We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The River Hostel

Booking.com$21*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$46*
$21*
Great Deal
$46*
$23*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The River Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The River Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Currumbin, Australia
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

A great location just outside the city Centre puts you in a great place that explore Valencia! Rooms are clean and of a good size as are the amenities. Breakfast is a small but quality selection, a great way to start your day! Overall a great experience and a great hostel to spend your time in Valencia!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sam: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our facilities. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Bulgaria
Reviewed February 2, 2017

The hostel has an excellent location and great breakfasts: big choice of food including fruit yogurt and pastry. The staff is polite and helpful. The bathrooms are clean and comfortable. The bar has relatively big choice of drinks on reasonable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georg2007
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Georg: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us and that you liked our breakfast and staff. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed January 25, 2017

I stayed for 7 days. First day (on Saturday) there was an opportunity for a pub crawl event (outside the hostel) so I met with many people from many country. Everyone is very friendly and helpful in the hostel (including the receptionist also). There is a 24/7 reception and bar, you can drink/eat when you want. I booked for a...

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benkel2015
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Benkel: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. And in the room where AC is centralized, we have to put from the reception, that´s why you had to come down and request. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewed January 17, 2017

The place is really well located, you are able to walk around and find places to eat or grab a bear. They have activities every day that are really interesting. If you love walking tours they even have one that start from there! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EliRivas
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Eli: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us, and that you enjoyed our activities like: Free Walking Tour. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Cesano Maderno, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

I've been here few days with friends. Nice room, perfect location. Clean and safe, with private locker. Some activity in the evening (PlayStation, cards, etc etc). You can find discount for all the activities in Valencia. Absolutely suggest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Danielle: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed our hostel and our activities: Play Station, cards, Pub Crawl, etc. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Marsaxlokk, Malta
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Central hostel just opposite to the beautiful parks of Valencia and few minutes away from the centre. Clean and well organised and with a value for money breakfast against a small extra charge. Rooms are spacious but very simplistic with just a bed, AC, small table, a box and a iron bar with some clothes hangers. Everything else has a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alan c
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Alan: Thank you very much for your comment and for your rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. You are advised about the prices that we have in the paper that we gave to you. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed December 11, 2016

The hostel is well located. The building set up is weird but u get used to it. Price really good . Showers and toilets ane clean. This is not a party hostel! But it is definitely cosy. U can meet people in the common room. Some staffs are not welcoming but hey this is not a hotel so do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jyhk
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us. Sorry about the staff issue, normally we are very welcoming. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Reviewed December 9, 2016

The place is probably great, but they would not let me keep my touring bike inside, they suggested I lock it outside. Had to return my keys and go somewhere else. They would not refund me because I booked ahead of time via booking.com. No fault of the people working, I understand they were just following protocol. But it just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valentin P
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment. As you said: for us is forbidden to recieve bikes that are not ours, because otherwise we wouldn´t have place to store our bikes. Sorry about that. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

The hostel was very clean and tidy. We were 8 friends in our room and had the comfort to sleep well. Neighbors were a bit noisy. Breakfast is rich in choice. Very good location and easy access to the park and city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ogy_Kovachev
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear client: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us during the mararathon. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

Is not in the middle of all plazas and streets, but you can walk some meters and you'll be there. Is just between old And new Valencia... in front of the river, you SHOULD rent a bike and your experience will be more than amazing. The personal is so gentle and funny. Is not expensive if you want to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo T
River H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The River Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hugo: Thank you very much for your comment and rating. We are glad that you had nice time with us and we hope to see you again. Best regards, Ivan The River Hostel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 99 in Valencia
765 reviews
Expo Hotel Valencia
#64 of 99 in Valencia
1,985 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 99 in Valencia
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quart Youth Hostel
#13 of 172 in Valencia
127 reviews
La Xerea
Purple Nest Hostel
Purple Nest Hostel
#21 of 172 in Valencia
333 reviews
El Pla del Remei
B&B Hi Valencia Canovas
B&B Hi Valencia Canovas
#4 of 69 in Valencia
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cheap and fashionable accommodation in Valencia, with various configurations to accommodate 2-14 people for individuals, small groups, large groups, mixed rooms or gender specific. Newly renovated building, combining the old with the new. Rooms are clean and fresh, each with unique configurations and colors. Full kitchen facilities available to use, as well as a common dining and lounge rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The River Hostel

Address: Plaza Temple 6, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Price Range: $12 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The River Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The River Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The River Hostel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The River Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quiter rooms are on the inner side, not on front side.”
georg2007, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have a balcony with view on the park.”
667alanc, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Please find a method of labelling and storing food in the kitchen fridges. People steal other people's stuff. My dinner and other fresh ingredients were nicked in a matter of a few hours!! Other guests I spoke to complained of the same thing happening to them. Not good!! The fans were really strong and loud. The staff weren't so much efficient, just trying to get rid of people fast. The two rooms I stayed in were basic but ok. Good the idea of the use of plastic mattresses so as to avoid bed bugs. Cleanliness acceptable. Could definitely do better!! ”
458flaviaf, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“good location, nice staff, big rooms”
MeriTR007, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“Choose another Hostel as this one is very basic and overcrowded.”
GeoGood, Mar 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$21* /night
View Deal
Priceline$46
Hostelworld.com$23
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates