We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hostal Rayuela

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Rayuela
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is in an excellent position if you like night attraction, clean and not noisy but our room was really small, just to fit the bed. There was no window in our room but only in the bath that was directly connected by a glass wall. The bath had a really nice shower. Room number 7. See the picture... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thimsel W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

The place is very understaffed and although the guy was nice, he wasn't there to let us in. The location is on a busy shopping street so not a great place to be waiting tired with all your luggage. Bed was so uncomfortable, didn't sleep a wink. You get what you pay for. Thank god it was only one night!

Helpful?
Thank Oliiiveeeeee

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very clean, very confortable, with good location too...but the owner is VERY RUDE, he treated us as though he was doing us a favor, 3 days with a stress not necessary for your trip... Run away... You can find a better place and have a very nice trip without this stress...

Helpful?
1 Thank CindyFC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I expected a decent bed and a somewhat quiet night. Anything more would have been a bonus. The owner is rude, the mattress ancient and uncomfortable and the walls so thin you can hear EVERYTHING. Things like a change of towels might have been nice, or a bath mat that was not covered with the hair of the previous guest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BishopsFather
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment but we think it is no correct. The mattresses were renewed two years ago. We offer clean towels when the customer arrives but does not change every day, as many hostels years ago, by ecology reasons but if the customer requests, we offer a new without problem. The hostel is an old building with strong walls... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Generally satisfied. Though we faced some problems when we arrived - the front door was locked and it was not easy to get in. We called the hostel phone number, but there were some language problems. The hostel is placed on the 4th floor and the reception is also there. Noise from the corridor made by the other guests coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank SlovakTraveller777
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

It was all very nice, big room, many bathrooms to share, quiete, and very kindly! But a pity no internet at room number 5! Internet is very important because you have to check aircraft mails maybe somebody need to work.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 412angeloc
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

great location, very rude staff ( one dude who did not want to let us in when we arrived ! ) the room was not more than OK - but the BIG problem is that the walls are made of paper - you hear EVERY breath of other people in the building !

Helpful?
1 Thank PUTNICA80
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I had booked and paid in advance of arriving by plane. Due to luggage problems I arrived a little later than expected. Back In the uk my home was rung (while I was in the air) saying that the hostel would close at 1130pm. This had no been preinformed. I made my way to the hostat at midnight

Helpful?
6 Thank Cornishtraveller72
rayuela2010, Propietario at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

This comment is not correct. We inform clearly in our pages that the check in is until 23.30. The hostel is located on a floor and it is necesary to ring the bell when the client arrives. The hostel is small and the noise of bell can hear and disturb to the guests who are sleeping. Nevertheless, if the customer... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

my wife and I stayed at this hostel in September ..we had no problems, the room had en suite bathroom, plenty of cupboard space. I think it is very good.I have no qualms about the cleanliness ok the shower curtain was in need of change maybe .but overall it was pleasant . we saw the owner at times when leaving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The person in charge of the hostel was very rude. He also discriminated me for my nationality. I love to travel and always I have found friendly people ready to help me! Unfortunately this guy treated me as trash LITERALLY. The reservation was under the name of my best friend and I managed to arrive first to Madrid (she had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank V_Alexandra22
rayuela2010, Owner at Hostal Rayuela, responded to this review

I am the owner of Hostal Rayuela and I know there was an incident with this booking. We ask for the versión of the client by mail and after we ask for the versión of the person who was working in the hostel this day: "This customer had two different reservations, one for day 21 August, she never came and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
JQC Rooms
JQC Rooms
#160 of 265 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Loyola
Hostal Loyola
#199 of 265 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Casa de Huespedes Cuenca
#142 of 265 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Rivera
Hostal Rivera
#201 of 265 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Hostal Welcome
#208 of 265 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Machin
Hostal Machin
#141 of 265 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Malasana

Neighborhood Profile
Malasana
Hip bars and galleries, independent theaters and music venues, young people with tattoos and funky hair, narrow winding streets — this is Malasaña. Near the center, Plaza Dos de Mayo is a gathering of friends outside bars, dog owners, artists under craft tents, and creative types with notebooks and sketchpads on the plaza’s benches. It may not be as neat and tidy as many other parts of the city, but this only adds to the Malasaña edge. Shops and bars here range from hippie-crunchy to upscale trendy, and on weekends, the streets are bustling around the clock as the nightlife progresses from dinner to bar to disco to late-night food. On the west side of the neighborhood is the subdistrict called Conde Duque, named after a large pink fort in its center that has been converted into a cultural center for exhibitions and performances. Prettier yet just as edgy, this intimate corner of Malasaña is home to a young international community.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the center of Madrid, halfway to the Gran Via and Chueca and Malasaña, Rayuela Hostel offers you a total of 10 newly renovated rooms, noted for its cleanliness, tranquility and an excellent location. You can visit the most emblematic place of the city without having to use public transport.All rooms have plasma TV, bed linen, towels and soap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Rayuela

Address: Fuencarral, 41-40 Dcha, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Price Range: $29 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Rayuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay