We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Sagasta 22, 28004 Madrid Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$47
StayForLong
Vio.com$47
Agoda.com$47
eDreams$47
Etrip$47
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (270)
Room & Suite (210)
Dining (48)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#22 of 815 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Safestay Madrid is located in a 19th century palace, is the most modern and stylish hostel in Madrid! Our privileged location, by Alonso Martinez square, makes us the ideal base to explore and enjoy our city Come & enjoy the U Hostels experience! In addition to our free daily tours, our guests can enjoy with our Free WiFi, relax watching a movie in our In-house cinema or party in our cool bar! Whether you just wish to relax, meet new people or party away in Madrid, Safestay is the ideal choice. Having travelled around the world, we know how a hostel should be! Some of our rooms have 35 sqm - Free Wifi, also in the rooms - Custom made bunk beds & first quality mattress! All our rooms are air conditioned & have lockers - Maximum security with RFID key cards for rooms - 24h Reception - Female only rooms, including a make up table - Cool double rooms with en-suite bathroom - dorms for 4, 6, 8 & 12 people with shared bathrooms - Premium dorms for 4&6 people with en-suite bathroom A basic b
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Entertainment staff
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Private balcony
Microwave
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1552Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 995
  • 389
  • 96
  • 25
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anna wrote a review Sep 2022
Germany10 contributions3 helpful votes
I really liked the hostel and would definitely come back! I was there for three nights and only used it to sleep, but as far as i know they have a great variety of options for people who want to party a bit. I stayed in a room in the first floor and didn’t hear anything from the party on the rooftop, all good. The staff is very kind and helpful. The only thing that I kinda missed is a chill out area on the rooftop during the day. The view is amazing but it is more for parties since at night the bar is open. Would be amazing to be able to read a book or have a cup of coffee or something there during the day as well. Even as a work place it would be great. Overall I really liked the hostel, the neighbourhood is amazing too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Oct 27, 2022
Dear guest Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again if you ever come back to Madrid Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ghalia B wrote a review Jul 2022
Rabat-Salé-Kenitra, Morocco7 contributions2 helpful votes
Liked the aesthetic of the hotel, the experienced staff, the safety, the tidiness... Everything about "Safestay" was great, I couldn't ask for a better experience ! It's a perfect place for a great first experience in Spain !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Hello Ghalia, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We always do our best to give the best service to our clients, so they feel safe during their stay. Hope to see you again next time. Best regards, Mey Ling
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Townsend wrote a review Jun 2022
Front Royal, Virginia1 contribution
A few things could have been better. Firstly, A/C did not work for 6 of 7 day stay making it hard to sleep. Sometimes crowds going to the terrace gather making it difficult to get to your room. No kitchen. Cramped rooms. Overall though, it is very good for the price. Rooms/Bathrooms are clean and in quite decent condition. The number of showers per floor was appreciated as well. Most staff speak English. Excellent location. Staff gave good advice. Staff are friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Avoid the top floor as sound leakage from the terrace may occur
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving us your opinion. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't perfect but we will work hard to improve. We hope you give us another chance so we can get a 10 on your next experience with us. Kind regards, Florencia Safestay Madrid.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sb0903 wrote a review Feb 2022
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions4 helpful votes
This is more hotel than hostel There are no cooking facilities or places for food storage. Food is prohibited in the rooms. The staff are efficient but not very friendly. On the plus side it is immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious. But our reason for choosing a hostel is because you can make a snack and meet people. There is a rooftop bar which would be lovely in warmer weather and there is a restaurant area where breakfast is served.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing with us your score and review of how you felt during your stay at the hostel. We would have loved to be able to read that everything was 10 but, in this case, it could not be possible so from the management we wanted to respond to you personally. Every day we try harder to cover all your tastes and needs and it is clear that in this case we have not succeeded because you have not felt at home. Explain to you that we removed the kitchen some time ago at the request of many of our guests who asked us for cheap and delicious menus typical of Madrid, so we recommend you all our bars so that you can taste them. However, we know that there are guests who still prefer to bring their own food, so we maintain an area exclusively for this with a microwave. Regarding the subject of the staff, I do not understand what could have happened because they are always willing to help with a smile, so I apologize if it was not what they transmitted to you. If at any time you decide to give us a chance again, make sure none of this will happen to you since we will all be super attentive to you. Including me. Kind regards, Ana General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noelia G wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed 4 nights in the private en suite bedroom. The room was good, we had towels and amenities. The location was good, you can go by walking to the city center or if you need, there's public transport nearby. Nevertheless we had some troubles. The air conditioner was too cool for us, and if you want to turn it off you need to call to the receptionist. We called them every night, even after telling them that we don't want it. Also they didn't change the sheets. We were told that it's done every three nights, but they didn't do it. The towels were the same for all our stay. The rest was good, but this things make a huge difference if they are done. My partner and I were a bit disappointed because of those things.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing with us your score and experience about how you felt during your stay. We would have loved to be able to read that everything was 10 but, in this case, it could not be so from the management we wanted to respond to you personally. Apologize if your stay was not what you expected due to the issue of towels and sheets. I don't know what could have happened but it can't happen again. Time has passed since this but make sure that now our private rooms are 10 in all aspects. Customers who have passed through them throughout the days, have told us so. If at any time you decide to give us a chance again, make sure that none of this will happen to you again since, the whole team, we will make sure that you feel as if you had never left your house. For us, the main thing is the well-being of the guest. Kind regards, Ana General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Regina U wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Roberto at reception was of great help! Good location. Nice hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. Safe location, as I rented bike and left it just outside during the night. Nothing happened. in the working space some more chargers would be helpful, since many people were sitting and working. Working space could be a bit cleaner, otherwise all good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, General Manager at Safestay Madrid
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving us your comment. We are glad to see you enjoyed staying with us. We will improve on the working area so next time we get the 5 rating from you. We hope to see you here again, Kind regards, Florencia Safestay Madrid
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nita wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at this hostel for several nights and am so glad I chose this for my first time in Madrid! I received such a friendly welcome from the staff, who are also so accommodating to your needs :D the guy who helped check me in was so nice. I never found out his name… if I did I would definitely mention it here, but thank you to him anyway! The coffee is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the center of this beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Hello, We are very grateful for your comment, we loved having you in our hostel, our goal is to make you feel at home. We are waiting for you back at SafeStay Madrid. Kind regards, Mey Ling Rojas
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liverpoollaw3 wrote a review Aug 2021
Cuenca, Ecuador25 contributions30 helpful votes
Rude and incompetent staff. Filthy foul mouth drunk kids yelling and screaming obscenities. No place for business travelers or families. Called Police to try and stop troublesome intoxicated teenagers from starting trouble but dorms are a mess. Don’t eat at there restaurant. There are sanitation measures or protocols in place that I noticed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: There are cheaper and safer and more peaceful alternatives within walking distance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Dear guest, First of all, I apologize for the delay in responding to your comment. Say to you that we are very sorry of what happened during those days that you were staying with us and that is why from the management, we wanted to respond to you personally. During those days, a group of teenagers stayed with us, who showed that they did not respect the hostel staff, much less our guests. As much as the teachers were informed, who had to take care of the students as responsible as they were, their attitude did not change at any time because the attitude of the teachers was not appropriate either. As soon as we realized this, all the staff (including me) tried to do everything in our power so that you as guest would not be affected in the least. It is clear that what we did was not enough so, once again, we apologize and inform you that since then we have new protocols in the hostel so that none of this will happen again. If at any time you decide to give us an opportunity again, say to you that your stay will be 10 and you will see that what matters most to us here are our guests. We will do everything in our power to make you feel as if you have never left your house. Kind regards, Ana General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne M wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
The staff is very friendly and welcoming, and the common rooms and the terrace on the weekend are nice! The good location allows to discover the center of Madrid in security. Finally, the breakfast is really good
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, General Manager at Safestay Madrid
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Hi Suzy, We will like to thank you for your review. We loved to have you in our establishment. Hope to see you anytime soon! Best regards, Safestay Madrid
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kellie wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Perfect, clean and Gon is really funny and helpful!! Showers were clean and powerful, rooftop bar is great to hang out and relatively cheap . Central location so perfect to see all of Madrid - really loved!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Madrid, Guest Services / Front Office at Safestay Madrid
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Hello Kellie, Thank you for leaving us your comment. We are happy to see your experience with us was so safisting. Gon and everyone of our staff are always here to help to our guests as much as we can. We hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Florencia Safestay Madrid
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$49 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
U Hostel
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadridChueca / Justicia / Centro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAFESTAY MADRID - Updated 2022 Prices & Hostel Reviews (Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Safestay Madrid
Which popular attractions are close to Safestay Madrid?
Nearby attractions include The Box Escape Room Madrid (0.1 miles), Hermetico (0.2 miles), and Scavenger Escape Madrid (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Safestay Madrid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Safestay Madrid?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Safestay Madrid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Empanadas Malvón, Trattoria Pulcinella, and Steak Burger Fuencarral.
Is Safestay Madrid located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Madrid.
Are any cleaning services offered at Safestay Madrid?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Safestay Madrid?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Safestay Madrid?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Royal Palace of Madrid (1.1 miles), Plaza Mayor (1.0 miles), and Museo Cerralbo (0.9 miles).
Does Safestay Madrid have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Safestay Madrid accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.