We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Generator Barcelona

Save
Carrer De Corsega 373-377, 80307 Barcelona Spain
eDreams
Nustay.com
travelup.com
Otel.com
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (750)
Room & Suite (239)
Dining (105)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#85 of 1,057 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
333Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
80Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Gracia
Gracia literally stands out from the pack. It used to be an independent town until late into the 19th century. Though it’s just a short commute away from the center, a visit here feels like you’re in a whole different city. The bohemian vibe has drawn many international artists to this area, resulting in a wide selection of galleries, live music and artsy boutique stores. The nightlife is centered around the vibrant Gracia’s plaças, where young and old gather to enjoy a drink outside. Carrer de Verdi, its main street, offers affordable restaurants and a movie theater that screens new as well as classic films in their original language. However Gracia's greatest treasure lies just up the hill at Guell Park, where Antoni Gaudi's vibrant and revolutionary art sculptures stand atop unequaled views of Barcelona.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
2,011Reviews106Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,076
  • 613
  • 178
  • 63
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This will probably be a long review, but I'd like to adress every situation and circumstances around my stay. I arrived just before the lockdown because of the Corona virus. I had to go to Barcelona for work, but shortly after I arrived everything closed down including the job I came here for. I had read a lot of the reviews about this hostel before I arrived, so I was pretty much prepared. I also have a lot of experience from traveling and staying at dozens of different hostels around the world, so I know what you can usually expect. I'll start with the pros first. The hostel is perfectly located close to La Sagrada Familia, shops and restaurants, and the hostel itself has a beautiful, urban and edgy design. I loved the lamps in the ceiling, the arcade machines, the swing chairs and the cozy reading nook. I do not agree at all with all the negative reviews about the helpfulness and friendliness from the staff. When I wanted to switch rooms (because I had this lady in my room who was coughing and snoring loud all night so I couldn't sleep), they were more than happy to accustom to my needs (snoring is pretty common in hostels though, but this was severe including coughing during the Corona outbreak). Every question I had was answered with kindness, even the guard who spoke really good English was kind (I've seen some people writing the opposite). About young / loud people, well, it's a hostel. It's usually social. If you want quiet, you live at a hotel. I met some really cool people, and I would never enjoyed myself so much alone at a hotel. Now over to the cons. I've seen the reviews about loud children running around. They annoyed me too, but instead of just being annoyed and going straight to writing a negative review I decided to politely ask the guy in the reception what the deal with the kids was. Do they live here, I asked. When I got my answer I felt humble and saw it differently, because this hostel are taking in refugees and people who has no home for their families. I sympathized with that and moved on. I had to leave one day sooner because of the lockdown, so I asked if it was possible to get my last night refunded. The lady in the reception said that could not be done, but she apologized and I think she would help me with the refund if it was possible. After that I went downstairs to the fridge to have a glass of white wine. I had bough a bottle the previous day and was saving it for my last night. Well, here comes both a con and a warning. Do not put your stuff in the fridge!! My wine was gone along with a salad, a white pasta dish and some other stuff. I'm pretty sure I was the only guest left besides the refugees, because of the lockdown. I do sympathize with people who has little and are struggling, but stealing (especially at a place you're staying and sharing with others) is an extremely bad trait in my book and it's so petty. It's only a bottle of wine and food, but it is the principle of being honest and not stealing from your fellow residents. So my advice is that you only buy what you need from the 24 hr store across the road and eat or drink it immediately. Overall I enjoyed my stay, although I wish it was under different circumstances. This last part is an updated edit. I deleted my review and wrote a new one because this happened after I wrote my review : My last morning I was woken up by someone else checking into my room. I had previously been told they were not letting new people in because of the lockdown, and because the hostel was so empty I do not understand why this person wouldn't get a room with nobody else. I didn't get much sleep so it was kind of frustrating to be woken up by a new person coughing and making noises. At this point I actually was not too relaxed around people with a cough. I know this is a hostel and the room I was staying in is meant for several people, but as I said I don't understand why they put us together now with this outbreak and an empty hostel. I'm aware you have to be prepared for noises in a hostel, but this was unexpected in this circumstance. Longest review ever, but this stay was during a special moment in history so its a pretty unique situation.
Read more
Response from Generator B, Receptionist at Generator Barcelona
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hola! Thank you for your comment! We really appreciate them because they help us to became better and improve our service. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Despite being a hostel style lodging, the place was well kept and vibrantly designed. The receptionist was friendly and we enjoyed the tours that we could purchase from the front desk. However as its youth hostel, do expect some rowdyness and energy from them. We didnt eat in the hostel much as we prefer the alcohol and tapas opposite the hostel. Sightseeing wise, its conveniently located to sub stations and walkable to many tourists spots.
Read more
Response from Generator H, Receptionist at Generator Barcelona
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hola! Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you found our team to be both attentive and helpful. Thank you so much as this is exactly what we’re aiming for. Best Wishes
Read more
We stayed here for 3 nights, my first impressions were good as the reception area had a very welcoming set out although very cramped. It then came apparent that this was a proper hostel with many different youths congregating around the front entrance which made it incredibly hard to enter and leave the hostel. The room we were allocated wasn’t what we expected, the floor clearly hadn’t seen a mop in a few weeks with crumbs all around the frames of the bunk beds, I put clean socks on and walked from the shower room to my bed and had dirty feet already, and some walls had mysterious stains on which I dread to think what they were. We all felt very uncomfortable in this environment and it’s clear that the hostel evokes some anti-social behaviour as we witnessed a few argue menus and fights take place, and all hostel staff did was tell them to be quiet or call for security which was good. Breakfast- was stated as continental. Although the breakfast was extremely basic and the room wasn’t cleaned after people left their seats meaning we had to eat around other people’s mess. We only tried the breakfast once due to how basic it was and a few people in my group having food allergies which we couldn’t tell if cross contamination had happened. Bread was frozen, milk looked like it had stood there for hours in a warm room, drinks were vary basic and no choice in cold drinks as orange juice with settled bits was the only option. Another thing to point out is that the rooms are set at a selected temperature and you can’t turn the temperature down, we proceeds to ask reception if they could turn it down and their response was ‘it’s our winter, we don’t turn the temperature down yet’. So we had to sleep in an uncomfortably warm room. Overall I wouldn’t stay in a place like this again, as it’s dirty and full of disrespectful youths whom don’t care what time of day/night it is to make noise. Apart from the hotel we enjoyed our stay in Barcelona and will be back but in another hotel with better reviews.
Read more
Response from Generator H, Front Office Manager at Generator Barcelona
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Hola! Thank you very much for your review. We really need to hear all the comments to be able to imrpove and to provide with a better service to our guests. We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectaction this time. We hope to see you soon in the future and be able to make you fell the real Generator Experience.
Read more
The continental breakfast was the most notable part of the stay at Generator Hostel for me, though not for positive reasons. It consisted of cheese, ham, bread that was still wet and frozen in the middle (2 hours after the start of breakfast), heavily watered down orange juice that didn't taste of anything, strawberry yogurt and a coffee machine. In fairness to the coffee machine, it made great hot chocolate! The coffee however was deeply questionable. It had scum an inch thick on top of it and was absolutely revolting. The beds in the 8-bed dorm-style private room were comfortable enough, though the pillows were uncomfortable and the pillowcases weren't cases at all, just cylinders of fabric with a hole at either end. There was no other form of seating in the rooms. so it wasn't the most comfortable for hanging out in the evening before going out for a meal. If you're an individual traveller or just booking somewhere to lay your head down, it's adequate, but if you're in a group and have booked a private room it's a shame that there's no seating. The noise is slightly ridiculous at night, though this isn't entirely the fault of Generator, of course. We heard gunshots one night which was slightly terrifying, and what sounded like deliveries or bin collections at about midnight to 1am every day. The others in the hotel were also quite inconsiderate - we had a gaggle of teenagers running around outside our room until 4am, screaming and shouting, and we witnessed multiple fistfights amongst guests while there. The aircon in the room didn't work, and when we inquired at the front desk we were told very sharply "Winter. No aircon.". That's all well and good but it was 22 degrees each day and as weak Brits it was bloody warm! Speaking of sharply, some of the staff were exceptionally rude and unhelpful. Some were polite and kind, but the bad ones were spectacularly bad. I'd say that Generator is fine if you just want somewhere to sleep at night, but if you're going for a longer trip or you'll be spending any time within the hostel, don't stay here. Definitely buy breakfast elsewhere too!
Read more
Response from Generator H, Front Office Manager at Generator Barcelona
Responded Feb 22, 2020
"Hola! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on the Generator Barcelona. We were very disappointed to read that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. We hope to see you again in the future to show you how amazing Generator Barcelona can be. Kind regards,"
Read more
Very good location in Barcelona very friendly staff in the hostel Bar and Restoran have very good food drinks and not too expensive Bartender were excellent Over all good place to be for few days inBarcelona and not expensive
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Generator B, Front Desk eva at Generator Barcelona
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Hola Oliver! Thank you for sharing your experience at Generator Barcelona. We always try to do our best to create an amazing atmosphere and try to provide our guests with the best experience ever! We hope to see you back in the future!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$36 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaVila de Gràcia / Gracia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Passeig de Gracia (0.3 miles), Casa Milà - La Pedrera (0.3 miles), and Bloody Mary Cocktail Lounge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Barcelona?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Kilo Restaurant, Eva & Olga of Evohe Barcelona, and Con Gracia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Barcelona?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Barcelona?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.5 miles), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (2.5 miles), and Ciutat Vella (1.4 miles).
Is Generator Barcelona accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.