We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sant Pau 9 - 11, 08001 Barcelona Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$204
View deal
Booking.com
$193
View deal
FindHotel
$160
View deal
Hotels.com$204
Travelocity$204
Preferred Hotels$186
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1005)
Room & Suite (436)
Dining (123)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#146 of 548 hotels in Barcelona
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more
1889Reviews68Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,011
  • 636
  • 155
  • 53
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TraceyFogarty wrote a review Sep 2022
San Diego, California89 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
Though the street isn’t the most desirable, the rooms and food are outstanding. We stayed three nights and wished we had book four. Benny the bartender was able to secure us a dinner reservation at the lovely Fonda España. We had a 13 course tasting menu, along with wine pairings for about $150 per person. May possibly be my all time favorite gourmet meal. Service was a bit slow, but I was fine with that. Superb!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking around the block at career de l’hospital, 25, otherwise you’ll be wandering about with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tracey, Thank you for this review of your recent stay. Thank you for your kind words about the high standards we uphold, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. However, we regret that you were not completely satisfied with our service. Rest assured we have noted your feedback and will review this with our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary B wrote a review Sep 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom362 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
Arrived around 10am - 4 hours prior to check in - and our room was ready. So thankful to the hotel for such an early check in. Check in quick and smooth, receptionist was great. Room 105 with a small balcony facing front of the hotel. Beautiful and spacious room. Was a little noisy at night but expected as very close to Las Ramblas. Great choice for breakfast with very tasty and fresh food. Poached eggs were cooked perfectly. Service was really good. Roof top pool and bar was great. Service was ok. Check out was quick and efficient. I would definitely recommend Hotel Espana.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to provide you with a pleasant early check-in experience. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know that our spacious rooms met your expectations and that we were able to tempt your taste buds with the wide selection on offer on our breakfast buffet. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Kind regards, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary Hyde wrote a review Sep 2022
Budva, Montenegro10 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel is in a great location - off the Ramblas - people we super friendly and helpful Rooms are small but very comfortable and clean Great dipping pool on the roof - Breakfast was included and was very good
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words about the high standards we uphold. However, we regret that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. As we do offer rooms of different sizes and categories, perhaps our team may assist you in selecting a larger room on your next visit? Nevertheless, your kind words about our team are a reward and an incentive for us to continue delivering the best service possible to our guests. We are glad that our location was ideal for your needs and to know that we helped start your day off on the right foot with our tasty breakfast buffet. We are delighted that you enjoyed our pool facilities. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoAnn G wrote a review Sep 2022
Punta Gorda, Florida1 contribution2 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay. Staff is warm and friendly. Loved the location. The rooftop bar was okay but no view. We thought our breakfast was included. Not sure who made the error. Wasn't really a big deal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Joann, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always rewarding for our team to be complimented by a guest and we are pleased that you received the courteous and professional service expected. Please know that we appreciate your feedback as we work towards providing the perfect guest experience. Moreover, it's great to know that you found our location to be ideal for your requirements. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RealFoodieGirl wrote a review Sep 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom259 contributions219 helpful votes
This hotel suited us perfectly. Just off Las Ramblas. We had a room looking out onto the street with a small Juliette balcony, cosy and fine for the two nights that we stayed there. Breakfast was good, rooftop bar pleasant in the evenings. Gowns and slippers were a nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Realf, Thank you very much for this kind review. We are glad that you found our location convenient and were able to enjoy some of our must-see attractions. We hope that you will return on another occasion. Best wishes, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen L wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room is unexpectedly small very very tiny space for the price they call them 4 stars hotel. The shower stand room is licking water and barely moving in the room because no space to walk and turning around. Taxi will never stop right in front the hotel you need to carry luggage walk into the hotel. Bad experience not recommended! Sorry I’m just telling the truth and be faithful about my review.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret that you were not satisfied with the size of your room; however, we offer larger rooms and suites and encourage guests to inform us of any issues or concerns they may have while at our hotel. Our team will always try to find a solution. We are sorry to hear of the issue with the shower and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention; we will review it with our maintenance department. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate B wrote a review Aug 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom65 contributions10 helpful votes
Firstly I will say that the hotel is located in a brilliant location, straight off las rambles and within walking distance of many sites including the beach. Metro stop close by. The hotel itself is rated 4* which it could well be if it had some small improvements. The hotel is very nicely decorated and room/bathroom very nice. However the fridge didn’t work and even though we informed reception they did not fix the issue meaning we could not keep any cold bottles of water in our room. Also the air con turns itself off even when the keycard is inserted. Hotel bar very nice but expensive. Small plunge pool. Did not experience breakfast so can’t comment. Bakery not far outside hotel if you don’t wish to purchase breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you found our location convenient for your needs and appreciated our decor and style. However, we are concerned to read that some aspects of your stay did not entirely meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to solve the issue with the fridge at the time, we have since looked into this. Furthermore, we regret that you did not make us aware of the issue with the air conditioning during your stay as our team is always ready to assist with any concerns you may have. We are sorry that you found the drink prices expensive, we try hard to keep our prices competitive for the quality provided, although some of these do depend on different brands. We are also sorry that our pool didn't entirely meet your expectations, but as our hotel is a cultural heritage site, we have had to conform to certain restrictions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ema_Globetrotter wrote a review Aug 2022
Bern, Switzerland234 contributions105 helpful votes
+1
the location is really great and the hotel looks really nice. the staff at the reception and concierge were very friendly and super helpful. The hotel has an own restaurant and rooftop bar which were super nice. The outdoor pool looks nice but a bit too small to enjoy a real pool feeling. The first room we got was not properly cleaned as there was hair and broken Glas on the floor. but got another room (No 217) which was much better. the breakfast area was always understaffed and some orders were not taken or were forgotten. they should work on improving this as the expectations are based on a 4* hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No own parking or own gym facilities
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear Ema, Thank you for this review of your recent stay. It's great to know that our location was so convenient for your needs and you appreciated the high standards of service from our team. However, we are sorry that our pool didn't entirely meet your expectations, but as our hotel is a cultural heritage site, we have had to conform to certain restrictions. Please be assured that we have made sure to note your concerns regarding your breakfast experience and will take them into review with our team for future improvements. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit. Best wishes, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShoaibMotiwala wrote a review Jul 2022
Karachi, Pakistan31 contributions22 helpful votes
The hotel was quite decent and very ideally located just off la Ramblas. Oscar and James at the front desk were very helpful. The rooms were fair but on 5he 3rd floor the problem we faced was quite unique. The gap between the faucet and the sink was barely enough to fit one palm of one's hand. Quite annoying.! Just wondering what the logic is behind this. Otherwise, overall not bad. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor pleeeeaaasssseee
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Shoaib, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation; we appreciate it. It's great to know that our location was so convenient for your needs. We welcome your kind mention of our team members and are pleased they helped make your stay enjoyable. We will be sure to share your comments with Oscar and James, they will be thrilled. We are always open to suggestions that might help us to improve. Please be assured we have noted your concern and will address this with the relevant department. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CherylB0306 wrote a review Jul 2022
Denver, NC113 contributions98 helpful votes
Comfortable hotel in an excellent location close to all the sites in Barcelona. Rooms very comfortable. Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast was excellent. On a small street just steps away from Las Ramblas
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Hotel España Ramblas
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Dear Cheryl, Thank you very much for this kind review. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward for our team members who ensure our high standards are consistently upheld. We are glad that our location was ideal for your needs and to know that we helped start your day off on the right foot with our tasty breakfast buffet. We hope that you will return on another occasion. Best wishes, Thais F., General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel espana barcelona
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / El Raval
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel España Ramblas
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel España Ramblas?
Nearby attractions include Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.3 miles), Mercat de la Boqueria (0.1 miles), and Handmade Barcelona (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel España Ramblas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel España Ramblas?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel España Ramblas?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel España Ramblas?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel España Ramblas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bodega Biarritz 1881 Tapas bar, Viana, and Un gelato per te.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel España Ramblas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel España Ramblas located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel España Ramblas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel España Ramblas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel España Ramblas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.