We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort

Save
Share
Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100, Matera Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$371
View deal
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$370
View deal
Lol.travel
$216
View deal
Hotels.com$370
Travelocity
Priceline$371
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (456)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (200)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#13 of 50 hotels in Matera
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice

Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Matera, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Sant Angelo Hotel is a romantic hotel offering a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Matera.

While staying at Sant Angelo Hotel, visitors can check out Church of Santa Maria de Idris (0.0 mi) and Chiesa rupestre di Santa Lucia alle Malve (0.1 mi), some of Matera's top attractions.

Matera has plenty of Mediterranean restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Stano Ristorante Pizzeria Matera, Trattoria del Caveoso, and L'abbondanza Lucana, which are serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Sassi di Matera, Parco della Murgia Materana, and Casa Noha are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Matera!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
756Reviews2Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 503
  • 157
  • 41
  • 34
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Danii T wrote a review Aug 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom117 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
This was a really beautiful hotel with the most wonderful views across Matera old town. The staff were very friendly and professional and knowledgeable about the area around us. The gentleman who showed us to our room essentially gave us a full history of Matera which was excellent. The hotel is spread across different areas and levels so just be aware that you may have some stairs to climb but the staff are so helpful with luggage etc. Our room was Amazing! We booked a junior suite and it did not disappoint. The room was across two levels and had its own seating area outside. It was beautiful and in a cave like setting. The restaurant itself was actually excellent. We weren’t sure what to expect but again the staff were very attentive and the selection on offer for both dinner and breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the restaurants directly next to/opposite the hotel. Walk up the street a little and you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cyril K wrote a review Aug 2022
Paris, France5 contributions2 helpful votes
Except for the view from the room, I’ll never recommend the hotel. First, if you want to have the best price, you have to book the latest as possible. When I booked in January, junior suite price was above 400 euros. I month ago, I cancelled and book again when I saw the price 20% under at 360 euro. What was my surprise when 3 days before arriving, I saw the price at 310 euros. I didn’t want to cancel and book again, thinking that the Hotel will upgrade me ( suite was at 340 euros, under the price I paid) Roberta, the manager told me that was life and I should have canceled and book again….No upgrade…. For the restaurant, I called her to book and requested a nice table, 1 st raw on the terrace. When we arrived, she told me that I ‘ll have the best table with great view. At the restaurant, they gave me the table in the back of the restaurant, the worst one…. The food was really not good. I have to return the Octopus as it was cold and all others plate with no flavor….
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book at the last minute and avoid the restaurant
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sant'Angelo Resort Matera, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear Guest, We are very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I will answer you point by point, as I believe we had some misunderstandings. Let's start with the price of your room. You said you come from the world of tourism, so you should understand that the prices that vary every day depend on well-defined marketing strategies that depend on various factors such as: demand, current occupation, seasonality and more. It would have been really a pleasure for us to offer you a free upgrade if only we had had availability (you will understand that being August the hotel was full), but certainly, we could not have changed the price having booked you through another platform to which we pay commissions. The front desk told you that if you had seen a lower price in the previous days, you could call us and we could offer you our best rate, or simply cancel and rebook at a cheaper price. All of this would have been easier to clarify if only you had been more inclined to listen and dialogue. Regarding the reservation at the restaurant, the receptionist present told you that she had indicated, as requested by you, your desire to have a table with a direct view, but no promises were made. Requests are met if it is possible to do so. You have been assigned a table on the terrace, with a view, which has nothing less than the tables in the front row. We are sorry you did not like the dishes professionally and carefully prepared by our chef. We certainly cannot discuss the personal taste of our guests. It is not very nice, however, to say words like that moved by a general annoyance that she has developed towards us but, fortunately, there are many other reviews to speak for us. We hope to welcome you back to our facility so that we have the opportunity to change your mind. With regard, All the staff of the Sant’Angelo Luxury Resort and Regia Corte Restaurant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
orasmussen wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
An amazing and luxurious experience. Beautiful accomodations and a very hospital staff. The view from the balcony was the best we ever had. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide variety of local treats. The in-house store was also a very nice experience - loved the complimentary welcome-drink<3
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cassandra S wrote a review Jul 2022
Wayzata, Minnesota154 contributions145 helpful votes
This resort is totally worth the price! We really enjoyed staying there and wished it was longer. The room was so comfortable and cool and the restaurant was a amazing!We had dinner at the hotel and totally recommend it. The view at night is magical.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Loved our junior suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Abbey T wrote a review Jul 2022
Cedar Park, Texas16 contributions3 helpful votes
The view from our room was incredible, the breakfast was very good, and the staff did a great job making reservations at unique local restaurants. Other than that, I do not feel like the hotel justifies the high price. The rooms are okay, but not ‘luxury’. And the air conditioning is basically non existent. We stayed for 3 nights and slept on top of the covers with no clothes the whole time and were still sweaty. After the second night of not sleeping well, they moved us to another room that was a few degrees cooler. We were in Italy for 6 weeks during record heat, and stayed in plenty of hotels that had adequate AC. If I was paying €100 a night I would not have complained, but we splurged to stay at this ‘luxury’ property & paid over €400 a night, so being sweaty and unable to sleep just wasn’t acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you come in the winter, the AC probably won’t be an issue
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debs7669 wrote a review Jun 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom86 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed at Sant 'Angelo for three nights. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the rooms are beautiful and unusual. It's very central in the old town of Matera with amazing views. We arranged a walking tour and picnic through the hotel and could not have been happier. Our guide Renato was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. In fact, we changed the itinerary part way through from mainly the churches to the include also the social history of Matera and Renato was able to adapt seamlessly. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of fruits, breads and pastries. More than enough to set us up for the day. We did have an issue with the air conditioning in our room but Michele moved us within the hour to one of the cave rooms. The cave rooms are a unique experience and I highly recommend that you stay in one if you are ever in Matera. A word to the wise - this is not the hotel to stay at if you have any mobility problems. There are many stairs but that is the nature of the hotel and of Matera itself. Overall, a wonderful time was had and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tamara Usatova wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
It’s a dream place. The rooms are gorgeous. I wanted to stay in all the time :). And breakfast is amazing too. Highly recommend and looking forward to our next time! They offer the guide service which was excellent. We had Gaetano and he acceded all our expectations!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ferocious1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Sandton, South Africa113 contributions104 helpful votes
What a disappointment this was for us after having read all the wonderful reviews. On arrival we allocated a beautiful suite which we had booked with spectacular views of Matera caves and the church. This is where it ended. The staff are stuck up and snobbish & having come from Canne Bianche boutique hotel where service is on another level we were shocked by the employees at this hotel. On the second day we started smelling this awful stench in our room to the extent that we did not sleep the entire night. Absolutely disgusting. At 6am we called reception who sent someone up at 8am who confirmed that sometimes they have issues with drainage. 🤢🤢 they offered us €100 reduction which I’m sorry Is not acceptable! Having paid a fortune to be in this establishment & not sleeping due to issues on their side they should own up and we should have been credited for the 1 night. Also employee service is paramount when you paying rates like this. Unfortunately the service coupled by the stench ruined the experience for us
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No parking here takes on average 30 minutes to get to your car waiting for pickups and super...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kstraveler81 wrote a review Oct 2021
Naples, Florida1486 contributions390 helpful votes
+1
We opted for a junior suite in a cave originally occupied by the Sassi people. The cave had been updated and a special paint covering applied to the walls to reduce humidity. Despite the modernizations, you were always aware you were in a cave. For example, our night stand was a ledge in the cave. When you turn off the lights, the room becomes very dark. And because the walls are so thick, you don’t hear any exterior noise. Visitors should be aware that there are a lot of stairs to climb to the rooms. The included breakfast is very good. Rooms are relatively expensive. I believe our room was €380 per night. The hotel is in a good location and the service at the hotel is exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dan J wrote a review Sep 2020
56 contributions60 helpful votes
Such a beautiful hotel and room. The setting was in a huge cave, massive comfortable bed, the room itself equipped to a high degree of quality, beautiful balcony overlooking the piazza, very attentive staff. Amazing stay, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sant angelo hotel matera
LOCATION
ItalyBasilicataProvince of MateraMatera
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Nearby attractions include MOOM Matera Olive Oil Museum (0.2 miles), Museo Laboratorio della Civilta Contadina (0.2 miles), and Chiesa San Giovanni Battista (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Rusticone, Burro Salato Bistrot Crepes Et Galettes, and Dimitria il Ristorante.
Does Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Matera.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.