We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (5)

About

#46 of 352 Specialty lodging in Valencia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Innsa is a return to the 16th century. It is a return to a former coaching inn and immerse yourself in another world...And all in the heart of the Barrio del Carmen.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Room features
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
59Reviews
7Q+A
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 17
  • 8
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
We stayed at Innsa in Valencia for 2 night's as part of our backpacking around Europe. It was a beautiful hostel, the unique character in the reception/patio area was beautiful and lovely to see. The room was a basic double room, with a shared bathroom and shower room. The room was extremely hot and all we had was a ceiling fan with a window - which when open you could literally hear everything in the street outside and did little to cool us down. We found having a cold shower before bed did help! The owner (I believe her name is Theresa) was lovely and extremely helpful! Overall a lovely stay in Valencia.
Read more
A nice patio garden where you can eat. Most of the people who were having diner were not staying at the hostel. It looked like locals. We had tapas for diner, and it tasted great! The price is good. Only the chairs aren’t really comfortable, but they are “old fashion Spanish”.
Read more
Everywhere we tried to eat was too busy and the old courtyard drew us in. It's a lovely setting for dinner and didn't realise it was a hostel. We ordered a paella and had to wait a long time. Some locals who knew the owner came in much later and got some food immediately. We were excited to try a traditional Valencia paella but it was disappointing. The rice was lovely but the beans over cooked and the chicken very dry, when we could even find any meat on the bones. Wine was reasonable at €14 but then it was on the bill at €16.
Read more
Response from Innsa, Gerente at Innsa Hostel
Responded Sep 19, 2017
Thank you for your comment. I need to clarify some concepts. The paella takes time to serve because it is made for you and takes a preparation time. Between 25-30 minutes. We have two lines of kitchen. One is the special dishes and another the tapas. It has nothing to do with prioritizing customers or others. The Tapas come out before because they do not take the same time to elaborate. I'm worried about the wine. I would have been grateful if he had indicated that there was a mistake between what the menu says (which is what the prices indicate) and what is on the ticket. No one is exempt from making mistakes, but if he had indicated the same at the time, it would have been rectified and for all other customers as well. Now I have to check wine to wine, if there really is that mistake between the menu and the ticket. I'll assume you ordered one of the new wines incorporated into it. If you're still here, come in and check it out. Best regards.
Read more
We were looking for a seat at a nearby restaurant, but all were full, so we decided to give this a go. Not realising it was actually a hostel, we thought it was just a new restaurant in the area. It clearly wasn't an issue that we weren't residents (despite the website saying it's for the exclusive use of guests) and we ordered several tapas dishes and enjoyed the 500 year-old setting. The food was excellent, served by one waitress seemingly doing all of the serving herself! A large party came in, and she kept calm and carried on remarkably well! All in all, a good experience, many thanks!
Read more
Response from Innsa, Gerente at Innsa Hostel
Responded Sep 20, 2017
Thanks to you!!! :)
Read more
This is food prepared by someone who think they are cooking at a high level, but cannot cook. It is all ridiculous. A simple tapa like cod, sweet pepper and egg comes at a ridiculous price, with a few slivers of cod in it. The egg on top was still warm: a sign of the professionalism of the cooking. 10 euro for a spinach lasagna that is mainly store-bought lasagna leaves, with nothing, nothing on the side. I had fish that was cut in two, bitter because of the liver that was still in, and even more bitter because of the dirty grill that was used. The "vegetables" was spicy cucumber: three long slices with a disk of dried chili on it. price: 12 euro. It is a disgrace. For that kind of money you can have good food at four places in the SAME street. A michelin-suggested restaurant further along does a menu including drink for 20 euro. The house wine Juan de Juanes is sold at the booze shop opposite for about three euro, charged 12, and it isnt very good (it was chosen for its name, the restaurant is the old house of Juan de juanes, which, again, shows the level of food professionalism....). The dining halls is messy and does not feel like a restaurant, although it is in a old house. The furniture is old and uncomfortable. The owners and cook of this restaurant suffer from serious delusions of grandeur and you should not pick up the tab for that. Go somewhere else,
Read more
Response from Innsa, Gerente at Innsa Hostel
Responded Jul 19, 2017
Hola Marc. Lamentamos la mala experiencia que dices haber tenido en Innsa. No obstante, sí nos gustaría aclarar algunos puntos. Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de tener la casa que tenemos, que, como muy bien has dicho, fue la casa del pintor Juan de Juanes. De ahí a tener delirios de grandeza, hay un abismo. Nosotros nunca usamos el término restaurante. Usamos el término taberna y eso somos. Una taberna de tapas. Ambiente bohemio, mobiliario que se puede trasladar según las necesidades e intentamos que sea lo más acorde al siglo XVI, que es el origen de la casa. No, no tenemos pretensiones de ganar ninguna estrella michelín, ni conozco ningún sitio de esta calle y calles adyacentes, que la haya ganado. Sí conozco uno recomendado que tiene un menú de mediodía y menús de noche que no incluyen bebida. El vino que servimos como vino de la casa, es Juan de Juanes. Cierto que está elegido en homenaje al pintor, pero también por calidad. El precio en bodega es algo superior al que has indicado, pero nos decantamos por el por nombre y por premios obtenidos. Hay otros vinos en la carta, aunque no tenemos una carta extensa, ya que somos taberna, no restaurante. No voy a entrar en sus apreciaciones sobre los platos. Afortunadamente, tenemos más opiniones positivas que negativas y clientes que regresan continuamente, que siempre es el mejor indicativo; los clientes que regresan y que hacen de esta casa la suya. Lo que sí te puedo garantizar es que no usamos parrillas sucias.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainValencian CountryProvince of ValenciaValenciaEl Carme
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing