We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Aarangi Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aarangi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

This comfortable, homely motel exceeded our expectations! Friendly owner and off street parking. Great cafes and a city beach just a minute or two away, on foot. No problems with traffic noise. It's not the most up-to-date decor perhaps, but we liked it all the same - our room was very pleasant and well-equipped, and it felt cared-for. We had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CharityJNorman
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay , we hope you can come back again soon More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

The motel itself was clean and tidy but it was not as portrayed on the web site. There was a rusty old stand up fan in the lounge, very old blinds that need replacing, old wooden framework, and the curtains in the bedroom were off the hooks in places. The bathroom was nice and had been renovated but I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank 56Irene
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

sorry you thought the tiny fountain was a problem , its been there for years and never been a noise problem with anyone else , if you come back we will turn it off for you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Friendly staff and great location. The rooms were clean and well looked after though looking tired and dated. I stayed here as it is close to an event I was attending. It suited me well for this trip. Pricing was more than I expected. If I did not want to save travelling time I would have stayed in the CBD... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank simono704
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

The motel is located a very short walking distance from the road that runs along the ocean right into town. There are a couple of restaurants on the corner of the ocean road and many more restaurants and a movie theatre a short drive away on the ocean road at Mission Bay. There is a bus on the corner of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Good quiet location, minutes from the beach and cafes and shops. Clean comfortable room and cooking facilities. Staff went out of their way to advise about visits. Bus into city centre stops at the end of the road.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much , we hope you can come and stay with us again in the near future More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

I stayed at Aarangi Motel when I sold my home in Auckland this year. The motel is comfortable, the units are larger than other 'newer' motels I'd looked at, and the facilities are better. It's very clean and safe. Rooms are cleaned every single day. The cleaning staff are part of the Aarangi family and the welcome is extremely warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn0104
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review , the area is great and we try to blend in with the locals very friendly and helpful. We hope you come and stay again in the future. More 

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Rooms could do with make over and facilities/ bathroom and kitchen dated Lovely location and handy for good cafes and of course the beach Cleaning staff tried to rush us out at 0915 Minor thing but wifi system very poor

Helpful?
Thank J2855DYNick
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Hope you come and stay again in the future More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

We stayed at this Motel, as we had a family function to attend in the area. We found it to be a basic 1970’s style of Motel. The rooms were fairly small, & the layout was very dated. Although the facilities were pretty basic we did find the unit to be very clean & tidy, & the bed was comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
rosr258, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , we hope you can come again soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Great facilities , super friendly staff manager really helpful and welcoming enjoyable stay highly recommended! Affordable for the Auckland area , close to city centre and clean 👍 staff accommodates for extra people wanting to stay and not charging lots more

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
rosr258, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , glad you enjoyed your stay we hope to see you again soon. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here recently because it was the only place I could find. Wont stay anywhere else now. Great location, nice rooms, great owners, and a home away from home! Close to every sort of restaurant and food style you could desire.

Helpful?
1 Thank tigers20
rosr258, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohimarama
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,316 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sparkling clean Motel Units in a quiet residential neighbourhood, 1 block to Kohimarama Beach and 1km to Mission Bay. Choose units from upstairs, with a "peep of the sea" or downstairs and enjoy the garden. Walk, jog, bike along popular Tamaki Drive, enjoy scrumptious breakfast/lunch/dinner or just a coffee or wine in neighbourhood cafes and restaurants. Kohimarama beach is a safe beach with popular activities ranging from swimming to stand up paddling, kayaking and kite surfing (wind dependent). It is also home to Kohimarama Yacht Club for juniors, a club that has produced many a top sailor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aarangi Motel

Address: 1 Melanesia Road, Kohimarama 1071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kohimarama
Price Range: $134 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aarangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Motel Kohimarama, Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay