We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 755: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel is rated 4* and is situated in the quiet Santo Domingo Square, stone throw away from Calle Gran Via [a major shopping street]. The Royal Palace, Opera House and Plaza Mayor are all within 10 minutes walking distance. San Domingo Metro station is right opposite of Hotel entrance. Hotel has roof top swimming pool and bar, dubbing as... More 

Helpful?
Thank MayaT16
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The central location is excellent. We booked a double room with breakfast for six nights through booking.com Genius The room was very small and ugly, the heating system could not be regulated and with all the controls al the minimum and the window opened (outside 6-7C°) was like a South American hotel without AC. The receptionist at our arrival was... More 

Helpful?
Thank diporzio

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location and we found this out immediately. Our taxi driver from the airport also recommended it. Clean, bright, welcoming. Reception excellent We booked an economy room and were advised we were in a larger room. Very good but would not have liked the economy room as the upgrade was cramped. Shower room excellent with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorna19
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of about everything and with a metro stop across the road. Personnel is friendly, especially in the bar and during breakfast. Breakfast is excellent with pretty much everything you could wish for and the breakfast area is very nice and roomy. Our room was okay but located at the street side, so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recomand this hotel for a city break because is in the centre, you can do shopping and visit the attractions of this city very easy. Is clean and the stuff is friendly. Enjoy your trip in Madrid....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank iani_canciu
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Iani, First of all, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. Thank you so much for your kind words and your recommendation. Is a very central hotel and we want the best for our guests. It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars that are all reasonably priced and offer a variety of choice. On the doorstep of the hotel is a Metro station 'Santo Domingo' that provides access to all the tourist attractions. Our room was an economy room and was very cramped and not particularly designed well however... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Joshua, First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. We appreciate your kind words about location, we are very lucky to be in the heart of Madrid. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again, this time in... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the Hotel is very central. About 5 min walking from puerta del sol, and every other central location of Madrid. The rooms are nice and clean, and the staff is nice also. Very quiet Hotel, and modern style rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre M
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre, Thank you very much for write a review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. It is an honor to us to be able to offer this amazing location in the heart of Madrid, between the Gran Vía, the Royal Palace and the Plaza Mayor, and so close to Puerta del Sol. So we appreciate your words about... More 

Central Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good hotel, near the Gran Via, which is very convenient for walking everywhere, for example shopping.. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there wew very modern and spacious room. I will suggest the street view room. The breakfast buffet ws good also.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anittak238
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Anitta, First of all thank you so much for choose and for trust Hotel Santo Domingo in your stay in Madrid. We are so thankful to hear your kind words about the location, the staff, the room and the breakfast. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again. Best Regards, Víctor Nicolás... More 

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The experience of this hotel was spoiled straight away by the rude receptionist at check in, the room we were given was small and pokey, the bathroom was very dated with a glass floor which was very dangerous when coming out of the shower which had a heavy marble shelf hung up by tape, the room had no coffee making... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hewittdavid39
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear David, First of all, thanks for the time invested in posting your comment. We are sad to know that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are surprised to know that you like not the room assigned to you during your stay (room 537), that was superior to the economy, which was that you had booked. As in... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called the hotel before booking to ensure that even though the pool was closed, they would still have the sun loungers available. We were told 'Yes' and therefore booked the hotel, purely on this information. This was in fact wrong. When we spoke with the staff at the hotel, they were not apologetic and when we asked to refund... More 

Helpful?
Thank willo505
Hotelssantodomingo, Subdirector at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Willo 505, First of all, on behalf of the Hotel Santo Domingo, we would like to apologize for the enormous inconvenience caused to you by the impossibility of being able to access our Terrace, which was already closed after the end of the season. We want you to know that, following the suggestions of many customers, we have decided... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,325 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (583)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (699)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Corner Room (70)
Viewed
Daliliana Thematic Superior Room (61)
Viewed
Double Superior Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (113)
Viewed
Solarium Pool (31)
Viewed
Standard Room (57)
Viewed
Standard Thematic Room (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)
Viewed
Triple Thematic Room (46)
Viewed
Unique Suite (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#149 of 447 in Madrid
1,930 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#178 of 447 in Madrid
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace San Bernardo
Petit Palace San Bernardo
#104 of 447 in Madrid
586 reviews
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#165 of 447 in Madrid
705 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $77 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid staff and other travelers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for the room "in the old wing" pref. on 4th or 5th floor level”
 of 5 bubbles MayaT16, yesterday | Read review
“Never stay on lower levels - e.g. 1, 2, 3 or 4 as noise from the street all night long is horrendous with no double glazing on the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CzechSkippyMelb, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“The more modern room seem to be at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Gwyn68, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Interior room was very quite and kept the room cool inside. Might be a bit dark in the winter months.”
 of 5 bubbles I1237BRdavidh, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“dont get one in the annex....more like a cheap 2* hotel”
  • dirty tiles with mold
  • Blue stain on carpet
 of 5 bubbles sean577, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay