We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carrer de Corsega, 373, 08037 Barcelona Spain
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!STAY LONGER, SAVE MORE
Hotels.com
travelup.com
Snaptravel
$93
$87
View Deal
SAVE $6
Travelocity
Hurb
Expedia.com$93
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (768)
Room & Suite (249)
Dining (107)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Barcelona
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#82 of 1,111 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there.
Read more
Room & Suite (249)249
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:STAY LONGER, SAVE MORE
2,013Reviews106Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,074
  • 612
  • 180
  • 63
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
upydupy wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
We were meant to be travelling to Barcelona and staying at the Generator. Unfortunately, all our flights got cancelled and the Generator refused to refund our deposit. They also refused to provide us with a voucher or postponement policy. If you are thinking of staying at the Generator, think again...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Barcelona, Other at Generator Barcelona
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Hola upydupy, I answer you the same as the person below. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Normally, given the circumstances, our reservation department provides, to a non-refundable reservation, a voucher to change the dates of the booking. I find it very very strange that they did not propose it to you. Contact us if you want: barcelona@staygenerator.com. Saludos! Roberta
Read more
Kit M wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
We were meant to be staying here but our trip was cancelled due to Covid and the hotel refused to refund our deposit for our booking. Pretty poor from them, I would expect better given the circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Barcelona, Other at Generator Barcelona
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Hola 930kitm, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Normally, given the circumstances, our reservation department provides, to a non-refundable reservation, a voucher to change the dates of the booking. I find it very very strange that they did not propose it to you. Contact us if you want: barcelona@staygenerator.com. Saludos!
Read more
JGordicho wrote a review Apr 2020
Barcelona, Spain18,100 contributions1,732 helpful votes
+1
We've been to this hostel to a party in their bar... the staff was really rude and the service was really slow... The prices are really high for the quality served. the only nice thing is definitely the decor...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator B, Front Office at Generator Barcelona
Responded May 4, 2020
Hola! Thank you very much for your review. We really need to hear all the comments to be able to imrpove and to provide with a better service to our guests. We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectaction this time. We hope to see you soon in the future and be able to make you fell the real Generator Experience.
Read more
Benedicte wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This will probably be a long review, but I'd like to adress every situation and circumstances around my stay. I arrived just before the lockdown because of the Corona virus. I had to go to Barcelona for work, but shortly after I arrived everything closed down including the job I came here for. I had read a lot of the reviews about this hostel before I arrived, so I was pretty much prepared. I also have a lot of experience from traveling and staying at dozens of different hostels around the world, so I know what you can usually expect. I'll start with the pros first. The hostel is perfectly located close to La Sagrada Familia, shops and restaurants, and the hostel itself has a beautiful, urban and edgy design. I loved the lamps in the ceiling, the arcade machines, the swing chairs and the cozy reading nook. I do not agree at all with all the negative reviews about the helpfulness and friendliness from the staff. When I wanted to switch rooms (because I had this lady in my room who was coughing and snoring loud all night so I couldn't sleep), they were more than happy to accustom to my needs (snoring is pretty common in hostels though, but this was severe including coughing during the Corona outbreak). Every question I had was answered with kindness, even the guard who spoke really good English was kind (I've seen some people writing the opposite). About young / loud people, well, it's a hostel. It's usually social. If you want quiet, you live at a hotel. I met some really cool people, and I would never enjoyed myself so much alone at a hotel. Now over to the cons. I've seen the reviews about loud children running around. They annoyed me too, but instead of just being annoyed and going straight to writing a negative review I decided to politely ask the guy in the reception what the deal with the kids was. Do they live here, I asked. When I got my answer I felt humble and saw it differently, because this hostel are taking in refugees and people who has no home for their families. I sympathized with that and moved on. I had to leave one day sooner because of the lockdown, so I asked if it was possible to get my last night refunded. The lady in the reception said that could not be done, but she apologized and I think she would help me with the refund if it was possible. After that I went downstairs to the fridge to have a glass of white wine. I had bough a bottle the previous day and was saving it for my last night. Well, here comes both a con and a warning. Do not put your stuff in the fridge!! My wine was gone along with a salad, a white pasta dish and some other stuff. I'm pretty sure I was the only guest left besides the refugees, because of the lockdown. I do sympathize with people who has little and are struggling, but stealing (especially at a place you're staying and sharing with others) is an extremely bad trait in my book and it's so petty. It's only a bottle of wine and food, but it is the principle of being honest and not stealing from your fellow residents. So my advice is that you only buy what you need from the 24 hr store across the road and eat or drink it immediately. Overall I enjoyed my stay, although I wish it was under different circumstances. This last part is an updated edit. I deleted my review and wrote a new one because this happened after I wrote my review : My last morning I was woken up by someone else checking into my room. I had previously been told they were not letting new people in because of the lockdown, and because the hostel was so empty I do not understand why this person wouldn't get a room with nobody else. I didn't get much sleep so it was kind of frustrating to be woken up by a new person coughing and making noises. At this point I actually was not too relaxed around people with a cough. I know this is a hostel and the room I was staying in is meant for several people, but as I said I don't understand why they put us together now with this outbreak and an empty hostel. I'm aware you have to be prepared for noises in a hostel, but this was unexpected in this circumstance. Longest review ever, but this stay was during a special moment in history so its a pretty unique situation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator B, Receptionist at Generator Barcelona
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Hola! Thank you for your comment! We really appreciate them because they help us to became better and improve our service. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Yvonne C wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore10 contributions12 helpful votes
Despite being a hostel style lodging, the place was well kept and vibrantly designed. The receptionist was friendly and we enjoyed the tours that we could purchase from the front desk. However as its youth hostel, do expect some rowdyness and energy from them. We didnt eat in the hostel much as we prefer the alcohol and tapas opposite the hostel. Sightseeing wise, its conveniently located to sub stations and walkable to many tourists spots.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room on a quieter floor if you do not want to be disturbed by the youths' activities...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator H, Receptionist at Generator Barcelona
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Hola! Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you found our team to be both attentive and helpful. Thank you so much as this is exactly what we’re aiming for. Best Wishes
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaVila de Gràcia / Gracia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Passeig de Gracia (0.3 miles), Casa Milà - La Pedrera (0.3 miles), and Bloody Mary Cocktail Lounge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Barcelona?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eva & Olga of Evohe Barcelona, Don Kilo Restaurant, and Con Gracia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Barcelona?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Barcelona?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.5 miles), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (2.5 miles), and Ciutat Vella (1.4 miles).
Is Generator Barcelona accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.