We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

U232 Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1188)
360
Panoramas (44)
Room & Suite (796)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#117 of 507 hotels in Barcelona
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,973 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
U232 Hotel boasts an atmosphere that many find elegant, with a particular nod to the wooden furnishings and immaculate rooms that offer balconies with vibrant views. The spacious rooms, complete with large balconies and amenities like minibars, receive recognition from guests, although some suggest a touch-up could enhance their stay. Cleanliness is a standout feature, with the hotel earning accolades for its well-kept spaces and attentive maid service. The staff's professionalism and kindness are frequently celebrated, adding to the hotel's appeal. Situated in a prime location with easy metro access, U232 Hotel is seen as offering good value, despite some views that it could benefit from modernization.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Cost-effective
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Professional
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,973Reviews92Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,407
  • 1,211
  • 235
  • 79
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sharon O wrote a review Apr 10
2 contributions
What an awful way to end my holiday in Spain. This hotel is the WORST. I could tell you about the barf smelling shampoo, clumps of hair on the old grungy carpets, dismal breakfast, or rude desk staff, BUT what really takes center stage is how I was charged for an extra night and no one will refund me. I have had my credit card reach out to them, nope. When I checked out they were secretive about something, it turns out they didn't want to give me a superbill so I would see the extra night. This is not good business practice and I will be filing a complaint with the Ministry of Industry & Tourism
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Gym isn't worth it, skip breakfast there and have much better quality night down the road. Double...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
I am very sorry for your experience at the hotel. It seems that you encountered several problems that made your stay unpleasant and left a sour note on your vacation. The hotel cannot provide you with the invoice, since you made the reservation with another supplier, who is responsible for delivering it to you. For the nights of your stay, the hotel billed the nights that the agency had reserved for you. Your reservation was non-refundable. If there is anything else I can do to help you, please let me know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
abeerando wrote a review Mar 2024
Cairo, Egypt83 contributions42 helpful votes
Once again, I made it to the same hotel and I was very glad to do it this time with my wife, it was a very nice experience and all was so nice and smooth, the reservation was as I requested and I got the room I requested. Everything starting from the daily breakfast and the housekeeping was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: To be honest, I didn't use the pool either times, but I encourage everyone to check it out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
It's wonderful to hear that you had such a positive experience returning to the hotel, especially this time with your wife. It sounds like everything went smoothly and according to your preferences, from the reservation process to getting the specific room you requested. Having a pleasant stay from the start, with excellent service ranging from daily breakfast to housekeeping, truly enhances the overall experience. It's great to know that the hotel maintained its standards and provided such a delightful stay for you both. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future for more memorable stays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
john Duarte wrote a review Jan 2024
Las Vegas, Nevada2 contributions
Great hotel. The best is the reception Staff. Check in was fast. The man was absolutely handsome with us. I do not remember his name. Anyway all of them were great. My room was a triple one. It has not windows, but our stay were just 1 night, and it really wasn't a big inconveniencies. We will come back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Feb 6, 2024
Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our front desk staff to be exceptional. We strive to provide efficient service and a pleasant experience for all our guests. Your kind words will be passed along to our team. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the lack of windows in your room, but we're glad it didn't detract from your overall enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! If there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sally C wrote a review Jan 2024
Camberley, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
Beautiful decor, comfortable, clean and has very professional, friendly staff. The breakfast was of a very high quality and had variety catering for most tastes. I was a bit surprised the bar was closed and no reason given.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2024
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the beautiful decoration, comfort and cleanliness of our hotel. It's great to know that you found our staff professional and friendly. We appreciate your praise for the various high-quality breakfast options; We strive to satisfy a variety of tastes. We apologize for any inconvenience related to the bar's unexpected closure. We understand the importance of transparency and will be sure to address this issue to provide better communication in the future. Your comments are valuable and we will use them to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, and if there is anything specific you would like us to improve or if you have any special requests for your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your positive impressions!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charles Z wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Stayed in two rooms at this hotel: 2 double beds room, 2 double ends with balcony room. Both of these rooms had problems with the mattresses. My friend and I were drenched in sweat every night (room temperature was fine). We think this is due to the plastic lining in the fitted sheets not letting body heat escape. Everything else we wonderful and hotel staff were friendly. However, due to the mattress issue, our stay was very uncomfortable and we will not be returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to mattress issues. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and are sorry that this aspect of your visit did not meet your expectations. His feedback regarding the plastic coating on fitted sheets is valuable and we will address this concern immediately to ensure a more comfortable experience for our guests in the future. We appreciate your kind words about the friendliness of our staff and your positive impressions about other aspects of the hotel. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the level of comfort you were looking for during your stay. If you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, we would love the opportunity to make it right for you. Please feel free to contact our customer service department to discuss your experience further. Thank you for letting us know about this and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again with an improved experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
martB6002KE wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
To my mind a hotel room with a window that doesn't close doesn't meet the basic requirements of a hotel room and shouldn't be charged for. If it was a known issue, I shoukd have been informed and offered an alternative room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2024
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with the issue of the window not closing properly. His comments are important to us and we regret not having met his expectations. We fully understand the importance of a functional and safe room environment, and we apologize for any oversight in not informing you of the problem or offering you an alternative room. Please be assured that we take this matter seriously and will address it promptly to avoid similar occurrences in the future. We appreciate your understanding and communicating this to us. If you have any further concerns or if there is anything else we can do to make amends for your experience, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team. We value your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for a much better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vince L wrote a review Nov 2023
Orange County, California51 contributions9 helpful votes
FILIPINO RECEPTION STAFF went above and beyond. Amazing stay and lovely rooms, nice bathroom layout. The room is a little small, but the beds are wonderful. The bathroom has a nice layout and a waterfall shower amazing. The breakfast service needs some work. Too limited.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: A little far from the city center.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2024
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are delighted to know that the reception staff Anne and Stephen did everything they could to improve your stay. It's great that you enjoyed the beautiful rooms, the beautiful bathroom layout and the wonderful beds. We appreciate your feedback regarding the limited breakfast service and apologize for any inconvenience. Your comments are valuable and we will certainly take them into account to improve our breakfast offering and provide a more satisfactory experience to our guests. We are committed to making adjustments based on guest feedback and your feedback is critical in this process. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another incredible stay. If there are any specific breakfast preferences or other aspects you would like to focus on during your next visit, please feel free to let us know. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ZDLil wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Its ok. Need a deep clean. The surface is clean. But the ceiling, the walls etc need a deep clean. There were no extras like no shampoo no slippers, It was very loud on the balcony because of construction work. The location was good. The staff was friendly. There was a strange smell in the floors. All in All its ok.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your honesty, and we apologize for any shortcomings during your stay. We take your comments about the need for a deep clean seriously, and we will address this promptly to ensure a more thorough and satisfactory experience for our guests. Your input regarding the lack of amenities like shampoo and slippers, as well as the noise disturbance from construction work, is duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. On a positive note, we're glad to hear that you found the location good and the staff friendly. Regarding the strange smell on the floors, we will investigate and take the necessary steps to address this issue. We value your feedback, as it helps us improve our services and facilities. If you decide to stay with us again in the future, we will strive to make your experience more enjoyable. If there's anything specific you'd like us to focus on for your next visit, please feel free to let us know. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo-travels1234 wrote a review Oct 2023
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
The reception staff couldn't do enough to help, very friendly, the breakfast was OK, but no cereal available, which was a shame. Located near a metro station, so convenient for travelling across town. The room however needs a complete refurbishment, there was a hole with frayed bits in the carpet by the bed, the whole carpet looks very worn and so, looked unclean, the privacy curtain from the patio needed replacing as was smelly and sticky and falling apart. One of the lamps didn't work, the bathroom also needs updating as there were stains in the marble floor that made it look dirty. Above all, the noise from 5:45 am from either the kitchen or laundry room, of wheeled containers and banging doors made for an unpleasant stay on the 1st floor. Considering the main job of staying in a hotel is to get a good night's rest, I didn't sleep well for 3 consecutive nights. Unfortunately I couldn't get a refund so couldn't book elsewhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adolfo Gonzalez, Director General at U232 Hotel
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Thank you for your detailed comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. Let me address each of your points: Front Desk Staff: We are delighted to hear that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We will pass on your congratulations as they always aim to provide the best guest experience. Breakfast: We are sorry to hear that breakfast was fine and that cereal was not available during your stay. We will take your feedback into account to improve our breakfast options in the future. Room Condition: We apologize for the condition of your room. Your comments about the rug, privacy curtain, and lamp have been duly noted. We are planning a renovation and your feedback will be valuable as we prioritize our improvements. Bathroom: We appreciate your comments regarding the bathroom. We will ensure that our cleaning team pays special attention to areas such as the marble floor to maintain cleanliness and aesthetics. Noise: We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to early morning noise. We will investigate this matter to ensure a smoother and more comfortable stay for our guests on the 1st floor. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us provide a better experience for our guests and we hope you consider staying with us again in the future. We are committed to addressing these issues and providing you with a more pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to serve you better next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen wrote a review Oct 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Great staff who were very informative about the beautiful city. We were upgraded to room with a large balcony which was very much appreciated. Room and hotel was very clean. The lobby and bar area was comfortable and served a wonderful coffee. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
u232 hotel barcelona
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Nunez Urgell Hotel
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

U232 HOTEL $164 ($̶2̶3̶7̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Barcelona, Catalonia

Frequently Asked Questions about U232 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to U232 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Monument a Mossèn Jacint Verdaguer (0.3 miles), Gin Route Barcelona The Exceptional Experience (0.3 miles), and Aloha Polinesian Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at U232 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at U232 Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at U232 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at U232 Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to U232 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tino, esto no es una pizza, Gusto, and Ándele París.
Are there opportunities to exercise at U232 Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at U232 Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does U232 Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at U232 Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to U232 Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.8 miles), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (1.9 miles), and Ciutat Vella (1.5 miles).