We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Show Prices
#25 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this hotel lately for a three night stay Wednesday - Saturday while visiting Naples. Our room was located on the third floor directly across from the main function room where they had wedding's every night during our staying. Far from relaxing with Wedding noise until the early hours of the morning. Reception staff not the most helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennifer0587
Marianna S, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Jennifer Hunter, (we know your full name because you alse emailed the hotel about that) We appreciate you chosed our historical property for your trip in Naples. In general the atmosphere we try to create for our distinctive Guests is of relaxing and charming stay. Due to the very unique charateristics of the property (we are a former... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic location and views from the roof top bar/swimming pool, and breakfast is fantastic! Great staff and very helpful and welcoming, wonderful rooms - we had a beautiful view from our window, breakfast was superb and we will be back! The walk down to the shopping area and bay was fab! Thank you for a very amazing stay.

Helpful?
Thank Whoopwhoopholiday
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was our oasis and refuge in this loud, dirty and aggressive city. The hotel is ancient and has charm and unique offerings including the most beautiful roof garden we've ever seen (it was grass, trees, flowers and gorgeous views!) Our room was more than adequate with two huge Windows looking over the bay. For us it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally W
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Sally W, thank you for your review. We are always grateful when we read reviews like these. You have appreciated the atmosphere of our Hotel. Thank you also on behalf of our staff. Hoping to see you soon here in our Hotel. Best Regards Marianna Sarno More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this hotel in August with my brother. A lot of people thought we were crazy for going to Naples in August, but it turned out to be brilliant. This hotel is ancient, quirky mysterious and weird, but also comfortable and well-located. It is nowhere near the train station, which is perfect. Believe me, you don't want to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Celia M
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Celia M, thank you for your very detailed review, it is always a pleasure read these ones. Yes, the position of our Hotel is one of our strong point. We are pleased that you have appreciated the special atmosphere of our Hotel. This was an old monastery and our aim was that to preserve this kind of atmosphere. The... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful room in this converted monastery. Plenty of historical features to explore within the hotel. Roof terrace with small pool and hidden pool in the rock. Polite staff and good food. Downside - there are weddings almost daily. Marriages tend to be late in the day at the church next door. Meal in the large hall on the 3rd floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pevbay
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Pevbay, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have appreciated the special atmosphere of our Hotel. Exactly, it is a converted monastery full of history. Thank you also on behalf of our staff. Regarding the weddings, you have reason. Unfortunately, the unfavorable weather conditions didn't allow us to make all the marriages occur on the roof... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast is good with a gorgeous view. The roof terrace and pool are also stunning (but they shut for private functions from 5 so kiss goodbye to the view / sunset as summer is wedding season) The room was on the small side and quite dark. The area is edgy and fun to explore. The staff were pleasant but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo G
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Leo G, thank you for your review. We are happy that you have appreciated our roof terrace and our pool. We want to say you that these ones function until 5 pm for two important reasons. Firstly, because of the maintenance. We have to proceed to the change of chlorine in the pool and this takes a long time.... More 

County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay here in August. Staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay so personal. the view from the bedrooms is sensational...the whole gulf of Naples and Island of Capri. the rooftop pool is really special, an idea place for relaxation. We didn't really enjoy Naples as a city (very dirty) however this hotel was literally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aine T
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Aine T, we want to thank you for your review about our Hotel. The aim of an holiday is that to have some relax, so we are really pleased that you have had a great time in our Hotel. We are so sorry that you have not appreciated our City. Naples is a beautiful city, of course with its... More 

paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great place if you want to atone for your sins, should had kept as a convent. as it is they didnt make any big effort to improve. well... yes , the view is beautiful, but so it is at the Parkers , that is much less expensive and a real hotel. this place is a project abandoned mid way.... and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ParisBrunetti
Marianna S, Owner at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Brunetti, I have read with a lot of attention your review and after a careful survey, we are sure that you have never been to our Hotel. We suppose that you want to use only our pool, as a lot of guests of other Hotels do, and you have been stopped by our "grump" attendant because the use... More 

uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was nice. We had a superior room. It had a seating area and stairs up to the bathroom. We loved this quirkiness. Breakfast was lovely. The views were gorgeous of the bay and mount Vesuvius. We had drinks on the rooftop after our dinner out and it was beautiful. There is a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank murphyph
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear murphyph, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here at the San Francesco al Monte. It is always a pleasure seeing that our guest can appreciate the special atmosphere of our Hotel, which was an old monastery. Thank you also on behalf of our staff. We are pleased that you have... More 

Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here three years ago and loved it so decided to stay again with our 2 teenage children. It is still a great hotel but needs some updating. We had a lovely room with a terrace but the air conditioner was very noisy and completely inadequate for the size of room. The jacuzzi shower was small and did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
Marianna S, Director of Sales at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review

Dear Patrick G, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have appreciated some of our strongest point. But also thank you for your highlighting. We will take into consideration what you have said, in order to improve our structure and our services. Regarding our staff, thanks for your beautiful words. We always work hard in order to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

993 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (155)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (584)
Viewed
Amenities (95)
Viewed
Junior Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Room (60)
Viewed
Terrace Room (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (233)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#16 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
#62 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
#13 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Royal Continental Hotel
#40 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Price Range: $125 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Naples
#16 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#26 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay