We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona

Save
Share
Ronda Universitat 15, Pral-1, 08001 Barcelona Spain
Expedia.com
StayForLong
Vio.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)

About

#84 of 1,173 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
GreenLeaders Silver level
Sleep Green is an environmentally-friendly youth hostel in the center of beautiful Barcelona. We created it from the passion to minimize the impact of our youth hostel on natural resources. Sleep Green is a small, friendly youth hostel with comfortable air-conditioned dormitories of only 4 to 6 beds. It's a short walk to main sites, public transportation, bars, shops and the old town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Farsi and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
606Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
161Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
152Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 30
  • 10
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
slenciauskaite wrote a review Mar 2020
Kaunas, Lithuania1 contribution
During the period of my visit in this hostel, I was pleasantly surprised by the staff work and Inga Valiaugaite in particular. I was provided with the all necessary information related to the hostel itself, moreover, I was provided with the information related to the town, places that might be interesting and all the questions that I asked were answerd without any unambiguity.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: No comments on the room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rolandasvaliauga wrote a review Feb 2020
Kaunas, Lithuania1 contribution
It's very nice place to stay. I will be come back here next years. I recommend this place for all my friends. Very good service, friendly people are working there. Thank you once again and good luck. Thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Owner at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear rolandasvaliauga, We would like to thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and feedback with us, we highly appreciate you taking the time to do that. It is good to hear you enjoyed your experience here and we are looking forward to welcoming you here in Barcelona once again! :) Best wishes, Sleep Green Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnyaKniazeva wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
The place was just great! The hostel in in the very heart of Barcelona. Despite that, it is very quiet and restful inside. I am a solo female traveler, so it was important for me to feel safe. The place has clean showers, free computer access and a well-packed kitchen. Ah, and they are open 24/7 so I didn't have to butcher my plans according them to open hours. Last but not least, special thanks to Inga at the reception! She really knows the city and shared a ton of insights (and she is just adorable). Thank you, and I will see you again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Owner at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear Anya, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are super happy to hear you had a pleasant experience with us and appreciated our facilities. It is lovely to hear our team could make your visit remarkable! All the best and see you in the near future! :) Best wishes, Sleep Green Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ilyeschemseddine wrote a review Feb 2020
Marseille, France1 contribution
very quiet place and super friendly staff I will come back every time I come to Barcelona, ​​this establishment has a magnificent location near all metro station, bus and lots of shops for shopping remains a city to visit
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Owner at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Dear Ilyes, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel's atmosphere, location & our welcoming vibe. We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon! All the best, Sleep Green Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Littlefrankie wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Sleep Green is a lovely hostel. It’s very clean and tidy with all the facilities you need. The location is great being central to most things you want to see. It’s a quiet hostel without a big common space with made for a nice relaxing stay with no hustle and bustle. The best thing about Sleep Green is the staff. They are all very friendly and happy to help you out. When I checked in Gustavo made me feel right at home from the start and introduced me to other guests and gave me great advice on places to eat and drink. I’ve made some new friends for life.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Cre... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Dear Littlefrankie78, We are so happy to hear about your positive experience staying at Sleep Green! It is great to hear that you found your stay relaxing and we are very pleased to hear your lovely comments about our brilliant staff, especially the wonderful Gustavo. We hope to see you again in Barcelona soon! Warm regards, Sleep Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kazattk wrote a review Aug 2019
Munich, Germany14 contributions16 helpful votes
Only good thing I can say about this place is that the AC works OK but they seem to meter it due to their “Eco” and “Green” policies. I would not stay here again same goes with my friends. Their bathrooms are extremely small with nothing to hang your items or place them without getting wet or touching something like a toilet seat or something likely unsanitary. They also have no limit to check in time which sounds nice when you may be the one showing up late at night but when you are the one sleeping it is terrible and completely disrespectful. Imagine sleeping nice and sound and at 3am being woken up with the hustle and bustle of people coming in wiry luggage and their phone flashlights talking and literally unpacking their stuff. Pile that on with the completely clueless people who wonder what the switch on the wall does at 3am, it’s the light for the whole room genius. No social area. No towels or paper towels. Beds are OK, I felt they were comfortable but my friends didn’t. The sheets I first got smelled like rotten eggs and BO I took one from the other bed because they wouldn’t replace mine. That one smelled better, but musty and mildew. I’ll take it over BO and rotten eggs. There are a ton of other hostels in the area that other friends stayed at that loved them. I recommend checking availability at those before making the decision to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Cre... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Dec 13, 2019
Dear kazattk, Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts on our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you did not have an entirely positive experience with us and would like to address some of your points here. During the Summer we do in fact have the AC on to help us combat the heat in Barcelona! The rooms and the hostel itself are spacious and thus lend themselves to good air circulation, as do our balcony doors in every room. In the bathrooms there are hooks behind each door so we are unsure as to why you were unable to hang your items up on these. The 24 hour check in service that we provide is highlighted clearly on our website; it is in fact a great advantage for many travellers. We have a large kitchen with plentiful seating that many of our guests use as a social area, something that we welcome. There are hand towels in the bathrooms; we do not provide paper towels as being an eco-hostel we strive to reduce our waste :) We do apologise about your experience with the sheets and we take these comments into account to ensure that this does not happen again. Best wishes, Sleep Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Osama E wrote a review May 2019
Barcelona, Spain1 contribution
Very clean hostel, room and toilets was very clean, good recommendation for restaurants with a discount from the hostel, very center location, 24h reception, free tea, coffee, cookies and super friendly staff
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: 4 Bed dorms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Cre... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Dear Navigator01502962867, Thank you very much for such a positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the local restaurant discount with our hostel card. All the best, Sleep Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightsee30586217822 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
Only stayed one night but it was all perfect.Clean, friendly, quiet, etc. No compliaints, everything was ok, location was good too. Good value for money. Have to write more otherwise it gives me an error message but don't knw what to say.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Cre... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Dear Sightsee30586217822, Even though you were short of things to say, what you did write was lovely! Thanks for sending us your thoughts, we hope to see you in Barcelona again soon. Best wishes, Sleep Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happiness60705654888 wrote a review Feb 2019
Lisbon, Portugal1 contribution
It's a great spot because you can walk almost anywhere in the city anf if you don't you have public transports nearby. The personnel was very nice since day one, always available. In terms of housing, it had all the conditions necessary to have a nice stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alternative Cre... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Dear Happiness60705654888, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review! Of course, we have three metro stations very close-by but you are right in that everything is within walking distance too! We hope to see you in Barcelona again soon :) Warm regards, Sleep Green
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katrina Tatco wrote a review Dec 2017
Manila, Philippines17 contributions6 helpful votes
This hostel should be recommended to each and every traveller who wish to try such kind of accommodation. Very clean, quiet and friendly staff plus their location is at the center of Barcelona. If you wish to see the city in a short period of time with a very relax ambiance, please stay in this hostel and you will never regret it. Will surely recommend this to all of my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Great view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$19 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / La Dreta de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLEEP GREEN - CERTIFIED ECO YOUTH HOSTEL BARCELONA $16 ($̶2̶4̶) - Prices & Reviews - Catalonia

Frequently Asked Questions about Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include 123 Action Barcelona (0.3 miles), La Whiskeria (0.3 miles), and Boadas Cocktails (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Xera Restaurant, Cremat Lounge, and RAÓ Restaurant.
Is Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Barcelona.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Farsi.
Are there any historical sites close to Sleep Green - Certified Eco Youth Hostel Barcelona?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.9 miles), The Carmel Bunkers (2.3 miles), and Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (2.8 miles).