We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$424
Hotels.com$424
Priceline$424
eDreams$424
Tripadvisor$424
ZenHotels.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (6370)
Room & Suite (1796)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from W Barcelona
Updated 08/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#244 of 534 hotels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city.
Read more
Room & Suite (1,796)1,796
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Contact
Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Barcelona Airport7 miSee all flights
DrassanesBarcelona Metro19 min
BarcelonetaBarcelona Metro20 min
See all nearby hotels
7,771Reviews183Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,609
  • 1,790
  • 675
  • 330
  • 367
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ruby M wrote a review Apr 12
Province of Barcelona, Spain1 contribution
The only good thing about my stay were the views from my room, which even they made me feel nauseous. The customer service was that of a 1 star hotel. I was made to feel very unwelcome there despite having paid a lot of money to be there. This hotel is not boujie, it’s simply stuck up and arrogant. The security guards are constantly watching you like a hawk and demanding to see your room card, the lobby was always full of people, very chaotic and hectic and full of non-hotel guests milling about. There was only one pool open which had no sun until 2pm, and which was also full of fully clothed non-hotel guests (majority were not staying at the hotel), which made me very incredibly uncomfortable and awkward as a lone female traveler when going down to the pool alone to relax and sunbathe in my bikini, with big groups of random people off the street, smoking and drinking, having business meetings and all sorts around me. One day my room was not cleaned at all despite me calling twice and asking them to come and clean it, so I was left with no clean towels, no way to shower and no fresh drinking water or bedlinen for almost 2 days. The rooms are very clinical and feel like a doctors surgery with no character or warmth, also no windows or balcony which means no fresh air for 4 days and no way to air out the room, which made me feel very anxious. The bar, restaurant, room and pool service were all awful. At the pool no one is there to greet you, you just have to figure things out for yourself and find yourself a place to sit, plus had to wait at least half an hour to get anyone's attention to order. There were no / very little vegan options at the FIRE restaurant (I am vegan) and I was made to feel very awkward and difficult for asking the waiter if the chefs could make me a very simple garlic spaghetti 3 ingredient dish, which finally arrived very dry with no flavour, so basically a plate of plain pasta, for which I paid 20 euros (what a joke). The room service charges you 8 EUROS for a DELIVERY FEE - what on earth is this please? What is the point in offering a special room service menu if you have to pay for someone to walk upstairs to deliver it to you? I could have ordered from Deliveroo and they would have charged me a quarter of the price to get in a car or moped and travel half way across the city to deliver it to me. Absolutely ridiculous. Not to mention the breakfast included in my stay - again, very little vegan options, so I was given dry toast (with no vegan butter) and a bowl of fruit. And finally, on the last night, I was graced with the worst customer service ever experienced (the waiter had a bald head and I think his name was Stefano) at the bar next to FIRE. After being sat down waiting for around 45 minutes someone finally came over to take my order (again - no vegan options so I ordered bread and tomato) which came on a plate of very dry and crusty bread with a tiny pot of tomato juice, no where near enough for the bread provided. After waiting another half an hour to get someone's attention I asked if I could have some more tomato to dip what was left of the bread in, only to be told no, as the kitchen was closed (I'm not asking for a chef to whip me up a whole meal, I'm asking for a tomato lol). Then the waiter said "I'll see what I can do" and took the whole plate away (including the bread I still wanted to eat...). Another hour later after having to basically shout 'perdona/excuse me' across the room to get his attention, which was purposely ignored, I watched him serve every other couple in the bar, proactively asking if they were okay and if he could get them anything else... meanwhile I'm still waiting for A TOMATO. I finally got his attention and asked what was happening, he said "I already told you, the kitchen is closed", to which I responded "no, you said you would see what you could do and then took away my plate of half eaten food and never brought it back". Wow....the most unhelpful, rude, arrogant and unfriendly person I have ever had to deal with (reminder - this is meant to be a 5 star hotel!!!). Funnily enough, in the end he went away again and then begrudgingly came back with a brand new plate of bread and another pot of tomato (which was not even what I asked for, I didn't want more bread, just more sauce to eat what I already had with). So I guess the kitchen wasn’t closed… He did not apologise nor show any care or remorse for this atrocious dining experience in what is meant to be the most famous and high quality hotel in Barcelona. I could not wait to leave this place and have told all my friends, family and social media followers about this experience. I would not recommend it to anyone. Save your money and go somewhere else, it's not worth the hype. Not to mention the extortionate prices (5 euros for a coffee, 5 euros for a bottle of water, 60 euros for the house wine etc. etc.) Also I couldn't even use the spa while I was there! I tried calling every single day of my stay (4 days) and every day I was told that it was fully booked. Lol what a joke. And a final ‘also’ I had my expensive Mac charger plugged in to the socket for the whole trip until the last day where it was nowhere to be found… The lead was thrown across the floor and the plug was never to be seen again. I wonder what happened to that… the only people who came in my room were room service and cleaners. I asked reception to check this with the cleaners/lost property when I checked out but of course, I was told nothing was found.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Fabulous skyline room is mid-range and has the best views of the Barcelona skyline/sea
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pep Malla, Guest Services / Front Office at W Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rubysm5, Thank you for your time and for sharing your experience at W Barcelona. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We strive to reach and go above & beyond our guests expectations, and I am sorry to learn that on this occasion we failed. Rest assured that such issues are uncommon and I will be personally addressing them to ensure they remain exceptional. Please do not hesitate to reach me through our previous communication for anything you may need. Sincerely, Pep Malla
Read more
Traveller wrote a review Apr 5
94 contributions68 helpful votes
We came here for one night and booked the suite with the hot tub - thinking it would be top notch luxury as it was over 1,000 euro a night. Our expectations were not met and here’s why : - the room and hotel in general feel OLD. Things are falling apart. Examples include the sensor for the keycard on the front door falling off as soon as it was touched , the front door squeaking loudly every time it was opened , the handles on the wardrobe being glued on unevenly, the soap handles tilting due to poor assembly, the door to the second toilet not shutting properly unless kicked, the furniture outside being dirty and with holes, there being scuffs, cracks and marks on every wall/ door/ mirror, the wonderful floor to ceiling windows being dirty , sealant edges coming undone and hanging loosely on the balcony, the jacuzzi having a horrible damp smell and the outer walls being completely HOLLOW and hence you’re constantly in the middle of banging noises. Highly irritating. - upon arrival the place felt like Las Vegas - so many people lining up for check in and it doesn’t matter what kind of room you booked - you have to wait. So we waited for roughly 15 mins in line , checked in and then told our room wasn’t ready and that we’d be given a call when it was. Fine. We were called a few hours later so came back to reception , only to be told we have to QUEUE UP AGAIN just to get the keys ! - we called the next day asking for a late checkout which we were granted, but the woman who gave it to us didn’t inform anyone so when we got back from lunch our keys wouldn’t work and guess what? Time to line up at reception again. Id be fine with the two last points if the room actually felt like it was great value for money. But it didn’t. We felt ripped off and like the hotel didn’t want to waste an extra few euros to fix all the details they think guests won’t notice when actually - it’s the FIRST THINGS that jump out at you and what differentiates luxury resorts from average ones. On the plus side : the bed was comfortable , the lighting in the room was well designed and creative, the views from the 22nd floor were beautiful, the automatic curtains blocked out sunlight very well, the staff who brought room service were quick and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Pep Malla, Guest Services / Front Office at W Barcelona
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 593kristinag, Thank you for your time and for sharing your experience at W Barcelona. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We strive to reach and go above & beyond our guests expectations, and I am sorry to learn that on this occasion we failed. Rest assured I will be personally work with the head of maintenance to make sure all our rooms have the level of quality we are proud to offer. Again thank you for your valuable feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you need any kind of assistance, Sincerely, Pep Malla pep.malla@whotels.com
Read more
Meera s wrote a review Mar 2021
15 contributions48 helpful votes
The great thing about it is the view from your hotel room, you honestly feel like you are in the middle of the ocean and the bed is very comfortable. The service for me was acceptable. But it was the food that was just sad....very sad. If we had know we would have ordered take-out from glovo or something, anything would have been better than the restaurant food. However it was the breakfast that was an utter disappointment. I mean you have an amazing view from your bed it is the perfect time to order breakfast in bed, except that the café down the street has a better breakfast at 5 euros that this 5 star hotel at 5 times the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pep Malla, Guest Services / Front Office at W Barcelona
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Meera s, Thank you for your valuable review. I am very sorry that we had not reached your expectations in certain areas of your stay and we will take in high consideration your feedback. With this said we are delighted that you had enjoyed the amazing views as well as the room. Should you be returning to stay with us in the near future please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance. Kind regards, Pep Malla Guest Satisfaction Manager
Read more
Samud Gunasekera wrote a review Feb 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka119 contributions37 helpful votes
Truly beautiful hotel in Barcelona right next to the Barcelona beach. Landmark building in Barcelona city and about 1.5km from city center. It has about 400+ rooms and 5star grading. Beautiful rooms , nice pool and nice bar. Good food and helpful staff!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
elanav206 wrote a review Jan 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa23 contributions10 helpful votes
Best hotel in Barcelona, from arriving to the best room with the best view, room is so big and the lay out makes you feel at home, the breakfast is amazing and the service is of the highest standard ever, will love to go back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Amazing views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$339 - $961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w barcelona hotel barcelona
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Port Vell (Old Port) / Barceloneta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
473
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to W Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Plaja de Sant Sebastian (0.1 miles) and Eclipse Bar (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at W Barcelona?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at W Barcelona?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mana 75, Velissima, and La Barra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Barcelona?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does W Barcelona have an airport shuttle?
Yes, W Barcelona offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Barcelona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does W Barcelona offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at W Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.