We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The walk from the station is very far and very steep. It is almost impossible to reach the hotel on foot. Upon arrival we did not feel welcome. The receptionist was cold to us and his English was very poor. The room was nice and spacious, BUT when we decided to take a bath (after our long walk), water was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Veekman, such a a surprise to hear from you after 6 months and such a surprise to read that you had the worst experience ever at Villa Poseiodn Boutique Hotel after our bathroom was serously damaged by you. You know, a problem can always occur, but the damage was caused to a overloaded weight in the...

Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located in on the hillside of Salerno, so if you have luggage, you have to come here by taxi (its not possible to walk with the luggage through all the narrow staircases). It is true that there is a staircase to connect to the city, but the way up/down is very shabby, and can be scary because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kamilla g
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Madam, one of the characteristic of Villa Poseidon Maison the Charme consists on its location overlooking the sea, that wonderful view and peaceful atmosphere would not be possible intown... We area pet friendly hotel and it is normal to see guests dogs or hotel dogs inside and outside the hotel, we can assure you that they are reliable, good...

Reviewed October 13, 2016

Villa Poseidon is quiet and beautifully situated above Salerno harbor and close to the old town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff a friendly and very helpful. It was lovely to stay somewhere with some character and authenticity city. Only thing is, the hotel is described as being 'right on the beach' which is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you foor the nice words spent to describe the quality of the service, the location and the staff... we are sorry if you read anywhre that the hotel was seafront...as you could notice the hotel overlooks the sea thank to its upper position but il 10 minutes far form the port and the beach... We hope to...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights booking on booking.com for 80 euros including breakfast, however on checkout we were told breakfast wasnt included and then shown a recipt saying so, we also showed them a recipt showing it was and that was the agreement at the time of booking but they didnt listen and we paid to avoid the headache....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Direttore at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for sharing your review of Villa Poseidon Maison de Charme; we're happy you appreciated the location. You reserved twice via booking.com; the first reservation was for a seaview room without breakfast and the second reservation was for a cheaper comfort room without breakfast and without seaview; we are sure you were informed because you reserved a...

Windsor
Reviewed September 26, 2016

The property mentioned shuttle to transportation and we did get picked up from the train station upon arrival. However, when we needed a ride 10 minutes away to the same train station they were not able to give us a ride and we had to call a taxi. The restaurant is not really available (maybe for breakfast, if you tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbe-ann
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Direttore at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear mrs Medina, thank you for sharing your review of Villa Poseidon Maison the Charme, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we do apologise if something went wrong but, our car must be booked in advance; it is ncessary to meet all our guest needs and exigencies. We suggest to book breakfast the night...

Herndon, VA
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Our stay was brief but very accommodating. This was a great location to access the downtown historic area of Salerno with great restaurants and shops. We received great service and recommendations from the staff and owner! We needed to meet specific transportation (tour guide and bus) that were traveling to Rome to pick our group from Unitours at the Rome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RCarlisle0
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at Villa Poseidon Maison de Charme We feel privileged that you chose to spend one night with us and we are delighted that you highlight our fantastic location and the service level of the team; we always try to meet the guest exigencies as offering a...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Not sure who she was but there is an elderly lady at the hotel who appears to Own the place. She is unable to acknowledge guests even though she is visible for much of the time. Not sure if it is her doing but there are notices all over the place giving instructions on how to behave all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Dabney, we are really surprised to read this negative review about our hotel....I would like you to know that to clean correctly a room it is necessary to move suitcases, bags and shoes.... it seems to me that all your requests were satisfied even when you asked asked to go to the port, at the restaurant, or to...

Lake Como, Italy
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Excellent location close to Old Town. Very quiet and good Pool. Superb view over bay of Salerno. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent with superb bathroom and even had a Sauna (which we didn't use as it was over 30° outside anyway!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perfectstorm53
Hotel Villa Pos... M, Proprietario at Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events, responded to this review

Dear perfectstorm53 Thank you for your kind comments highlighting the service delivered by the team the qualities of the room and the ambiance and view of Villa Poseidon Maison de Charme We hope to welcome you in the future! Best Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We had a nice experience, we where almost alone in the hotel but still the reception staff helped us and was professional. What some people did not like is to go down the town through escalators, on the contrary we found that very funny and give a lot of fun to the experience in salerno. The people of salerno are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerE7524MU
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Hotel was extremely clean with a very friendly staff. The food, breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious..freshly made. Terrace with beautiful views was very relaxing and peaceful after a full day of running around. Would highly recommed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antonellacR2382WO
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#8 of 13 in Salerno
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#3 of 13 in Salerno
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#7 of 13 in Salerno
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Next to Salerno Harbour, Villa Poseidon features a large sun terrace with swimming pool and views of the Gulf of Salerno. Surrounded by greenery, it offers air-conditioned rooms with Mediterranean decor. Wi-Fi is free throughout. Breakfast is buffet style and includes hot drinks and croissants. Drinks are available from the bar and can be enjoyed out on the terrace or in the garden. Rooms at Villa Poseidon Maison De Charme are decorated in blue pastel shades and feature a minibar and an LED TV. Each one is soundproofed, and has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and toiletries. The hotel also features a sauna, and massages are available on request. Steps starting from the garden take you to the centre of Salerno in 5 minutes on foot. The villa is ideal for exploring the Amalfi Coast, which starts in Vietri sul Mare only 5 minutes' drive away. Amalfi is 20 km away along the coast, while Positano is around 45 minutes away by car. THE ACCOMMODATION: The view from afar Villa Poseidon is a jewel in the landscape overlooking the Gulf of Salerno. Half lighthouse, half white pearl protruding from the pale blues of the Amalfi Coast; the villa sits on the frontier that separates the sky from the sea. Despite its proximity to the historic centre of the city, it is surrounded by the natural colours of its grounds and seems a mirage of a distant island on which you long to be shipwrecked. THE ACCOMMODATION: The view from up close As you approach Villa Poseidon, it transforms into a treasure trove of rare artefacts, displayed in the open spaces and intense colours of the interior. The whole complex is framed by the pallet of Mediterranean colours of the surrounding park and pervaded by the perfumes from the citrus groves. The panoramic terrace accommodates a large swimming pool and offers bathers a spectacular view that rolls away towards the horizon. EVENTS: Nearby Just a short walk from the centre of Salerno, at the Villa Poseidon, even the simplest vacation becomes an unforgettable experience, where time seems to stand still to allow for walks in the floral park and dips in the terrace swimming pool or trips to some of the most famous resorts on the Amalfi and Cilento Coasts. Turn back the hands of time a few centuries by visiting some of the most impressive vestiges of the Ancient Roman Empire in Pompei, Varano and Herculaneum, and experience a time that was lost and then rediscovered at the thermal springs in Castelammare di Stabia and Paestum. Naturally, that's not all. The owner of the villa and her two children are always coming up with new ideas and initiatives to entertain their guests. There are gourmet cooking courses (taught by exceptional chefs), embroidery classes, and this year they are offering special 'theatre packages' for a weekend of cultured evenings. Choose from breath-taking prose at the Teatro Verdi in Salerno or take in the season of operas and classical concerts. In fact, an artistic director worthy of the greatest theatres in the world, Mestro Daniel Oren, has been a guest at the villa on several occasions. EVENTS: Local fabric Whereas the region is home to many architectural, natural and artistic masterpieces, there are also a whole host of lesser-known destinations which are just as breath-taking and easy to reach. The area is rich in traditional crafts and small independent producers who represent the tradition, knowledge and culture of the region. These craftsmen elevate the manufacture of their goods to an art. There are the historic shirt makers of Naples, the embroiderers of Sorrento, ceramics of Vetri, the linen of Positano and corals of Torre del Greco. These artisans who have learned to live in harmony with the beauty of the territory, are just some of the treasures to be discovered in the region. The enthusiasm with which the villa owner describes these artisans is contagious. This excellence, she says, must be protected, rediscovered and promoted. How can you argue with that? EVENTS: At the Villa The Villa Poseidon never fails to lend an unforgettable quality to each event it hosts. A magical aura surrounds the brides and grooms who come here to tie the knot. Whether they come here to celebrate with a reception worthy of the Arabian nights, or to take their vows (secular or religious), they find themselves immersed in fairy-tale surroundings they will never forget. The impeccable organisation will also take care of working lunches and dinners, receptions, banquets, and other events. With invisible efficiency and sobriety, the staff guarantee the perfect outcome for any event. For information and bookings: ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events

Address: Via Alfonso Gatto n. 3, 84125 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Price Range: $77 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Shower overflows if you take a long shower or two take shower back to back. The view is beautiful if you have sea view. ”
 of 5 bubbles debbe-ann, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Windows need to be closed due to traffic but the air con is fully functional and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Krispyduc, Sep 20, 2015 | Read review
“Internet downstairs only. Not so good in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles dianad990, Aug 18, 2015 | Read review
“There are no activities around the hotel so you would have to walk 15 mins down to the Central part of the city (via stairs and escalator) for meals and activities. It is a great place to rest and relax.”
 of 5 bubbles carolsE4746KA, Apr 14, 2015 | Read review
“The rooms seems good on the overall, ask a room with a sea view and check if things are operating in the room and bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Ewe222, Oct 29, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay