of bookings the hotel hadn't reopened due to covid. After a stressful flight worried as I had booked transfers with hotel where I was actually going to stay. However upon landing our driver was waiting and when we checked in they were so helpful and glad to see us. They upgraded us to a suite which was lovely all the usual facilities in room. Modern hotel. Near the Termini Station two mins walk. Approx 20/30 mins walk to all the attraction with the Vatican being further away. More of a business area rather than tourist area. But nice nevertheless. We had hop on hop off bus which took the pressure off a lot of walking. As the heat was unbearable. We didn't eat at the hotel, there are several restaurants, snack bars, bistro in the area. For Breakfast through to evening meal or just drinks. We did have drinks at the bar and have to give a big shout out to Luciano the Bar Man who was fantastic and even recommended places for us to eat and areas to go etc. Trastevere is a must. Rome has been hit hard by lack of tourists during Covid. And we were treated like royalty. Would definitely recommend Star Hotel Chain in future even though this wasn't my planned hotel or planned location....Hope tourists return to this beautiful city and lovely people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Starhotels Metropole Starhotels Metropole, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Dear Lucy P, Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best regards, Graziano Luddi General Manager Starhotels Metropole Rome
Read more
Mrs A wrote a review Aug 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in August 2020 and found the hotel very nice indeed. We are a family of 3 and our room was huge with full size bathroom. The room and hotel overall were scrupulously clean, staff friendly and helpful. Sanitisation stations throughout hotel.The only slight disappointment was the breakfast, buffet style but "post Covid" recovery means most items were served to you rather than help yourself and the choice seemed slightly limited. Main sights were within walking distance...we went to Vatican on metro which was easy to use...overall excellent city break
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Starhotels Metropole Starhotels Metropole, General Manager at Starhotels Metropole
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Dear Alison L, we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Metropole. Regarding the buffet breakfast, we take in consideration your suggestion, and we will work in order to improve our service. Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards. Graziano Luddi General Manager Starhotels Metropole Rome
Read more
Dunamana wrote a review Apr 2020
Galway, Ireland18 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed here at the end of February, this year. We found the staff to be very friendly & helpful. our room was lovely and brekfast was very good. We thought it was a perfect base for walking to the sites such as the Colleseum, short taxi to the Vatican and the opera house is just around the corner. We ate at the Amadeo Restauant across the road on the first night and it was excellent and there were great bars on this street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Starhotels Metropole Starhotels Metropole, Direttore generale at Starhotels Metropole
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Dear Dunamana, thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. We hope to have you as guest for your next stay in Rome. With our best regards. Mr Graziano Luddi GM
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
starhotels metropole hotel rome, rome metropole, metropole rome starhotel, starhotels metropole rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCastro Pretorio / Termini / Centro / Esquilino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
236
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Starhotels Metropole
Which popular attractions are close to Starhotels Metropole?
Nearby attractions include Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.3 miles), Basilica di Santa Prassede (0.3 miles), and Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Starhotels Metropole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Starhotels Metropole?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Starhotels Metropole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Starhotels Metropole?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Starhotels Metropole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelateria Il Capriccio di Carla, Quel Che C'è Laboratorio di Cucina, and Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Starhotels Metropole?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Starhotels Metropole have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Starhotels Metropole offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Starhotels Metropole located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Rome.
Are any cleaning services offered at Starhotels Metropole?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Starhotels Metropole offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.