We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Gala

#64 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Gala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Gala
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for 1 night during a 24 hour trip in Madrid. Travelling with a group of six other friends, as we arrived in Madrid one of my friends noticed she had lost her passport on our previous flight and as we were travelling back home the next day this caused a lot of panic. The front desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BettinaMacelli
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Bettina, Thank you for praising us! Our staff always tries to be as helpful as possible to travellers in distress. We wish you good luck on your next trip. Regards, Yana More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there late september 2015 for 2 nigths. We were greated very nicely by the staff and we enjoyed the location near all the fuzzy nightlife of Madrid. Room are a little small but everything you need is there. Let's be honest anyway, we didnt stay much in our room since there is so much to do and see... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrankandRose_MTL
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Frank or Rose, Thank you for your opinion. It means a lot to us. We do have larger rooms, although that room type must of been full at the time of you booking. Although it does not seem to be much of an issue since the area that we are located at, as you said, truly makes one spend... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were arriving into Madrid late and we were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived about 9.30pm and the Santa Domingo metro stop is right beside the hotel. We know the area quite well and saw the hotel straight away but had a bit of difficulty finding the door which was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 140Frequenttraveller
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear 104Frequenttraveler, Thank you for your honest opinion. Being compared to a four star hotel is quite a praise. We try to do so in every way. Unfortunately we do not have anywhere to place a rooftop pool, but we would if we could! Best regards, Yana More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two days & had a great time. The best part is the location. We walked to to all the attractions except Real Madrid stadium. It has a tube station nearby & buses pass all the time. Lot of eating places around & open till late. It was really well maintained, both the room & the lobby... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mayur S
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Mayur S, Your comments mean a lot to us. specially those on our personnel. We are glad that you were satisfied by the cleanliness and service. We do try! Best regards, Yana More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

This was probably one of the most enjoyable rooms we stayed in because not only was it fresh and modern with a classic twist, but the windows and patio overlooking the square gave us a nice view with lots of natural light. And it was surprisingly very quiet (except Friday night when there was a lot of people on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tangayi
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that you had a good stay at Hostal Gala. Hopefully, you´ll also encounter excellent weather when you come back. Best regards, Yana More 

Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

But.. The rooms looks nothing like in the pictures. It was extremely small. The friendly and helpful staff and the central location definitely compensate for it. Note that the hostel takes up only a part of the huge building, so you need to buzz them on the intercom and find out how to get in. Have fun!

Helpful?
Thank shan-shan100
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Shan-shan100. Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travelers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. Your compliments of our staff and good location... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

I am now at the hotel with my wife and room is so clean and the service was fantastic, the lady was giving us the details of the service, map Madrid and wifi password before asking. The location is very close to Santio Domingo (Metro station), even you can go walking for shopping, But most of rooms are Small but100%... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sayed Hashem A
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Sayed Hashem A, In first place thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Gala. Is the first time that one of our clients sends an opinion from the hostal and at the same day that they arrive. We interpret it like a very good signal and a very good first impression! We are happy to know that you... More 

Linz
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Very friendly staff, modern design, location in the middle of the city (5 minutes walk to the palace), a little bit loud since in the center, close to the metro (100 m) and good restaurants, bars and shopping centers. The matress was a little bit too hard for me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dancing-Queen33
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Dancing-Queen33, In first place we thank you for sharing your opinion about Hostal Gala Madrid. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our location, desing and service. We hope to see you soon at Hostal Gala Madrid. Best regards, Hostal Gala. More 

Bandung
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Paula and Xurxor reception staff were very kind and helpful, they know didn't have much to share but they have very good service so far, this make a good impression after long flight. And about over all condition although rooms bit tiny but there was small balcony to see street from above and some rooms wireless were slower then others.

Helpful?
2 Thank tantiklam
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Tantiklam, Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hostal Gala. We are very glad to know that you liked our service and that you enjoyed the view rooms. We hope to see you soon so we can mend our faults and offer you a better experience. Best regards, Hostal Gala. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in the hostel, great location, right next to the metro station and the main shopping area is also in walking distance. Room with reasonable size, but the aircon will be turn off at mid night, it's quite hot in Madrid in summer, so please remember to tell the receptionist that do not turn off the aircon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ava L
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Ava L, In first place thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the other travellers. It is very nice for us to know that you liked our location, service and room. We hope you have spent a great time in Madrid. Always welcome, Hostal Gala. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (376)
Viewed
Amsterdam Apartment (88)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Sydney Apartment (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#80 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#47 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#79 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#81 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#52 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#16 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#75 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Business Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay