We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa

Traveler (264)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (346)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#14 of 43 hotels in Island of Capri
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa is glad to welcoming our special guests starting from April to October ... During your stay here at Villa Marina Capri, a 5 star hotel & Spa in Capri, you will definitely appreciate our impeccable service, our design rooms decorated with a touch of contemporary creativity, and the charming atmosphere of an early twentieth century home. Our hotel is tucked away in a private garden along the part of the coast that faces the Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples, only steps away from the Piazzetta which is the centre of Capri's day and night life. Don't miss to make reservation as soon as possible in order to get the most convenient accomodation for a comfortable and relaxing vacation on Capri island!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
394Reviews
5Q+A
54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 296
  • 53
  • 24
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed for three nights at the end of May 2019 as part of our honeymoon, and it didn't get off to a great start as nobody was there to meet us off the ferry, as arranged. We waited for 10-15 minutes for the shuttle bus, but soon came to realise this was just the way things seemed to be on Capri as a whole. The shuttle bus was a very useful service and worked well for us. The weather was far from ideal during our stay and the hotel were helpful in making suggestions and we made the most of some hikes across the island. We managed an afternoon in the sun by the pool and the hotel were very good on our day of check out as we had a late ferry, so managed a shower before departure etc. Breakfast was very good and the room was great. The gym area is small but useable. The big frustration was arriving and being told we weren't able to use the spa as it was fully booked, despite me speaking with the hotel to make sure arrangements were made for our arrival etc - they didn't mention a) the spa had to be booked and b) it might fill up. So for a rainy day of our arrival we ended up walking around Capri in the rain to kill time. All in all, the weather detracted slightly from our stay but the hotel could tighten up a few elements of their offer to make it truly five star.
Read more
Horrible! Do NOT stay here if you wanting and “paying” for a 5 star experience. If you are paying more than $400-$500 per night, you are getting ripped off. Was expecting 5 star, got a 3.5 star hotel Everything “looks” really nice but anything deeper than that, you’ll find disappointing. To start off, we enjoyed our experience in Capri because it is a beautiful place and it was part of our honeymoon but would definitely choose to NOT stay here again and would recommend other hotels to friends. In fact, we were so upset and disappointed it almost ruined our honeymoon! My husband and I are both well traveled and only stay in 5 star hotels and he is also a “hotelie” develops and owns his own luxury hotels in the US. So he knows his stuff and is sooo mad at himself for booking this place which is why it almost ruined our entire trip. We decided to stay at Villa Marina last minute for 3 nights of our honeymoon before we head to the Belmond Caruso in Ravello (which is incredible!!!) for the remainder of our trip. We prefer 5 star luxury boutique or mid size hotels and was expecting that here. Definitely disappointed with what we thought we were getting. It was nice but not the type of hotel that should be advertising and charging 5 star rates...We went to Caesar Augustus one night and the difference in service is very clear that this hotel is not 5 stars. I actually had to talk my husband out from canceling and switching hotels mid stay. (Only bc I didn’t want to pack up everything again) PROS -Very beautiful grounds -stylish and posh decor -peaceful location -managers seemed to want to help with our issues CONS (a lot of them) -waiting at the port and can’t find driver and they are NOT holding a sign with your name (like the other five star hotels were) -Room is very stylish but it is an extremely awkward layout and so is the bathroom -toilet paper and tissues are cheap and horrible... gas stations have better. You would think a 5 star hotel wouldn’t skimp on these details -Our $$$$ a night pool suite room had a sandy pool and the jacuzzi jets were broken upon arrival (they did fix though in a timely manner) -the other hotel guests staying in pool suite next door to us decided to blast their music to the point where I could still hear it in shower and finally had to have management tell them to lower it. Keep in mind that this is a hotel and spa so you would think it would be relaxing but it sounded like a Vegas pool party. -very noisy once in room...service staff run through the hallways and are talking loud in the early hours and it is extremely noisy and echoes so forget getting a full nights rest -Getting a drink at the pool is a disaster... took almost 30min and the waiter seemed annoyed. Also dirty glasses and towels everywhere without anyone picking up so I had to move them myself to put my own drink down and then he disappeared never to be seen again so good luck! You are better off bringing your own to the pool! -the shuttle is a joke because it runs every hour or whenever they feel like so we must have spent at least $100 a day on taxis so take that into consideration -WiFi is spotty -The spa is a little underwhelming for the way they market it. It’s just ok nothing to showcase Overall, we feel we made a mistake in choosing this hotel and should’ve chosen something else but we wanted to try something different this go around. It’s upsetting to think we are paying $1500 per night for this.
Read more
Response from HVMCapri, Direttore vendite at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. We always ask our guests at the check out how they feel about the stay, because the more information we get about how to improve, the better. As you gave us no insight as you were leaving, we are glad you eventually decided to write a review. We are so happy you loved our garden, the decor of our rooms, suites and public areas, the relaxing vibe of the hotel, and appreciated the willingness of our managers to help. As far as the room's layout and the spa's dimensions are concerned, here is the thing. Villa Marina Capri Hotel & SPA was built at the beginning of the 20th century as a private, caprese villa. 10 years ago it was turned into a 5 star hotel. We decided to keep its original architectural layout, which is what makes this hotel unique - as it is widely ackowledged by the most refined audience and public. The same goes for the SPA. Because of such architectural layout it cannot be possibly bigger than it is. Still, it is well equipped: 3 treatment rooms, a jacuzzi pool, sauna, turkish bath, showers and a small fitness area. I am sorry you did not like it. Still, thank you for telling us. The shuttle. Our keeholders feature the shuttle schedule on the back: a complimentary service we grant all our guests from / to the port of Capri, and from / to the town's centre. We also make sure, as we did with you, that our guests know they need to book the shuttle in advance, as our driver runs a lot of services every day, all day long. I am sorry the guests next door were listening to loud music. As you may understand, we cannot be blamed for that. However, as you yourself said, we asked them to turn the volume down as you requested us to do so. All in all, we are deeply sorry your experience here with us has not been up to your expectations. We do hope you may want to come back in the future and appreciate the high quality service we are able to provide. My warmest reagards, Antonio Desiderio Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
Wish I could submit a video, but sadly it only allows photos. This hotel although beautiful grounds missed a lot of service points and people running it including Danielle the male manager was rude. This is not a five star hotel! This is not a spa hotel!!! First upon check in it’s small but beautiful. Complimentary hand massage and welcome drink. Then it went down hill fast. We after waiting hours were finally brought to our room. We got zero service by the pool .. nobody around to get cocktails or food. We didn’t have a room name yet so it seemed to be an issue. We settled into our room last leg of our honeymoon. The room above had some sort of plumbing issue and water from there bathroom started pouring down all over our patio while we were sitting there. Buckets of water. We couldn’t get another room so we just had to deal with other’s bath water all over our place. The maintenance said the cautioned the area. Said we would get moved the following day according to manager Daniella or Danielle. Obviously this is a huge inconvenience for us. I said we had made spa appointments for that evening and manager said he would take care of the spa for us. Well upon check out that did not happen. We explained that’s what was said to us and asked to speak to manager but he was unwilling to follow up with his word. Truly disgusted with this place. He explained that he moved our room to an upgrade. Our first room was actually better. Then our second room the following day had plumbing issue in the shower. The water would not drain and it was standing water in tub. Then the service issues!!!’ Nobody around ever to get a drink. Bars seemed to be empty without bartender. The pool bar wasn’t open for the three days we were there. Nobody bringing towels. Baskets by pool always empty. Cigarette holes on all the pads. The spa was one room with a sauna that didn’t even work. The Turkish bath wasn’t warm. Just a disgrace! Maid service was excellent but not enough. Called for shuttles to town, and always a communication issue. Go down at time slot and not there. Breakfast has many upcharges!!! Manager doesn’t know how to run a hotel never mind a 5 star. My advice... please don’t stay here! I never write reviews but I had to caution other people before staying.
Read more
Response from HVMCapri, Direttore generale at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Donna, first of all, thank you for your review. Reviews and criticism are always welcome, as they provide precious details into how to improve. I am happy you enjoyed our restaurant and the garden, and that you found the maid service excellent. I am really sorry you felt you have not received the service you expected. As far as I know, here is what happened. One of the guests who were in the room right above yours was left the window open while having a shower. So some water poured down to your room's terrace. As an apology for this discomfort we granted you free access to our SPA's wet zone, which is a service that guests pay for, and not a complimentary treatment. As far as the SPA's dimensions are concerned, we are sorry they did not meet your expectations. Villa Marina is a small boutique hotel, which originally was a private villa. Therefore, its architectural layout and design does not allow a bigger SPA. As for the Turkish bath's temperature, we actually try not to keep them too high for safety and healthy reasons. I remember our shuttle coming to Capri's town centre to pick you up. Our driver waited more than 15 minutes, but then he had to go down to the port to escort other guests to the hotel. However, as I said, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I do hope you may want to come back in the future and experience a lovely holiday. We will do everything we can to make you happy. Warmest regards, the Management.
Read more
This is a paradise place with a nice garden and amazing staff. Service is very good, the vibe of the place is young, and the perfume inside all over the hotel and in the room is heavenly- Nero Di Bacco e IL nomme. Grazie mile !
Read more
Response from HVMCapri, Direttore vendite at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for such beautiful words. Reviews like this are the best reward to us. Please, come back soon. It will be our greates pleasure to have you here. Warmest regards, Antonio Desiderio Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
Capri is expensive I get it but this is in no way shape or form a 5 star hotel. It’s a 4 at best. The grounds are beautiful and the location is ok. Rooms are small, not well decorated, shower had issues. Hotel was very understaffed, service was not five star. I was pretty disappointed for $800 a night.
Read more
Response from HVMCapri, Direttore vendite at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your review, as criticism is always the best way to improve. We took very seriously your suggestions. So, we do hope you may want to come back and stay with us. Warmest regards, Antonio Desiderio Sales & Marketing Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$429 - $2,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marina hotel capri
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Villa Marina Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyCampaniaProvince of NaplesIsland of CapriCapri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing