Hotel Hassler

Hotel Hassler

Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome Italy
Traveler (813)
View
Room & Suite (380)
Salone Dei Medici - Breakfast Room at the Hotel Hassler
Dining (115)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Get rewarded with One Key
$1,685
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
No prepayment needed
$1,687
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#39 of 1,230 hotels in Rome
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 87 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
Fiumicino Airport
13.7 mi
See all flights
Spagna
2 minRome Metro
1,430Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,116
  • 173
  • 75
  • 33
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
xiaocai wrote a review Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany402 contributions177 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This iconic property at the top of the Spanish steps really provides a lot of charme and outstanding service. At check in and throughout the stay everyone we interacted with knew our names, we received an upgrade to a room with exactly the features we had requested with a small balcony and a huge bathroom, received all the Leaders Club amenities. We found service to be really outstanding. At breakfast, when the waitress noticed that the 2 of us did not eat very much, she proactively put only one person’s breakfast on the bill (At Hassler, you have to sign the bill at breakfast which is then cancelled at check out for Leaders Club members). How attentive is that, please? However, we thought that the breakfast room looked very tired and the breakfast offering could be updated to keep up with competition (such as the Giardino at Hotel Eden). The other reason why we only gave 4 points is that the hotel’s front facade was being renovated and entirely in scaffolding when we arrived. This was not clear to us from the hotel website and gave us a negative impression at first. Turned out to be no issue as the hotel had blocked and not rented out any front facing rooms, but could have been mentioned on the website to avoid initial irritation.

A highlight is the 7th floor guests-only outdoor terrace with heaters where we ordered Amatriciana and red wine and enjoyed the sunset over Rome - simply spectacular.

Once the hotel is fully refurbished, we will certainly return to the Hassler when in Rome!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler and for having taken the time to share your comments about your experience. I am very pleased to learn that your overall impression was a good one and that you found the service provided by our staff outstanding. We aim to exceed our guest’s expectations every time they visit the Hassler by providing our traditionally renowned professional and welcoming guest care. However, I am sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectations and I wish to thank you for pointing it out, as criticisms as well as praises are great tools to improve our service. I also regret that the scaffolding on the façade gave you a bad first impression: unfortunately, those were works that could not be postponed but they are now over and I hope you will have many more opportunities to return to the Eternal City and stay at the Hassler! With kindest regards, Roberto E. Wirth President and Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip Dicken wrote a review Feb 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do we start? The Hassler quite simply has the wow factor. From the spotless elegant rooms to the incredible staff, this hotel is quite simply one of the best, not just in Rome, but worldwide.

We checked in on Friday 14th February and with deep regret we leave tomorrow.

From the time we arrived the hotel took our breath away. The car from the airport had barely come to a stop when before we even realised what was happening the hotel staff had opened the car doors, ushered us delightfully to the lobby and taken care of our cases. We’d forgotten we even had cases until they arrived seamlessly in our room.

The staff here are incredible. This is customer service done to perfection. Classic, tasteful, and utterly professional without ever being over bearing or pompous. Every body here makes you feel completely welcome and quite,simply as if you belong.

There’s a saying that you get what you pay for. That couldn’t be more true of this hotel. It might not be cheap, but oh boy do you get rewarded for what you pay here.

The Hassler is 5 star class, sophistication and elegance wrapped up in warm, welcoming and utterly professional service.

There is nothing to fault. Thank you Hassler, we will remember this trip forever......and certainly until we return!

Phil and Lisa Dicken
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Dicken, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler as your destination In Rome and for having taken a few moments to share your experience. It is our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to make their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible, so you can imagine how glad I am each time our valued guests take a moment to let me know how much they enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and for your comments about your accommodation and about the staff. It will be a pleasure to share your positive comments with all of them. I do hope you will return to Rome in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hassler! Kindest regards, Roberto E. Wirth President and Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SALOSAN wrote a review Oct 2021
Malta114 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful family-run hotel in the grand city of the Dolce Vita - lovely hallway, super courteous and attentive staff at reception, concierge, breakfast and housekeeping.

An immaculate and spacious room, and breakfast / evening aperitifs in the large internal courtyard at ground floor level due to Summertime weather still prevailing at end September.

This hotel felt cozy and just like a home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Wirth, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler during your visit to Rome and for having taken a few moments to share your experience. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, as well as your dining experiences and our infrastructure. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hassler, hoping that the future stores many more opportunities for you to stay with us. Greetings from the Eternal City! Roberto E. Wirth Proprietor & Executive President
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daria B wrote a review Aug 2020
New York City, New York13 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleaner put away my headphones (in the night stand) so I couldn’t find them. After we departed I wrote email to the hotel asking about it, they replied that they found them and ready to send it but I have to pay for it and delivery will cost over 100 euros.
By the way we stayed in the suite that costs 6000/night, that’s how they treat their costumers
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barbiedoll55 wrote a review Oct 2022
Nanaimo, Canada74 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent in all aspects; service, room and location!
Located at the top of the Spanish Steps and a central location if you are into
walking. Our room was very quiet; the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and not a detail missed. Breakfast was included. They have a lovely outdoor, rooftop terrace to sit for drinks or a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob J. wrote a review Jan 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect service and clean junior suite, for the duration of a day the hot water mysteriously disappeared!! but the front desk gave such a discount upon departure that we felt it was a fair compensation. Well staffed, concierge gets top marks, bar also perfect but unfortunately the cigar lounge was closed for renovation although we had booked extra because it had the cigar lounge and it was a nice place. Maybe next time.

Tip for the hotel to improve the whole experience: Replace the footmen who stand by the door with some people who are more social and happy to be around people, they were like statues and their smiles were forced/frozen. Genuinely happy people makes the reception a nice and warm place for all of us, that would be a real upgrade and you just need to find the right people
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHassler, Direttore at Hotel Hassler
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler during your visit to Rome and for having taken the time to share comments about your experience. It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you also for having shared your additional notes in regards to the attitude of part of our staff member as this allows us to constantly improve upon our services. I am also pleased to inform you that our Cigar room has been recently renovated and is now open. I hope you will have many more opportunities to return to stay at the Hassler in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back! Greetings from the Eternal City! Best Regards, Roberto E. Wirth President and Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Compass624321 wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Exited to stay at Rome's top hotel only to be disappointed by service issues not normally associated with a 5 star $1k night hotel. We booked through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts. After a warm and friendly greeting we were treated to coffee and pastries while waiting for our early check in. There was no upgrade. Our Deluxe Double was spacious and had a small balcony with an awful view of interior walls. The carpet was very stained. Nice bathroom and dressing area. Drinks on 7th floor very expensive but worth it for the view. Housekeeping entered while we were in the room. Only half of the bed received turn down service. No wash cloths or hand towels were provided after housekeeping. No in room coffee machine so we ordered coffee the night before to be delivered before airport departure and had to hunt it down. Breakfast was terrible which is made worse by the fact you are in Rome where the pastries are to die for. The Hassler is an average hotel with a great location and a friendly, helpful staff but not worth the money and not up to the 5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary L wrote a review Mar 2020
Oshkosh, Wisconsin58 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were planning a stay in a Rome prior to our cruise and selected The Hassler due to its pre-cruise package - a great deal. We took advantage of the personal assistant at the airport and the hotel transfer and felt like VIP’s. Very welcome after our long overnight flight from the US. The assistant insisted on handling our bags for us and getting us through some airport construction to find our driver. All seamless. We spent 6 lovely nights at The Hassler in early Feb 2020. The staff were so friendly and accommodating from the time we entered the hotel treating us like frequent returning customers. We were fortunate to have a room overlooking the Spanish Steps and what a view! A very comfy bed, too. We enjoyed a few meals in Salone Eva and enjoyed great food and impeccable service. Such friendly staff who made certain we were happy with everything from our drink orders to our food. The buffet breakfast was really good, too, with a wide variety of selections and the same service in a beautiful dining room. So many friendly people who pampered us and made us feel like we were the most important people there. We loved their Amorvero body lotion and wish we could buy it online but unable to find it anywhere. Our transfer to Civitavecchia took us right to the cruise terminal and helped us get our bags dropped off with the handlers. All top notch service. We hope to return here in the future to enjoy the luxury of the Hassler. This was the best service we have ever experienced and heartily recommend staying at this hotel. You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Request Room 608 if possible. The overview of the Spanish Steps and Rome can’t be beat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberto Wirth, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler
Responded Jan 30, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler during your visit to Rome and for having taken a few moments to share your experience. I am very glad to read your wonderful words, not only in regards to your arrival experience, but also towards our staff and the Hassler. I truly hope you will have many more opportunities to stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hassler for another unforgettable stay in the Eternal City! Best Regards, Roberto E. Wirth President and Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiili wrote a review Apr 2023
Davis, California606 contributions329 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located on the top of the Spanish Steps is unbeatable because you can walk everywhere to restaurants, shopping, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and of course Piazza Navona - no need for taxis. The hotel staff is incredible. Everyone knew our name everyday. They were so friendly and helpful. We checked in and realized our room was facing the street, we asked if we could have an internal room and within minutes we had it. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The housekeeping staff after one day recognized what we needed and just did it without asking. We had room service one day and it arrived on time and the order was correct and the food was perfect. You cannot ask for a nicer hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wbarnim wrote a review Jan 2020
Bangkok, Thailand164 contributions113 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have to start by saying that we did not stay at the Hassler. We stayed at the J.K. Place Roma but had two reservations at the Hassler, one for afternoon tea and one for dinner at the Imago. We made these reservations to get to know the hotel a bit in case we preferred it for future stays in Rome. Anyway we showed up for our afternoon tea. We walked in and told one member of the reception that the J.K. Place Roma had made a reservation for afternoon tea with them. The answer, which was delivered very bluntly was: This is the Hassler, not the J.K.". He wasn't very interested when we tried to clarify that he had misunderstood. We finally got our table, but the process of getting there was very unpleasant. The actual tea and sweets was mediocre. The waiter who served us in the tea room was a lot nicer then his colleague. Anyway, we left pretty fast because this was overall not a welcoming atmosphere. When we were back at the J.K. Place Roma we asked them to cancel our dinner at the Imago, for fear that our experience there would match the treatment we received at the reception. In brief, we could possibly have had a wonderful dinner but if you are treated this poorly before you get to your Michelin starred food, it doesn't seem worse the effort. Especially because we found the service in Rome otherwise to be very friendly and nice. Too bad. Of course, any idea of staying at the Hassler in the future vanished as well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHassler, Direttore at Hotel Hassler
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for having visited the Hassler during your stay in Rome, but also for having taken the time to share your experience with us. We cannot but apologize and thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We have spoken to everybody at the Front Office and Concierge team and we are going to take steps to ensure that this situation does not repeat itself. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. I hope you will however return to stay at the Hassler in the near future in order to give us the opportunity of providing the unforgettable stay we are renowned for. Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards, Roberto E. Wirth President and Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Captain1002
Miami Beach, Florida19 contributions34 helpful votes
Yes, quite small 6 tables, but lovely view.
Answer from Frank a
42 contributions17 helpful votes
I believe that the renovations are complete.
mahdtii asked a question Aug 2017
Miami, Florida164 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have interconnecting /adjoining rooms for 2 adults and their 15 yr old son?
Answer from Dolo1123
Toronto, Canada46 contributions5 helpful votes
Call the Hotel Hassler, the staff are very knowledgable. We were only two ppl., so this didn't affect our stay.
BeastieMonteCarlo asked a question Apr 2017
Monte Carlo50 contributions65 helpful votes
is there secure or valet parking?
Answer from Dolo1123
Toronto, Canada46 contributions5 helpful votes
You can park in front of the hotel for free, to have the car parked inside is 50 euros per day
Rebecca K wrote a tip May 13
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t hesitate to reach out to the concierge team in advance for restaurant reservations, private tours etc."
Read full review
Michael F wrote a tip Oct 2023
New York12 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a reservation for sunset at the terrace bar! "
Read full review
JMBPittsburgh wrote a tip Oct 2023
Saint Clairsville, Ohio88 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reservations recommended for Palm Court and 7th Floor Terrace. "
Read full review
BD wrote a tip Sep 2023
Bromley, United Kingdom849 contributions313 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the 7th Floor Terrace for pre dinner drinks."
Read full review
Oliver G wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go in the summer, rather spring time, prices are cheaper throughout the city and it’s a lot less busy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,463 - $1,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hassler hotel rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCentro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HASSLER - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hassler
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hassler?
Nearby attractions include Serra (0.2 miles), Spanish Steps (0.07 miles), and I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hassler?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hassler?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hassler?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hassler?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hassler?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pinsitaly Trevi, La Strega Nocciola, and Trecaffè Due Macelli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Hassler?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Hassler have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Hassler offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hassler?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Hassler offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hassler?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Hotel Hassler
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars