We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Moderno

Calle Arenal 2, 28013 Madrid Spain
Traveler (512)
Room & Suite (488)
Dining (41)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#96 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Stay with us and discover Madrid on foot. We are located in the heart of the city centre at Puerta del Sol. A short, pleasant walk will take you to the Prado Museum, Thyssen Museum, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor and Royal Theatre. If you are coming for a trade fair or conference, we are located in the best connected spot of the city. After a full day in Madrid, you can rest in our pleasant, comfortable rooms with fully equipped bathrooms. If you have to work, you can use our free WIFI internet connection. Let us guide you in choosing the best restaurants, shows and events in town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
921Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
227Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,535Reviews
38Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 627
  • 686
  • 167
  • 43
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were in room near lifts. Very small room, we could not open luggage in the room. Very noisy because of lifts and plumbing of the nearest rooms. Breakfast was sufficient but not various. The only advantage of this accomodation is its localization.
Read more
Response from HtlModerno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Moderno
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dencodenco, We thank you for having taken the time to give us an evaluation of your stay. We very much regret to hear that the room allocated to your booking did not meet with your expectations and hope you will accept our apologies for any inconveniences. If only we had known this at the time of your stay, our staff would have been more than happy to move you to another room. We do hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Be warned that you should get your room quote in writing and confirm the price prior to checking in. Terrible experience. On website obtained quote which was provided in Canadian dollars. Booked room and requested reservation code and PIN number as instructed on website to verify but was only sent booking number with no other information. As a result could not get other verification. We now realize why PIN was not provided. When we checked out was given bill in Euros so ended up paying 50% more then quoted. When we got home contacted hotel of my concern and was first told they do not quote on-line in other currencies to which I replied look on your web-site. They then changed the story saying exchange rates vary, not sure what that mean't. At any rate they have our money and were not truthful. Doug from Canada
Read more
Response from HtlModerno, Director General at Hotel Moderno
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Doug H, We are very sorry about this incident. As any other hotel in the world we always quote our rates in our local currency (EUROS) and it seems you were not happy about it as you thought it was in Canadian dollars. When you made your booking and got the quotation, didn’t you find it weird that our hotel was 50% cheaper than any other hotel around? We very humbly believe it was not our fault and very much regret your confusion. Kind regards, General Manager
Read more
This was a good hotel with a comfortable good-size room in a good location. There were a few quirks: the bathroom mirror had a bad distortion like a fun house mirror, the a/c was balky, and we ended up in a room next to the elevator and heard the swoosh. But all in all, it was fine for the duration of our stay. It's right at Puerta del Sol in the heart of Madrid and an easy walk to Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace, and even Retiro Park (though the street is uphill on the way back). We had an interior room, so no street noise.
Read more
Response from HtlModerno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Moderno
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 48NYSV, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you felt comfortable in your room and enjoyed our central location. The points you have raised have been passed to the relevant departments to ensure these are addressed and thank you for bringing these to our attention. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
awesome location, we stayed for the champions league final and it was the perfect place to stay. Rooms were clean and staff was great. I would definitely recommend staying here especially for the price you pay.
Read more
Response from HtlModerno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Moderno
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Aaron F, Thank you very much for your comments and for having selected our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our central location and were satisfied with the overall provided services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Madrid. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
I have stayed at the Hotel Moderno 3 times. Centrally located on Puerta de Sol, the Hotel is well-kept and well staffed and has an awesome breakfast. The rooms are not large but for the price they are excellent. And I’ve had the windows open at night and the noise from the Puerto de Sol was not too much. And if you close the windows you can’t hear a thing.
Read more
Response from HtlModerno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Moderno
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Wander755848, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your experience at Hotel Moderno! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and services during your different stays. We would love to welcome you back hopefully in the near future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moderno hotel madrid
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadridSolCentroAustrias
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing