We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Lopez de Hoyos 4, 28006 Madrid Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 10% OFF
Booking.com
$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Trip.com
$141
View deal
Barcelo.com$167
Hotels.com$169
travelup.com$209
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (428)
Room & Suite (110)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barcelo Emperatriz
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 498 hotels in Madrid
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
The newly opened Barceló Emperatriz is located in the best area of ​​Madrid: the "Barrio de Salamanca", next to the best boutiques and restaurants in the city, between the Paseo de la Castellana and Calle Serrano and with buses and subway a scarce meters will allow you to easily reach any point in the city. The hotel's 146 rooms are equipped with large beds with 300-thread-count sheets, a safe, a complete bathroom with a bathtub and shower, free coffee and tea service in the room, a bathrobe and slippers, as well as cutting-edge technology such as a connectivity panel. "Mini media Hub", free WIFI, 48 "television. We also offer our exclusive service "Guest Experience Service" that will provide everything you need to make your stay perfect and unforgettable. You can taste excellent dishes and Healthy menu in our Mutis Restaurant or disconnect by having a Cocktail in our Bar Eugènie.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Solarium
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 10% OFF
1269Reviews24Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,018
  • 201
  • 32
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gunnar Fredriksen wrote a review Sep 18
5 contributions
Rooms are ok but a bit dark. Beds somewhat hard for my taste. Broken glass plate on the desk and the bathroom lacked a toilet brush. Clean hotel. Tasty food, but had to eat in the room because the reception refused to book a table in the hotel restaurant. They told us to talk to the restaurant, but no one was there. In the lower end of five stars. No spa or wellness center. Hotel is clean. Staff mostly very friendly. This is not an upscale hotel and I would rate it as a good 4-star but not fivestar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
womullan wrote a review Apr 2021
Tucson, Arizona267 contributions76 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is situated in a great place (especially if you need to go to the US embassy). Staff are very helpful and friendly. Valet service for the car is excellent - when the vehicle was delayed don the last day we were offered complementary drinks at the bar while waiting. Welcome cocktail is a nice touch (standard Barcelo I believe we had it elsewhere also). If there is a negative it was room size or perhaps that the bathroom is larger than it needs to be (bathtub is a waste of space ) leaving the bedroom feeling a bit tight.(Yes we could have booked a larger room). Also, odd for Spain, no bidet in the large bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barceló Emperatriz, Otros at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Apr 25, 2021
Dear guest, First of all, we really appreciate your trust on us, and we hope that you had a nice trip back home. It has been a pleasure hosting you during your visit to Madrid and we are pleased to know that we have reached your expectations making you feel like home. By the other hand, we are sorry if the room that you booked did not match your wishes. For your next visit, we would love to assist you and show you some of our different categories, to find the one that better matches your requirements. Thank you once again for your comments and your visit to our hotel. We are waiting to see you soon around here. Kindest regards, Barceló Emperatriz Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gloria N wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely first rate hotel with fantastic location yet (when we traveled) mid-range in price. Located a few steps from Paseo de la Castellana, with a bus stop for buses that take one in 15 minutes to the Prado and other major attractions. Plenty of staff at hand to assist with any issues. Restaurants are nearby plus the hotel restaurant is very good and we ate there several times for a late lunch or early dinner. The hotel breakfasts are lavish, with numerous buffet options and also made to order dishes. Rooms are very well set up and comfortable. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Dear Gloria, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated our central location. Our team sincerely appreciates your compliments and thank you for your mention of our tasty breakfast which has a range of options to suit everyone's tastes. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Opal R wrote a review Aug 2022
Narre Warren, Australia4 contributions
The room was well equipped, the bed was huge and super comfy, plenty of storage space for clothes, beautiful bathroom with huge bath, the balcony was larger than I expected. Room was thoroughly cleaned and serviced every day. Staff were super friendly and helpful. The location was great. I would stay here again. It was my husband and my favourite hotel that we stayed at when travelling in Europe. We booked the premium empress room and we’re not disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Aug 6, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that our team were attentive to your needs. The comfort of our guests is a top priority, so your positive feedback is very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ligia R wrote a review Jun 2022
Romania27 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 3 nights at Barcelo Emperatriz and it was a lovely experience. The Hotel is close by the bus/metro station and you can get to the city center in almost 10-15 min. Great public transport, by the way! We had a Deluxe room, the bed was very comfortable and the room was great overall. The breakfast was also great with lots of options for anyone. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time in Madrid and we were very happy with our choice of hotel. Thank you to all the team for a lovely stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Dear Ligia, Thank you for your positive feedback. We do our best to ensure that guests feel welcome and it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay. It is also very pleasing to know that we were able to provide a great night's sleep and a great start to your day with a delicious breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dakota1956 wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC112 contributions61 helpful votes
This was our last hotel stay of a 2-week hectic trip across Spain. The hotel was welcoming and our room was elegant -- king bed, large bathroom, windows that opened to the breeze. We will look for other hotels offered by this brand in our future travels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Dear Dakota, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to know that you had such a great experience with us. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our decor. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards. Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Champagnecosmo wrote a review Jun 2022
Peebles, United Kingdom142 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
We had an overall lovely experience at this hotel and would easily recommend to anyone wishing to stay close to the centre of the city. It was easy to travel around from this base and we found the city bus/metro connections, just a few minutes’ walk away, very good. When the weather isn’t nearly 40°, I imagine it would be an easy walk to the Plaza de Cibeles from here too. However, it was very hot and we chose to use the city’s excellent public transport! We had a “Premium Emperess” room on the eight floor with a large terrace overlooking the Paseo de La Castellana. Views were excellent and we really enjoyed our jacuzzi bath for cooling down in the hot weather in between sightseeing. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the sunhats and coffee machine, which was an unexpected addition (having not spotted this mentioned in the room description when booking). The Barcelo app was a great support during our stay and if you run out of items or need to request support for an issue, you can do so in the app. Very convenient and unobtrusive! The buffet Breakfast was good with sufficient options for anyone on a short term stay. The hot items could have been a bit hotter but perhaps that was a personal choice of ours. The quality of the food, however, seemed really good and we appreciated the extra touches - such as cava and the hot chocolate fountain for churros. As it had been my birthday the day prior to arrival, the hotel surprised me with a beautiful gift of fresh fruit and cava shortly after checking in. This was a really lovely touch indeed. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly at the front desk and though we often struggled a little communicating in English with the room service team, we managed to get there in the end. This could perhaps be made less of a struggle - for everyone - if there was an option to place an order via the app (as can be used for other issues). Just a thought… We had a wonderful time in Madrid and certainly were very happy with our choice of hotel. Thank you to all the team for a lovely stay! We will be sure to return when we next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Jun 22, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our hotel to be in a central location for your visit to Madrid . We are very pleased to know that you appreciated the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be comfortable. We are just as delighted that our app helped you to make the most of your stay in our hotel and to know that it lived up to your expectations. Our breakfasts represent healthy eating habits that have become a better way to live when travelling. We strive to provide guests with new experiences by introducing local, natural, organic, plant-based and seasonal products. We are pleased it helped start your day off right, even if the temperature of a few of the food items didn't quite meet your expectations. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we satisfied yours. We are thrilled that you felt welcomed and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not hesitate to share your compliments with the entire team as we know it will encourage us to keep on going the extra mile. Your feedback will be shared with all hotel teams as we are sure they find such comments motivating. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panza S wrote a review Jun 2022
Strasbourg, France18 contributions1 helpful vote
No goodwill gesture to compensate unpleasant check in, asked for restaurant reservation and finally no reservation, not delivering to France a forgotten book and for Madrid 10 euros charge. Is a Deluxe?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Ms. Panza, We regret your dissatisfaction with the service offered at the hotel. With regard to forgetting your book, we would like to comment that we are responsible for managing the shipment, the amount of the shipment is quoted by the courier company based on the address that you have given us. We remain at your disposal now and on future occasions. Best regards. Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hana_K_di wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for business the location is great lotsa cafes and resturaunts the staff is friendly and the hotel is clean I used the room service cuz I liked their food as well and the safety is excellent. The room has the essentials and even laundry service is good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear Hana, Thank you for your positive feedback. We aim to make every experience with us a memorable one, so it is very rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from a recent guest. It is an incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josudufe wrote a review May 2022
Istanbul, Turkey4 contributions
Nice bed and sheets, recently renewed, good amenities and great location. Check-in and check-out was very fast at comfortable desks with chairs done by very friendly staff. Great option for business and pñeasure travels to Madrid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barcelo Emperatriz
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is very rewarding to learn that we provided you with the perfect stay, and we are glad our location was ideal for your time here. We appreciate your kind comment about our team; the acknowledgement of the quality of service on the part of a recent guest is always appreciated and encourages us to constantly uphold our performance. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards, Equipo Barceló Emperatriz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hesperia emperatriz hotel community of madrid
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hesperia Emperatriz
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadridSalamanca (District) / Barrio de Salamanca / Castellana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelo Emperatriz
Which popular attractions are close to Barcelo Emperatriz?
Nearby attractions include Museo Sorolla (0.2 miles), Museo Lazaro Galdiano (0.1 miles), and Monument Glorieta de Emilio Castelar (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barcelo Emperatriz?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Gaditana Castellana, El Jardin del InterContinental, and El Aliño Casa de Comidas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a rooftop pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Barcelo Emperatriz?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Barcelo Emperatriz offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barcelo Emperatriz?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.