We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Rayuela

Fuencarral, 41-40 Dcha, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Budgetplaces to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Rayuela
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I expected a decent bed and a somewhat quiet night. Anything more would have been a bonus. The owner is rude, the mattress ancient and uncomfortable and the walls so thin you can hear EVERYTHING. Things like a change of towels might have been nice, or a bath mat that was not covered with the hair of the previous guest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BishopsFather
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment but we think it is no correct. The mattresses were renewed two years ago. We offer clean towels when the customer arrives but does not change every day, as many hostels years ago, by ecology reasons but if the customer requests, we offer a new without problem. The hostel is an old building with strong walls... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Generally satisfied. Though we faced some problems when we arrived - the front door was locked and it was not easy to get in. We called the hostel phone number, but there were some language problems. The hostel is placed on the 4th floor and the reception is also there. Noise from the corridor made by the other guests coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank SlovakTraveller777
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

It was all very nice, big room, many bathrooms to share, quiete, and very kindly! But a pity no internet at room number 5! Internet is very important because you have to check aircraft mails maybe somebody need to work.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 412angeloc
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

great location, very rude staff ( one dude who did not want to let us in when we arrived ! ) the room was not more than OK - but the BIG problem is that the walls are made of paper - you hear EVERY breath of other people in the building !

Helpful?
1 Thank PUTNICA80
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I had booked and paid in advance of arriving by plane. Due to luggage problems I arrived a little later than expected. Back In the uk my home was rung (while I was in the air) saying that the hostel would close at 1130pm. This had no been preinformed. I made my way to the hostat at midnight

Helpful?
6 Thank Cornishtraveller72
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

This comment is not correct. We inform clearly in our pages that the check in is until 23.30. The hostel is located on a floor and it is necesary to ring the bell when the client arrives. The hostel is small and the noise of bell can hear and disturb to the guests who are sleeping. Nevertheless, if the customer... More 

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

my wife and I stayed at this hostel in September ..we had no problems, the room had en suite bathroom, plenty of cupboard space. I think it is very good.I have no qualms about the cleanliness ok the shower curtain was in need of change maybe .but overall it was pleasant . we saw the owner at times when leaving... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard121059
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The person in charge of the hostel was very rude. He also discriminated me for my nationality. I love to travel and always I have found friendly people ready to help me! Unfortunately this guy treated me as trash LITERALLY. The reservation was under the name of my best friend and I managed to arrive first to Madrid (she had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank V_Alexandra22
rayuela2010, Owner at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

I am the owner of Hostal Rayuela and I know there was an incident with this booking. We ask for the versión of the client by mail and after we ask for the versión of the person who was working in the hostel this day: "This customer had two different reservations, one for day 21 August, she never came and... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well, well, well... We were warmly welcomed by sorrounding scaffolding. I phoned up the number on the door and guy basicly said, that his English is no good and we have to ring the bell, which looked as it doesn't work, it was pushed inside the board a bit, but surprisingly, it worked. We went in. It was pretty cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Artur M
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good location, clean and tidy hostel. Enjoyed a nice private room with en suite facilities. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Not much of a view but that doesn't matter too much. Cold when we were there, but rooms well heated. Would stay here again, no question

Helpful?
Thank PAAAAB1234
Stockholm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good location free wifi . Cold Room. No heating. One morning no hot water. Window in our room ( 1 ) impossible to close. Construktion works with a new elevator is noisy

Helpful?
Thank tavla20
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#189 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#116 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#209 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#13 of 253 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Noviciado
Hostal Noviciado
#153 of 253 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
La Latina
Abracadabra
Abracadabra
#168 of 253 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Malasana

Neighborhood Profile
Malasana
Hip bars and galleries, independent theaters and music venues, young people with tattoos and funky hair, narrow winding streets — this is Malasaña. Near the center, Plaza Dos de Mayo is a gathering of friends outside bars, dog owners, artists under craft tents, and creative types with notebooks and sketchpads on the plaza’s benches. It may not be as neat and tidy as many other parts of the city, but this only adds to the Malasaña edge. Shops and bars here range from hippie-crunchy to upscale trendy, and on weekends, the streets are bustling around the clock as the nightlife progresses from dinner to bar to disco to late-night food. On the west side of the neighborhood is the subdistrict called Conde Duque, named after a large pink fort in its center that has been converted into a cultural center for exhibitions and performances. Prettier yet just as edgy, this intimate corner of Malasaña is home to a young international community.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay