We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Certificate of Excellence
Calle Mejia Lequerica 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 24: English reviews
Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

i have been for one night. the receptionist were very kind with me. the breakfast is very good, and i think is very difficult to find some hostel better and cheaper than this. the problem was the wifi because didn't work.

Helpful?
Thank ntravelrm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Not very friendly staff here. I had quite a few problems getting information. The wifi was really bad a few days and the staff insisted it was my computer even though it was multiple people having the same problem. The breakfast was great. Laundry on site which was really nice. Rooms were good, had to switch rooms half way through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
Paolo R, Gerente at Albergue Juvenil Madrid, responded to this review

Hola Adrian, Thanks for your feed back. However to improve our services we need you to tell us specifically what happened with our staff. Infact, if you look to the rest of reviews, you could see that we have many positive evaluations. Regarding the fact you had to swich room, we apologise with you, but sometimes is imposible for us... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This is a very big hostel- you won't be able to tell until you go up the stairs and look for your room. The rooms are very nice and the place is very clean. You have your own bathroom in each room so you don't have to run down the hall grasping a towel or see anyone else do the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I was with some friends in the last Easter week in a 6 bedroom with private bathroom. Is perfectly located, close to Chueca, Malasaña, Gran Via, 25 minutes from El Retiro... Cleaning service is included and daily. The problem was that I was in room 8, close to the breakfast room, what it means that from 9.00H there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Armand_BCN
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

At under 20 Euros per person per night, for a private 4 person room with a private bathroom, Albergue Juvenil was a good hostel in a really great part of Madrid, Malasana. The bathroom was huge with a lot of counterspace and separated toilet area and shower so multiple people could get ready at the same time. Room also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma W
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Cracking window equals a very cold room in the winter, Free wifi doesn't work on the other floors other than the Third floor, the bed was very hard, the breakfast lady were very mean, I fell I stayed in the prison. only good of these place is people in the front desk were nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank kpbsrs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Cracking doors, suffocating dorms, out-of-order lifts, frequent black-outs and stinking corridors cannot be seen through the (above-shown) image Gallery yet strongly odours are readily noticeable upon arrival. Backpackers -you´ve been warned- bring over your own produce: Orange-juice at breakfast will forcefully lead your stomach for a dash visit to WC ("arsenic & old lace" revisited) and I discovered for a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OldtimerGent
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed there for three nights. Was very clean. The wifi only works in the common room area but it works great there. The workers were extremely nice. We had a private bath, which was very clean. It is in a building that houses a kindergarten so we were concerned it would be loud but we really did not hear... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stief510
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nights = 4 No. of people = 6 (per dorm room + private bathroom) I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this modern, clean and spacious youth hostel located in the center of Madrid; having never stayed in a youth hostel before, I was unsure of what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. As in other reviews,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jayloEssex
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I ve stayed only 2 nights there but was very good. The cleanliness in bedroom, bathroom and all hostel were great! They have good computers to use in a room and a specific room in last floor to stay with friends. Just indeed thing that I missed was in kitchen that don't have a good support for guests that would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scylla03
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Albergue Juvenil San Fermin
#371 of 447 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#93 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Chueca
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
#120 of 390 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostels
U Hostels
#6 of 390 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Malasana
Mad4You Hostel
Mad4You Hostel
#18 of 390 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#11 of 390 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chueca

Neighborhood Profile
Chueca
Chueca is the hip, gay neighborhood of Madrid where many of the streets are narrow and intimate, but where the hustle and bustle and the eclectic storefronts and people give it a distinctly urban feel. The main thoroughfare is Calle Hortaleza and the main square is Plaza Chueca, completely filled with terraza tables serving copas (mixed drinks) during summer. A mixture of trendy and grungy, some of the adult businesses here are explicitly racy in their signage. From the rainbow flags to the signs above the entrances of its many funky bars, to the date spot restaurants, Chueca is a vibrant and colorful place. It's always interesting to explore the different corners of Chueca by day, and by night, the area becomes a major nightlife destination when the clubs open their doors.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the first Municipal Youth Hostel situated right in the centre of Madrid. The building of the hostel which was inagurated in 2007 boasts of the most modern facilities. The hostel has been named one of the best youth hostels in Europe, making Madrid an ideal place for tourism for national and international youth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Address: Calle Mejia Lequerica 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Price Range: $18 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing