We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Axel Hotel Barcelona

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1341)
360
Panoramas (38)
Room & Suite (486)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#118 of 507 hotels in Barcelona
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 101 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hammam
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 3 more

Location

Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Axel Hotel Barcelona
3,674Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,920
  • 930
  • 432
  • 236
  • 156
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Griffin P wrote a review Apr 11
Stamford, Connecticut96 contributions84 helpful votes
The staff really sets the hotel apart from the rest. So welcoming, kind, and willing to please. The hotel needs a little love maybe, it was probably super chic 15 years ago, but it's starting to show its age, but still is a great choice in the area. Love the "heterofriendly" aspect, and there were in fact lots of them! This property is much less seedy than the one in Berlin, and the pool deck is great. Pool wasn't heated when we were there, but that might just be the American me used to that. The hot tub also was not warm at all, but its a great bar and great view of the area. Room was good, little signs of wear and tear, but bed comfy and sheets nice. Peek-a-boo shower a hoot too. Great water pressure as well. Loved the location too, lots of great walking streets, restaurants, clubs, bars, and close to shopping areas without being too touristy. Definitely a strong choice when in Barcelona!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, We really appreciate your positive review about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and it will be a pleasure to host you again in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tamar H wrote a review Apr 4
1 contribution
It’s was amazing! The hotel is clean, friendly, and the people in the reception are super nice and helpful (eric is the best!) definitely I’ll come back in my next visit. The room was big enough for both of us, we had everything we need inside the hotel, the location is amazing and close to everything Love it!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Love it, amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, We are happy to hear your opinion about the staff at the hotel, our main goal is providing an excellent service and comments like yours are very appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Theo H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The men Eric that help us at reception was very nice and helpful to help us with booking xtra days at the hotel. It was very last minute but gives us amazing room at the hotel and was very friendly. So this was really that we get so good help also the hotel very clean
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, We are happy to hear your opinion about the staff at the hotel, our main goal is providing an excellent service and comments like yours are very appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tintenkleckser wrote a review Mar 2024
Zofingen, Switzerland8 contributions
Comfortable and super clean and fancy hotel in the center of Barcelona. It starts with a welcome at the check-in with the smile from Eric continues with the amazing mattresses that you sleep like in heaven. I personally didn’t use the spa this time but if I come back late spring or summer, I sure will. The restaurant can be reached without leaving the house is amazing I am 100% satisfied and won’t look for another location unless it’s overbooked. 100% love it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Mar 7, 2024
Dear guest, We really appreciate your positive review about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and it will be a pleasure to host you again in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stefan_grgic wrote a review Mar 2024
Zurich, Switzerland11 contributions4 helpful votes
Great hotel, amazing restaurant and staff. Especially Eric was super helpful, thanks a lot for that! It was super clean, the rooms were superb with a great if not one of the best views you can get. Unfortunately the Bar at rooftop is only on weekends, but I‘ll definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Mar 7, 2024
Dear Stefan, We are happy to hear your opinion about the staff at the hotel, our main goal is providing an excellent service and comments like yours are very appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Companion10716748222 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
My experience at Axel was great. Had a nice time, good and clean rooms and a nice bar. Unfortunately i couldnt use the pool because of the weather but looks nice Eric on the frontdesk was really helpful and kind Defenetly coming back next summer
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Mar 7, 2024
Dear guest, We are happy to hear your opinion about the staff at the hotel, our main goal is providing an excellent service and comments like yours are very appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ricardo wrote a review Feb 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom47 contributions67 helpful votes
I booked this hotel more than four months in advance (Oct 2023) and, as usual, I put a request for quiet room (high floor and away from the lift) because I am a light sleeper. Took me by surprise, I got a sharp response from them: “It’s subject to availability”. You read it right - there was no greeting, no explanation or whatsoever. As an hotelier, I fully understand not every request could be fulfilled, however, I am not expecting such an abrupt response. And yet, I let it go and waited another three months (so it’s close enough) to remind them of my request (3 weeks prior to my trip), and kindly asked the manager to review my request (at 18:08, 19 Jan). Guess what? 6 minutes later (18:14), my reservation was CANCELLED, and according to AXEL, this was due to a “system error”(Note: The booking platform confirmed it was cancelled by AXEL). It took me by surprise that such a rude reaction coming from an elite hotel. I since then was left with dealing the situation with a receptionist who had no authority, and incapable of escalating such “system error” to his manager. The Front Office Manager ignored my emails (sent 19 Jan) and I had to spend days to find out “emails need to be addressed by his First name to get a reply” (wow). Cut the long story short, it’s clear to me that the FO manager was only interested in upselling the room (from my perspective - it was probably why my reservation was cancelled in the first place). Not only he refused to admit the cancellation was not a system error, he was cheeky enough to offer an “upsell with an upgrade” as a resolution. He wasted far too much of my time (12 days including 2 weekends) and energy, let alone my £90 vanished from thin air that’s not of his concern. It’s evident to me he is only interested in revenue but not service - I decided that I have no confidence in staying in a hotel under his management, so I later on took my reservation elsewhere although that means I end up losing £90 from his irresponsible handling. As a loyal customer of AXEL hotels over last 7 years, after this poor experience, AXEL Barcelona is unfortunately not the one I will recommend. Note: I do put special request for “quiet room - away from the lift & high floor” in every single booking over the last 20 years around the globe. I never was treated in such abrupt and rude manner. It is evident to me that it’s too much for Daniel to accommodate or look into it empathetically. For me, it is NOT service. PS. By the time of the review is posted, the Front Office Manager still insists the cancellation IS A SYSTEM EEROR (A system error that coincidentally occurred six minutes after I escalated my request to him).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Dear guest, As we have already informed you several times, it is the agency who charged the money, did the cancelation and refunded the money. Due to the Agency policy, on this kind of booking, it is completely impossible for us cancel this booking. We are really sorry to know that you had this bad experience. Best regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rodmarc81 wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
The Axel Hotel offers a convenient location in Barcelona’s Eixample district (just a 15-minute walk from Plaça Catalunya), but in my opinion falls short on customer service. While the room was clean, its compact size may not suit guests needing extra space. Specially for placing the luggage without obstructing the passage between the entrance, bathroom and bed. Despite the hotel’s breakfast buffet offered good value for money, I found neighboring cafes offer better options, with superior coffee and beverage choices and also a wider selection of vegan and vegetarian dishes. Unfortunately, my stay was marred by leaving my Bluetooth headphones behind in the room, with the hotel failing to notify me or provide satisfactory assistance when I called for information. This lack of communication and accountability from the staff left a bitter impression, revealing areas for improvement in their purported four-star service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Remember to double check your things before leaving your room for the last time.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Dear guest, Thank you so much for the invested time in sharing your opinion. We are so sorry to inform you that we could not give you a positive answer about your headphones but we couldn't find them in the room. I am really sorry that this problem left you a bitter impression about the service. Best regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonny boy wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I really wanted to write a review on the fantastic stay I had with the Axel Barcelona. i've always enjoyed staying here, however this time my journey really stood out to me from the welcome given by Daniel Orellana, PR & Guest Relations Manager. From the start to the end of my trip he made me feel as if I was visiting long lost family. From the Cava greeting, to helping me as a solo guest to meet new people and really making sure all the travelers were interacting with everyone in the sky bar. My now annual trip is the perfect winter getaway thanks to Daniel and his team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Feb 16, 2024
Dear Jonny, We are happy to hear your opinion about the staff at the hotel, our main goal is providing an excellent service and comments like yours are very appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest Regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lloyd l wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions
Cheap hotel, cheap services, furniture, welcome, facilities. No class, dirty spaces and old hotel. The materass was terrible, two placed together. I booked the premium room but was nothing similar to the pictures. Disappointing, for the price you can have better. Don't book this Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL BARCELONA AXEL, Other at Axel Hotel Barcelona
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Dear guest, Thank you so much for the time invested in sharing your review. We would love if you could contact directly to us as we do not have any information about your reservation. Our quality standards are really high, mainly in cleanliness and service. We are so sorry to know that we felt short in your case. Best regards Jorge - Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
axel hotel barcelona
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AXEL HOTEL BARCELONA - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Catalonia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Axel Hotel Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Pub Fiction (0.2 miles), HEMINGWAY - Gins & Cocktails (0.3 miles), and Alquimia Barcelona (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Romane, La Patsa Lab, and Cremat Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Axel Hotel Barcelona located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Axel Hotel Barcelona offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel Hotel Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Catalan.