We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Gotico

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked hotel Gotico through travel agent. The location is very central, close to a lot of restaurant. We purchased the hotel voucher including breakfast, however the hotel reception can not provide even breakfast boxes for 14 of us ( breakfast started at 7 but we have to leave the hotel for a tour started at 6.30)

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for the one night as a stop over, it was part of a package so didn't personally choose it, after reading quite a mix of reviews we weren't sure what to expect. We found the reception good and the room was huge, it was a suite, not sure if this is a standard room or free upgrade but... More 

Helpful?
Thank WoodyWoodwood
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel was clean and the staff very helpfull. The Hotel is a Five Min. walk from the Ramblas and ten mins to Plaza Catalunya. The only fault i could find was the Breakfast was not warm i.e. the Bacon and Sausages.

Helpful?
Thank richard n
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

Very ordinary hotel but location is excellent.Room was in need of renovation.There were ants in bathroom and generally grubby.Breakfast room also shabby and dishes ,knives forks not clean. Reception staff were helpfull.

Helpful?
Thank tigerblue16
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Only good thing about this Hotel is it's location. It's very close to the Barcelona Cathedral and about a 5 minute walk from the Rambla. Now the rest. 1. Walls are very dirty. 2. Phone and Refrigerator did not work when I came in. To their credit, they did come in pretty quickly to fix these 2 issues, though the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

delray beach, fl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Hotel staff friendly, air conditioning went off and on and it was hot in Barcelona. Rooms smelled of smoke even though non-smoking. Hallways and corridors hot and smelling of smoke. Breakfast adequate. Had to pay a daily fee to use the safe in the room. Some difficulty giving directions to places. Did give a good recommendation for a dinner at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sharon o
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

We ended up here because we waited too long for to make our reservations and very little was available at such a last minute. So I started with moderate expectations and those were too high apparently for this place. My mistake. Immediately the floor smelled like someone was smoking though the front desk said it is a no smoking hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal as at the top of the street is la ramblas, but the hotel itself was supposed to be 4* maybe in the 80's it was but not not know. There are no facilities in the room only a vending machine in reception so if you arrive in the middle of the night you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
Subotica, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Location for 6 stars,everything else for 3 stars. Very old bad bathroom, not invested in hotel for many many years, breakfast very disapponting, beautifull teras , stuff is ok, but the location is so excellent that everything else doesnt matter! 50 m from metro , bautiful street, 10 min walk to La Rambla

Helpful?
1 Thank Dzess
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, Concerning to your comments, we inform you that at the end of this year the Hotel will be renovated, so we will modify the Hotel's old look. About breakfast we try to offer a varied breakfast, but we'll take note about your remarks and we'll try to improve it. Best Regards, Elisenda Albero CUSTOMER SERVICE More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

I usually don't comment on trip advisor but I had to this time. I must say that the only good thing about this hotel is its location. The rooms are musty, outdated, and dirty. We stayed in room 109, due to being near street level the noise was as if we were sleeping in the middle of the road. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Gotico, responded to this review

Dear Marlene, We appreciate all your comments, because we seeks for the best nice stay for the clients, but if you didn't have that impression, it's very important to us know why could be like this and try to remedy it. About the room, in another occasion we kindly ask you please do not hesitate to inform our reception staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Matrimonial Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
Triple Room (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#470 of 523 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#265 of 523 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#321 of 523 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#312 of 523 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Rialto Hotel
Rialto Hotel
#351 of 523 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#360 of 523 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighborhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighborhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Gotico Barcelona, located in the heart of Barcelona, in the Gothic quarter, is a complete and elegant hotel. Just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral of Barcelona, it has all the services you need for a perfect stay. Hotel Gotico Barcelona is next to the Cathedral of Barcelona and in the heart of the Gothic quarter. Account with excellent connections by public transport: very near La Rambla, 50 metres from Jaume I metro and surrounded by several bus stops that will help you to quickly reach the main points of interest of the city. In the vicinity of the most important monuments of Barcelona, Barcelona Gotico Hotel has 81 elegant, Soundproofed rooms with air conditioning and flat screen satellite TV. This spacious room has the same characteristics as the double and single rooms. He has a double bed and an extra bed (sofa bed or folding bed) for a third person. All rooms have air conditioning, heating, tiled floors, desks and a large room private bathroom complete with amenities and a hairdryer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Gotico

Address: Jaime I, 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: $104 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotico 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gotico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotico Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gotico Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay