We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sun & Moon Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sun & Moon Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed here for 3 nights and this was the worst accommodation i've stayed in. Positive thing is that its located in the centre of the city and if you dont need sea its great and if you want to swim you need to walk approximately 20 minutes to get there. This isnt a quiet neighbourhood and if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matej P
Radovis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Fantastic location Big room Cons: Room with private bathroom is outside of the main building No wireless internet in the room, only in the main building Old and dark room without sound isolation, it's very noisy in the room even at 5 am

Helpful?
Thank milemobile
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We will try to improve in the quality and services and comfort of the hostel. We appreciate your feedback to keep bringing the best on us :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was pleasantly surprised as expected somewhere much worse for my first stay at a hostel! Great location - just off Las Ramblas, near metro/bus stops, walkable distance to restaurants and tourist attractions such as Picasso museum. They offered a free walking tour and other great services. Room was ok size, a little stuffy/smelly with staying with 6 boys haha but... More 

Helpful?
Thank marthadobberson
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Martha for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Please visit us again soon! Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had an awesome time at Sun and Moon! Perfect location in the middle of the old town, friendly people and great vibes in the bar at night. Close to the beach and so much different restaurants and bars nearby! Ill be back next summer for sure :)

Helpful?
Thank reinhartvansimaeys
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to see you again soon :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were very cramped, beds very uncomfortable and breakfast was awful. We also bought a ticket off the guy who runs the hostel bar and bar crawls for 8 euros who promised us entry to Opium to see Eric Prydz. However when we got to Opium we were told the ticket wasn't valid and we would have to pay another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom H

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

First experience - no atmosphere, lots of people but nobody is communicating. Like a factory - many floors, many rooms, people stay strangers. OK, fine with that. Small shower, small room, not enough of air for 8 grown-ups, A/C not working. Then - the issue : I got into the room, take a shower, leave a t-shirt and my phone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bodrimir
The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

We really like Sun & Moon hostel. I went here last week with 3 other girls, we stayed in a sharing room of 6 people. The rooms are simple, but very clean. They told us when it wasnt clean we have to come to the reception and tell them so they would clean it again...that's not happened in other hostels... More 

Helpful?
Thank marieclairecools
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment! We can't wait to see you again :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I've booked many hostels throughout Europe for my boyfriend and I. I'm not sure how it happened, but with this hostel we were only given one bed. Somehow I accidentally booked one small twin bed for the both of us, but I am still confused as to how this happened because it has never happened before. Not sure why they... More 

Helpful?
Thank razzloe
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comment! We are happy you would like to come back again, please do! We continuosly try to give better service and offer more facilities in the hostel! So, see you soon :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

where to begin, the room was sad and too small, you pay for your sheet and your blanket .everything is broken, the ladder up to the top bed was pressed between the wall and the bed. so they give you a stool to climb on...you pay for everything and get plenty of arrogance in return..i want a lower bed ok... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjat2015
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear 65 year old Customer, First of all, you had a large 6 bed dorm with en-suite bathroom. Nothing was broken in your room. You not only requested a lower bed, but were insistent to the receptionist and the maintenance staff to change other people's bags in order for you to stay in the lower bed. The staff said this... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

The hostel is located in the heart of the Gothic part quarter , 30 meters to La Ramblas, and perfectly in center between the Playa and Plaza de Catalunya. The Team is great and you can check in 24/24 ! Ask for Rodrigez ! for great nightlife plans every night ! :D

Helpful?
Thank FATHI Y
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comment!!! We hope to see you again soon :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#275 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Uranie Barcelona
Uranie Barcelona
#243 of 742 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Europa
Hostal Europa
#268 of 742 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#23 of 742 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#178 of 742 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#73 of 742 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighborhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighborhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sun & Moon hostel offers the opportunity to stay in the heart of the Gothic Area in Barcelona. Its unsurpassed location will give you the opportunity to find the treasures of the most antique streets, the cathedral, museus, plaza Sant Jaime, Ferran… and much more! If you choose to take one our free walking tours, our colleague will explain you all the legends in an interactive, funny and cool way!Sun & Moon hostel accommodates around 170 people, which means, you can get to know many people daily from around the world with different cultures and styles!We encourage to get to know them in our lobby that is open 24 hours!Our recent renovated, common area, is open 24 hours and has 6 computers with free unlimited Internet connection and Wi-Fi, a kitchen (owen, microwave, fridge), a chill-out zone, TV, music to relax solo and with friends.Before the party starts, we offer Free dinner daily (except drinks). To continue the long night, we organize big parties whereby everyone gets to know each other and see the experiment the famous clubs in Barcelona. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun & Moon Hostel

Address: 17, Ferran Street, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: $22 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun & Moon Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun & Moon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sun & Moon Hotel Barcelona
Hostel Sun And Moon
Sun & Moon Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay