We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal Gala

Show Prices
#137 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Gala
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Gala
 Click to rate
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the place for 5 nights but due to change of travel plan we had to leave on the second day. The front desk staff was quite friendly about our change and refunded 2 nights out of the 5 (we only stayed 1 night). If you need to cancel last minute or leave early, their policy is to charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed January 8, 2017

I stayed at this hotel in April 2016, together with a group of 16 students. The rooms were big and the people at the reception had fantastic disposition to help. It would benefit if it would include breakfast; however, they made arrangements for us to have breakfast at a cafe on the ground floor for an extra charge. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcela C
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Marcela: Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad when the costumer enjoy our services and they conceded our daily efforts and daily work. Hope to see you next time. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed December 18, 2016

,We booked the hotel for 3 main reasons: location, wifi and air conditioning. Of these only the location is as promised in the details of the hotel. The wifi is horrible at best, we had one specific point in our room where it works and even then to send a simple whatsapp message, for instance, seemed to burden it and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paz I
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Paz: Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is a shame that your review is not as honest as we would like it to be. The Air Conditioning, as you well said, is a centralized system. Inside the room you could find a knob which controls the airflow of the AC into the room. We always...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed November 30, 2016

Hostal Gala is located in a very convenient part of town, within walking distance of everything you'll want to visit. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff is very friendly. It was a great place to start our visit in Madrid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlies788
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Charlies788, Thank you for your nice review. We are very proud when the costumer enjoy the services and explain it for other travellers. We hope you come back. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I'm just appalled this place gets such great reviews. Its not horrible, but not worth such great reviews at all. First, the rooms are TINY. I knew we wouldn't be getting a huge hotel style room, but this was TINY. The rooms could also use a deep cleaning. Sure they were surface clean, but no one had washed the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrunette
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear WanderingBrunette, We are sorry you did not have a pleseant stay with us. The boiler issue was fixed as fast as possible and we offered rooms that were not affected to shower in. As far as the size of the rooms, we have serveral categories. The "small double room" is intended for short stays with little luggage. Travelers on...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Not a superb first impression as the hostal is located on the second floor of a multi-use building. Once we were shown our room however - WOW! We booked the Superior Double Room. Beautiful corner room with high ceilings and stunning views on to the street. Massive king bed and just very spacious - unusual for many European stays! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k0stravel
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear k0stravel, We are glad that you had a good stay in our little jewel, the "superior double". The building is indeed historical and we are slowly undergoing soundproofing. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 21, 2016

We were a bit nervous about what to expect as it was quite reasonably priced, but the room was brilliant with a lovely balcony overlooking a square, nice and clean with modern decor, comfy beds and a great shower. The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Very close to the Grand via and all other attractions. Would defiantly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elaine t
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Also, thank you for your comments on our staff. Theese are a great source of motivation for us. We would love to see you return to Hostal Gala in the future. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was spacious and clean. Street outside is quite noisy so don't stay here if you want peace and quiet. Central location with all sites within walking distance. A good value place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other Tripadvisor travellers. We hope to see you again whenever you return to Madrid. Best regards, Xurxo Hostal Gala

Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

This hostel has small yet clean rooms with private bathroom. The location is perfect, you are at walking distance from all center sights. Plus the price is very good for the area. ** tip: bring ear plugs if the noise bothers you; sometimes the streets are loud and the neighbors snore :). Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Jose L
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hostal Gala and hope to see you again. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewed September 30, 2016

This little hotel is located in a very centralized location close to the Gran Via, Opera, and several metro stations. All the major sites in central Madrid is within walking distance. The hotel is on the second floor of the building so that was a bit confusing when arriving. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Jaime, Thank you very much for your honest opinion and your remarks on our staff. Do note that we have rooms facing the inside of the building for travelers that demand more silence. Please let us know your preference when you come back. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

551 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (376)
Viewed
Amsterdam Apartment (88)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Sydney Apartment (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#92 of 444 in Madrid
411 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 444 in Madrid
1,585 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#94 of 444 in Madrid
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#90 of 444 in Madrid
575 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#136 of 444 in Madrid
558 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#80 of 444 in Madrid
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $57 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal Gala staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
1 month ago
Central Florida, Florida
Victoria, Australia
5 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Gala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Superior Double was well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles k0stravel, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room that does not face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieF252, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Try for front room rather than side rom for less street noise. There is a club/bar in the street on the side.”
 of 5 bubbles DonMacalister, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“We were looking onto street so essential to shut windows at night but good soundproofing”
 of 5 bubbles 412nicolaf, May 23, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are on the second floor and well soundproofed. Rooms looking out on to the square have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles GilesP, Mar 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question