We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Barcelona

Traveler (718)
Room & Suite (248)
Dining (103)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#74 of 1,003 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
329Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
74Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Gracia
Gracia literally stands out from the pack. It used to be an independent town until late into the 19th century. Though it’s just a short commute away from the center, a visit here feels like you’re in a whole different city. The bohemian vibe has drawn many international artists to this area, resulting in a wide selection of galleries, live music and artsy boutique stores. The nightlife is centered around the vibrant Gracia’s plaças, where young and old gather to enjoy a drink outside. Carrer de Verdi, its main street, offers affordable restaurants and a movie theater that screens new as well as classic films in their original language. However Gracia's greatest treasure lies just up the hill at Guell Park, where Antoni Gaudi's vibrant and revolutionary art sculptures stand atop unequaled views of Barcelona.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,897Reviews
103Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,032
  • 584
  • 157
  • 52
  • 73
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just returned from a 1 night stay, for a good hour & a half on our first night loads of youth’s all staying on level 4 in different rooms were running riot, banging & slamming doors, shouting & screaming, in & out of each others rooms, when i went to reception they sent the security up, the youth’s all denied they was doing it, i then told the reception me & my family wanted to move as we didnt want to put up with it, the reception then said we couldnt as there was no rooms elsewhere, for €260 for 1 night we would never stay at the Generator again, knowing you would possibly staying on the same floor as a youth football team & them being able to do pretty much anything they want with no reprimand, save yourself any miver & stay elsewhere.
Read more
An excellent location , great for groups , very safe and clean with lots of social areas , group breakfast could have been a bit better as not much choice although you can upgrade . Lots of security around which made you feel safe. One of our students left an iPhone in their room on checkout and when we returned 7 hours later it had been handed in which shows the honesty of the staff ! Overall a great trip and I would definitely return with future groups 😊😊
Read more
Response from Generator B, Front Desk at Generator Barcelona
Responded 5 days ago
Hola! Thank you for sharing this amazing review and recommend Generator Barcelona, We are glad to heard that you enjoyed the Generator Experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Read more
Generator Barcelona is exactly what you need if you are spending most of the day out and just need somewhere comfortable and safe to sleep. Bed was fitted with own light and point to charge your device. This was a huge plus. Only downside is the shower in the bedroom. There is no proper ventilation so it gets very steamy and smells damp constantly. Staff are extremely helpful though and a good place to ask questions about transport and sightseeing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Generator B, Front Office Manager at Generator Barcelona
Responded 5 days ago
Hola! Thank you very much for your comment and evaluation. We are really delightful to hear that our guests are really satiesfied with our service. We hope to see you soon in the future. Kind regards,
Read more
The design of this place is great, the staff is super helpful and the location is good. The only detail is that breakfast was not great, but the common areas and spaces were clean and really cool. I would definitely stay here again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Generator B, Eva Front desk at Generator Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Hola! Thank you for sharing this amazing review and recommend Generator Barcelona, We are glad to heard that you enjoyed the Generator Experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Read more
The location is hard to beat. Easy to walk to almost any big sight or metro station. The atmosphere was very hip with lots of common spaces and interesting designs and decorations. The beds were not super comfortable, but it's hard to expect that from a hostel. My biggest complaint was that the showers smelled moldy and were kind of dirty. Definitely wear flip flops in the showers! Also, they do charge 5 euros for a towel. I'd recommend bringing your own if you can pack one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Generator B, Front Office Manager at Generator Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Hola! Thank you for sharing this amazing review and recommend Generator Barcelona, We are glad to heard that you enjoyed the Generator Experience. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaVila de GràciaGracia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing