We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

HelloBCN Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
HelloBCN Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my two friends and was underwhelmed. The location is quite far out from anything significant and in a more residential area. We stayed in an eight bed mixed dorm and it was okay at best. It was relatively bare and very small, they couldn't have crammed anything else in if they had tried.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kljnfoskfofng
HelloBCN Hostel B, Manager at HelloBCN Hostel, responded to this review

We're disappointed you did not enjoy your stay! We find the hostel to be ideally located to be able to see Barcelona and, at the same time enjoy Barcelona like the locals do! We are situated at the base of Montjuic, the site of the Olympic Games, and less then a 10 minute walk from La Rambla. Whatsmore, Blai Street,... More 

Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite oppressive looking room, grey, metal doors, small space, lots of ants. Air con worked well though. Staff just ok, not super helpful. Location is good just off Para lel. Nice cocktail nearby called Marco Polo's.

Helpful?
Thank J0Fly
HelloBCN Hostel B, Manager at HelloBCN Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the tip on Marco Polo's. We are disappointed to hear that you had ants in your room. As soon as we read your comment we inspected your room however we didn't find any ants. We have however requested that our pest control company take a look to confirm this. We do ask guests not to take food to... More 

Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is very quiet and low-key. Rooms are clean, bathrooms are okay. It's good if you want a place to rest but it doesn't encourage a lot of communication. Common areas are mostly filled with people or groups of people minding their own business. The in-house bar only serves beer and it closes at 12 am. Ask for Raluca... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pratik S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hostel, good location, friendly staf.The rooms have air conditioning equipment. Breakfast is very good. They offer bikes for rent, and they are cheap and good. I think they should have more bathrooms.

Helpful?
Thank Damian G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unlikely to recommend this particular hostel, simply because the price wasn't worth what you get. We went for a twin room which was over 100 euros a night. At that rate we may as well have gone for an actual hotel. Once you got upstairs though it was a bit bleak, like a prison with bare steel doors everywhere. Wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great breakfast, very helpful staff, clean and confortable, nice bathrooms. The lockers are perfect, and they give you a bracelet-key that opens your locker, your door, the elevator and the hostel door so is very safe. They give you tips for partys and if you like they have jenga and other games =) Is very well located (near subway and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariana D
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

I'm a student and I travel with low-budget. This hostel was cheap and cleaned so it was ok. I looked for an hostel to find a young atmosphere, to know people from other countries, BUT maybe it was just a bed time because there were not so many people as i expected (2 floors were closed). The room was VERY... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azzurra A
HelloBCN Hostel B, Manager at HelloBCN Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately you were here whilst we were finishing off the renovations to our bathrooms. We are happy to say that they are completed and they are looking great! We now have the whole hostel open and full of travellers keen to explore and enjoy Barcelona, and make new friends! We have loads of great activities planned,... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Staff was amazing, very welcoming and friendly. They really made the stay enjoyable. Very clean place. Close to main Metro line and several places to eat / drink. Overall great stay and worth the money!

Helpful?
1 Thank CBoyles
HelloBCN Hostel B, Public Relations Manager at HelloBCN Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, and your overall trip to Barcelona! :) You are welcomed anytime! More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Good place just for sleeping. No atmosphere at all and bathrooms were aweful. Same room for toiletes and showers with cero privacy. You can also hear and smell all the toilete activities during your shower, what was really disgusting. Beds and breakfast average. In the other hand, the staff was really helpfull and friendly and it is always a major... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maru-Sainz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

- Wifi worked like magic, had zero issues with it. - Lockers were very large, plenty of room for my whole carry on suitcase and then some inside. - Wristband lock system to get in the hostel also unlocked the lockers in the rooms. Very easy and convenient. - Free breakfast was pretty good: cereal, toast, muffin, coffee/tea/juice. Basic but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylie W
HelloBCN Hostel B, Public Relations Manager at HelloBCN Hostel, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Thank you for your review, it is very rewarding for us to see such detailed and positive thoughts about our hostel. Mucha suerte! :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Pars Teatro Hostel
Pars Teatro Hostel
#61 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Montjuic
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#123 of 744 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#101 of 744 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#80 of 744 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
El Raval
Be Mar  Barcelona Hostel
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
#203 of 744 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#209 of 744 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montjuic

Neighborhood Profile
Montjuic
Beyond the four columns standing guard at the Plaça Espanya, beyond even the extravagant and colorful fountains guiding your way up the boulevard, stands the impressive and towering structure of the Palau Nacional, the national museum. At this very spot in front of the cascades of the central fountain, Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballe gave the performance of their lifetimes to welcome the 1992 Olympic Games to this magnificent city. And true to its anticipation, the games transformed the city, reimagining the mountain of Montjuic with the development of an arena, stadium, and many other sporting facilities that are open to visitors year-round. Surrounding the adjacent side of the plaza are well-established hotels catering to business guests and a shopping mall transformed out of a historic bullfighting arena.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hello Barcelona!! Let us help you make your stay unforgettable. HelloBCN Hostel is designed with the backpacker/traveler in mind: breakfast, sheets, Internet, and use of the kitchen are all included in the price, so you don't have to worry about 'hidden extras' when you arrive (towels available for hire) and best of all you're sure to make loads of new friends and travel companions!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HelloBCN Hostel

Address: C/ Lafont 8-10, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Price Range: $24 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HelloBCN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellobcn Hotel Barcelona
HelloBCN Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay