We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ding Dong Express

Riera De Sant Miquel, 74, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ding Dong Express
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at DingDong Express - it was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The bathroom was shared but as there was no one in the neighboring bedroom we had it to ourselves and it was spotless and looked brand new. The only reservations we had were that the reception is only manned part time. We waited over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you Rosie for choosing DingDong Express for your last stay in Barcelone and for your positive assessment. It's really that our location is perfect for visiting the city. We have 2 hostel in Barcelona and our staff is in one or other, but always we have service for ours customers. We regret any inconvenience that we may have caused... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Stayed here for 7 nights in July 2015 with my boyfriend. As other comments mentioned the main issue I had with this hostel was checking in system. Having not slept for 24 hrs by the time we arrived, it was extremely frustrating to arrive to no receptionist. After waiting for an hour other guests arrived, who phoned the the other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flora D
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing DingDong Express for your last stay in Barcelona and for your positive assessment. We regret any inconvenience that we may have caused you during your stay. It's very important to read the information about ours hostels in our website, instructions and information about the check in. We are glad to know that you enjoyed finally your... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at DingDong after a long flight and train journey to find the place locked and no one on reception! We had to ring a mobile number on the door and wait over 10 minutes on a dark street for someone to arrive and let us in. Not good. Place smelled of marijuana. Room was nothing like photos. Small... More 

Helpful?
Thank HearnClark
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hostel t for your last stay in Barcelona. You have all information in your confirmation booking about our reception system and the code for entry in the buiding and for doing the check in directly in our machine for that. We have one person always for attend our 2 hostel, It's possible that our collegue... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

When I booked this my search was Hotels in Barcelona. It brought me to this site. This is NOT a hotel but rather a hostal.The photo was a double room, bright and large. Seemed like the perfect spot for a 4 day vacation. It was NOT. the room was dark and so tiny. It said there was a double bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julieji2015
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Valencia. We regret to know that your expectations weren't satisfied during your stay. We are a hostel, no a hotel and our service is according this kind of establisment. You could ask us to change the room for another bigger or lighter. It's very important to ckeck with the... More 

Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

The location is pretty great. It is very close to Passeig de Gracia. However, our room was infested with bed bugs!!! After we complained, they changed our room, but in this one the shower was broken and the water was hardly running. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. For this kind of price you can book better hostel or even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gintare2014
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona. We regret any inconvenience that we may have caused you during your stay. Inmediately we contacted with our disinfected company for doing once more the disinfection. For your next visit to Bacelona, contact with us for give you our best service. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
229 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We chose this place because of its location to the Gracia neighborhood and metro station. We stayed for two nights and it all worked out very well. Our room was very clean and we liked being able to open the large window and stand on the balconette. This was a good choice for this location. Safe and clean. We only... More 

Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing DingDong Express for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are very grateful to you for spending your time sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

My stay was for 9 days and this hostel seemed to be the most modern one in the area. Check in was very simple, but I would have preferred there to be a personal receptionist to be there. I only saw the receptionist once throughout my whole stay and that was the day of check out.. I booked for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaviny218
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing DingDong Express for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. Thank you very much for your suggestions. Let's analyze them to see if we can improve in some way. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are very grateful to you for spending your time sharing your experience... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We booked 4 nights at this hostel and we were satisfied by the decision. Very clean, with everything you need in the room (except fridge, but it wasn't very necessary). The street is very lighted, clean and safe. Also, the location is very, very good, it's 30 minutes max walking to Catalunya square. We liked it!

Helpful?
Thank Andra O
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por haber escogido nuestro establecimiento para su última estancia en la Ciudad de Barcelona. Nos complace saber que... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

Terrible experience at this seemingly upscale hostel. Arrived an hour early for check in and receptionist would not speak to us until "check in time" even though the hostel was empty. Had a friend join later in the evening...with no receptionist around (only around for 1 hour at check in) he couldn't not enter the building because of the need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Talia R
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Valencia. We regret to know that your expectations weren't satisfied during your stay. We will contact the department and take action to prevent a recurrence. We take in consideration your comments for future improvements in our services / installations of our Hostel. If you came to Barcelona again, please... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 1 night only when come to check in around one o'clock, no receiption , i need to pay extra fee for store's calling finally and not easy helpful for connection. But the location and room is cleaning, generally are all okay.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond N
DingDong P, Director General at Ding Dong Express, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona. We regret any inconvenience that we may have caused by the check in system during your stay. We are glad to know your comments about our location, service and quality. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#170 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
#81 of 318 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
DingDong Putxet
#197 of 318 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Feetup Garden House Hostel
#88 of 318 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#63 of 318 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Gracia
Generator Barcelona
Generator Barcelona
#74 of 720 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gracia

Neighborhood Profile
Gracia
Gracia literally stands out from the pack. It used to be an independent town until late into the 19th century. Though it’s just a short commute away from the center, a visit here feels like you’re in a whole different city. The bohemian vibe has drawn many international artists to this area, resulting in a wide selection of galleries, live music and artsy boutique stores. The nightlife is centered around the vibrant Gracia’s plaças, where young and old gather to enjoy a drink outside. Carrer de Verdi, its main street, offers affordable restaurants and a movie theater that screens new as well as classic films in their original language. However Gracia's greatest treasure lies just up the hill at Guell Park, where Antoni Gaudi's vibrant and revolutionary art sculptures stand atop unequaled views of Barcelona.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay