We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hostal San Lorenzo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal San Lorenzo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 86: English reviews
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked San Lorenzo as part of a budget Easyjet break and was really pleased with what the hotel had to offer. The hotel was a 25 minute (€30) drive from the airport and is positioned in a really central location to explore the city. We were greeted by a helpful man on reception who offered to show us directions to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My single room was small, and the bathroom very compact. It overlooked a laneway with noise from adjoining restaurant equipment. Furnishings were average but generally comfortable. Wi-Fi was excellent. Breakfast was somewhat basic (eg, pre-toasted bread, low-cost cereals) but adequate. Reception staff ranged from wonderfully helpful to fairly disinterested. The reception and hallways all reflect a more luxurious experience than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
Miami, Florida
Reviewed October 8, 2016

A very "basic" older property like the ones I frequented in the 1980s. That said, the hotel provided all the creature comforts (including black-out drapes) and I had great corner old style balcony room with views of the nearby "happening" square. If your looking for "cool" or "glitz", this is not for you. Room Mate Oscar is right across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgb10011
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed October 7, 2016

I have paid 399 Euros for a room with 3 beds which would have been worth 100 Euros. The Hotel is old fashioned, very badly equipped, if you are bigger than 175 cm you will not fit into their beds. It is never a 3 Star Hotel. I cannot recommend this place and would never stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ale x
Caernarfon, North Wales
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The location was excellent, the room was plain but fine and the cost was reasonable. It was very clean and the breakfast was as expected and offered good value, so we had it every day. What was a little frustrating was little things, which brought it down; one of the metal window shutters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim006
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Fairly basic hotel, but if all you want is a place to stay so you can explore the city then it fulfills that need. Room and bathroom were okay. Breakfast buffet was pretty poor in my opinion and unless you have it included it is €5 per day. Staff were all good. Overall it was an okay place to stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, they are helping in any situation , the room are very clean and big and they were doing cleaning every day, bath also very clean, if L'll be in Madrid I'll prefer to stay In San LOrenzo, The location is great heart of Madrid, everyplace is near.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gana A
FFVHSL, Director de Recepción at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this review

Dear costumer, Thank you for your contribution. We hope to see you again. Best regards, H. San Lorenzo

Paruzzaro, Italy
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my schoolmates for a school trip and we were expecting to have a hard time as some reviews were extremely low: It turned out that Hostal San Lorenzo was a good hotel, the breakfast room was a bit small but as we were ~40 people it was understandable how we could not all have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iRoxas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2015

Brilliant location, very pleasant staff, with perfectly adequate rooms. Had room 109, which is at the rear, and during the night is absolutely silent. Twin room, small TV, all UK or USA made programs can play in original language if you can handle the remote , a small bath with shower over, heater/cooler in the bedroom. Good price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bagabroad
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed October 17, 2015

Stayed here for a single night. Check-in and out was very easy with very friendly staff. Helpful to find interesting visits around the area. Location is great in the center of the city. Lots to see and do within walking distance. The room I had was quite small, but enough for a nights stay. No English channels on the TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dantal33
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#163 of 447 in Madrid
214 reviews
Chueca
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
Petit Palace Ducal Hotel
#152 of 447 in Madrid
595 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#126 of 447 in Madrid
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#326 of 447 in Madrid
261 reviews
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#236 of 447 in Madrid
1,335 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chueca

Neighborhood Profile
Chueca
Chueca is the hip, gay neighborhood of Madrid where many of the streets are narrow and intimate, but where the hustle and bustle and the eclectic storefronts and people give it a distinctly urban feel. The main thoroughfare is Calle Hortaleza and the main square is Plaza Chueca, completely filled with terraza tables serving copas (mixed drinks) during summer. A mixture of trendy and grungy, some of the adult businesses here are explicitly racy in their signage. From the rainbow flags to the signs above the entrances of its many funky bars, to the date spot restaurants, Chueca is a vibrant and colorful place. It's always interesting to explore the different corners of Chueca by day, and by night, the area becomes a major nightlife destination when the clubs open their doors.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
H. San Lorenzo has been recently remodelated on the most part of it's installations, situated in a beautiful historical and artistic building, everything is set up to make your stay unforgettable. We offer a vast array of rooms: single, double, triple, quadruple and familiar, all with their own ensuite full bathrooms and free wifi connection, wide windows to enjoy the spectacular views over Vazquez de Mella Square. Within our services are included transfer to the airport, optional breakfast, information service over serveral topics and, above all, a personal treatment from our multilingual receptionists and everyone in our personnel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Price Range: $55 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal San Lorenzo staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Clayton le Dale, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal San Lorenzo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles jgb10011, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the window shutters work as it is in a noisy district.”
 of 5 bubbles jim006, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Great Hotel, Nice Staff, Excellent location”
 of 5 bubbles gayana188, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 102.”
 of 5 bubbles ZoricaSr, May 14, 2015 | Read review
“The room was a bit noisy but we enjoyed it anyway”
 of 5 bubbles MichalU16, Feb 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay